107 after eating...shot or no?

Haley&Diane

Member Since 2015
Hi.

Diane is really keeping me on my toes this week! Yesterday she dipped down to 62 after her shot of 1 unit in the morning (she was amps 145).

Then I got her up with some higher carb food but she only peaked up to 145ish prior to her pm shot. I reduced her dose to .75 units starting last night.

This morning I gave her .75 units (or as close as I could manage) and she went up to 206 one hour later. She was at 110 when I got home and ab half an hour after dinner is at 107.

Should I just do a test again in an hour and then do a reduced dose to .25 or .5? I would hate to skip and then mess her cycles up this week and have her numbers bouncing

Any advice is appreciated!
 
I’ve only been at it for a few months, but I’d give a reduced dose if you’re able to monitor. It looks like you’ve given insulin at similar bg levels before with no problems. But you’d want to leave food out, in any case. Good luck and I hope you attract more experienced eyes.
 
I’ve only been at it for a few months, but I’d give a reduced dose if you’re able to monitor. It looks like you’ve given insulin at similar bg levels before with no problems. But you’d want to leave food out, in any case. Good luck and I hope you attract more experienced eyes.

Thanks! I ended up giving just a drop or .25 units about. I'll be able to monitor and I figured I'll never learn how she reacts until I experiment a bit.

I'll just keep a watch on her until bed or when her numbers go up a bit.
 
She was at 110 when I got home and ab half an hour after dinner is at 107.

If you get a Preshot you're not sure about shooting, stall, don't feed and test again in 20-30 minutes. If the number comes up without food, it's probably safe to shoot, but if you feed, you don't know if the number went up because the shot was wearing off or because you fed.
 
Back
Top