101 pre shot the AMPS...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kathryn Cavanaugh-Dias

Member Since 2016
Hello, the past couple days Ember's blood has been in the 300's pre shot since she decided to open a bag of food and a box of treats and snack. She thinks because we are moving they she can do what she wants. Anyways, her number was 101 this morning. We went a ahead and gave 1u. I will monitor her today but I will also be out and about between testing times. So my question is were we right to give her 1u? What is your opinion?
 
Your SS lists that you gave 2 units this morning but above you said you gave 1. What did you give?
Based on your 6/20 and 21 entries 1 unit this morning should be OK
 
I would not have given one unit on a 101. With ProZinc, we suggest not shooting under 150 unless you have lots of data, and then only a tiny dose. With your 78 on +3, it looks like he might drop low. I'd suggest you plan to test every 30 minutes or so and, if he reaches 50, give a couple teaspoons of regular low carb food and retest in 20 minutes. If he drops below 50, give him a few teaspoons of the gravy off higher carb food. The idea is to steer his numbers and keep him in safe ranges with food.
 
Sorry to but in, *but* I was told last night that the general rule was not to shoot PZI for anything under 200?
 
Sorry to but in, *but* I was told last night that the general rule was not to shoot PZI for anything under 200?
Sorry to but in, *but* I was told last night that the general rule was not to shoot PZI for anything under 200?
You are correct, KJ. For new diabetics, the recommendation is not to shoot under 200. When you have data, know what might happen and will be around to monitor, then 150 might be your new number not to shoot below.
 
You are correct, KJ. For new diabetics, the recommendation is not to shoot under 200. When you have data, know what might happen and will be around to monitor, then 150 might be your new number not to shoot below.
With confirming data you can even shot lower than 150. This morning Bun Bun received his standard 1 unit Lantus with PS of 97, Badger also 1 unit with PS of 117, and Patches II her standard 2.4 units with PS of 79. I am using a human meter.
 
With confirming data you can even shot lower than 150. This morning Bun Bun received his standard 1 unit Lantus with PS of 97, Badger also 1 unit with PS of 117, and Patches II her standard 2.4 units with PS of 79. I am using a human meter.
I disagree. Our job is to give advice that will do no harm. I know that you have been giving insulin to your cats for years, Larry, and you may shoot at lower than usually advised levels. However, when replying to someone who does not have the data and experience you do, I think it would be wise to err on the safe side. Suggesting to anyone that giving 2+ units of ProZinc on a preshot number of 79 is advisable, is dangerous advice. This bean says she is using ProZinc, not Lantus.
 
Thanks again for the clarification. I have printed out the sticky for the "protocol" for ProZinc/PZI listed on that forum and will follow accordingly. Finding it hard to regain my confidence with all this after a 3 year break.
 
I disagree. Our job is to give advice that will do no harm. I know that you have been giving insulin to your cats for years, Larry, and you may shoot at lower than usually advised levels. However, when replying to someone who does not have the data and experience you do, I think it would be wise to err on the safe side. Suggesting to anyone that giving 2+ units of ProZinc on a preshot number of 79 is advisable, is dangerous advice. This bean says she is using ProZinc, not Lantus.
You disagree with what? What I am doing fro my cats?
I never said the poster should give 2 units
 
Since this thread was brought to the Moderator's attention, let's attempt to clarify for Kathryn's sake...

With ProZinc, we suggest not shooting under 150 unless you have lots of data, and then only a tiny dose.
With confirming data you can even shot lower than 150. This morning Bun Bun received his standard 1 unit Lantus with PS of 97, Badger also 1 unit with PS of 117, and Patches II her standard 2.4 units with PS of 79. I am using a human meter.
I disagree. Our job is to give advice that will do no harm. I know that you have been giving insulin to your cats for years, Larry, and you may shoot at lower than usually advised levels. However, when replying to someone who does not have the data and experience you do, I think it would be wise to err on the safe side. Suggesting to anyone that giving 2+ units of ProZinc on a preshot number of 79 is advisable, is dangerous advice.
Sue, I'm not seeing where/how Larry suggested shooting 2+ units ProZinc on a preshot number of 79. I do see same or similar information given by both of you for not shooting under 150 with ProZinc unless one has accumulated enough data to support the decision.

My interpretation of Larry's comments is he's simply offering an example of what he's done with his cats.

Although, truth be told @Larry and Kitties , perhaps it's best to keep those kinds of comments for appropriate discussions. They can easily be misunderstood in a newbie's thread... even after qualifying your remarks by noting the need for supporting data. I refrain from mentioning I used to shoot Levemir on preshot numbers in the 40s for the same reason. Know what I mean? Just something to think about...





 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top