100s before I am gone for 11 hrs

Status
Not open for further replies.

BonnieZeke

Member Since 2019
I posted Zeke’s numbers a few hours aha, and as luck would have it , he is now 136 at 7p Preshot. I am going to work and will be gone for 11hrs. Do I give him his usual 2.1 ggt dose, 1/2 dose or skip. When this happened once before and I skipped, he was in 400s when I got home and tested again. Please respond soon I have to leave. He free feeds through the night . Thanks
 
Without any data to look at I would advice skipping tonight whether you are using a human or pet meter. We really need to get some more info from you before advising. So maybe tomorrow you can work on setting up a signature and a spreadsheet for your furry companion? :)
 
Sorry we have no information to help you.
I see in your profile you are using Lantus. Is that correct?
What dose?
Areyou using a human meter?
It looks as if kitty is newly diagnosed.
I see Linda has just posted too. I agree with Linda. I would skip the dose.
 
Without any data to look at I would advice skipping tonight whether you are using a human or pet meter. We really need to get some more info from you before advising. So maybe tomorrow you can work on setting up a signature and a spreadsheet for your furry companion? :)
It’s all there... on my profile page and an extensive spread sheet is posted on my previous post.
 
Ok. I see your spreadsheet and would still advice skipping because you will not be available to monitor tonight. You have never shot such a low pre-shot and it is not safe to do so without being available to monitor. I understand your concern of numbers rising significantly from a skipped shot but while high numbers are certainly not desirable, they are in the short term, considerably less dangerous than too low numbers.
 
Perhaps tomorrow, we can work on getting you set up properly so the immediately pertinent info is readily available at all times to all members who offer their assistance and support. :)
 
Hi Bonnie....Here we have that information in our "Signature" (the grey text you see below all our comments). That's one reason I don't like the spreadsheet template used on the other Facebook group. It was taken from ours and then they added all that stuff along the top and it really just makes it harder when we're used to our way of doing things. (it also wastes space IMO)

When you have time, go to the upper right side of the page and click on your sign on name...the option of "Signature" should come up. Click there and a new box will pop up for you to enter information.

What we usually suggest is stuff like:

Your name/Cat's name, age, sex, date of diagnosis, type of insulin, type of meter, type of food, any other health problems or medications? and a general location.

Then you put the link into it and click "Save".....that way all the pertinent information will show up below all your posts so nobody has to search for it!

Something else for another time might be to read the information on "Doing TR with a full time job"....even if you don't do Tight Regulation, there's some good ideas there!
 
Thanks, I guess I am trying to do TR. as you can see I have been testing a lot. Unfortunately I have Zeke a 1/2 dose tonight before hearing from anyone, I had to leave. He is a big eater and I have left a lot for them. More tomorrow.
 
Hi Bonnie, here is the link to the spreadsheet instructions we use here on FDMD so you can link your existing spreadsheet to your signature, using a text reference such as Zeke's SS to save room. In the instructions go down to Instructions for pasting the SS link in your FDMB Signature block: for instructions to link to the signature. You can copy the link from your post above to perform the operation.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/fdmb-spreadsheet-instructions.130337/

It's fine to use the Profile to put extra information in that won't fit in the signature, since the signature only allows so many characters, including the link to the spreadsheet. Anyone can look at the profile, but the signature is displayed with each post.
 
Last edited:
Hi Bonnie....Here we have that information in our "Signature" (the grey text you see below all our comments). That's one reason I don't like the spreadsheet template used on the other Facebook group. It was taken from ours and then they added all that stuff along the top and it really just makes it harder when we're used to our way of doing things. (it also wastes space IMO)

When you have time, go to the upper right side of the page and click on your sign on name...the option of "Signature" should come up. Click there and a new box will pop up for you to enter information.

What we usually suggest is stuff like:

Your name/Cat's name, age, sex, date of diagnosis, type of insulin, type of meter, type of food, any other health problems or medications? and a general location.

Then you put the link into it and click "Save".....that way all the pertinent information will show up below all your posts so nobody has to search for it!

Something else for another time might be to read the information on "Doing TR with a full time job"....even if you don't do Tight Regulation, there's some good ideas there!
Thank you much.
 
I have copied spreadsheet to signature. Can anyone open, and can you help me with dosing now? His numbers are going up and up. I don't know what to do. when I try to raise, he seems to jump. when lowering, he stays wonky. Thanks.
 
Bonnie, the spreadsheet is view-able from the link in the signature. I suggest you post dosing questions on the Lantus forum HERE.

It's difficult when you are just starting out, and we know that you are doing the best you can with what you have right now. One suggestion I have regarding your work schedule and feeding, a timed feeder with 5 portion slots that you can program to open at certain times, then revolve to the next slot at a programmed time might help you. Slots can be left empty to meet this beginning request to withhold food for the two hours before AM pre-test or even the PM pre-test if need be. CatMate and PetSafe are brands of this kind of timed feeder that I am familiar with.
 
If you can get a test or two in during the PM cycle, that would be great. Before bed or if you wake up during the night.
Lantus dosing is based on how low the cat goes. You don't know how low he went after shooting the 278 last night. This morning's 522 is most likely a bounce from however low he went the night before.
Bounce:
  • Bouncing - Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast. The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles).
 
Thanks for responding... I may do that, he has a sister that also free-feeds though, not diabetic, not sure how that would work, they eat off each other's plates unless I put his on a table which she can't jump on due to her age and arthritis, but he has her's at floor level access at all times. Is there enough food for 2 cats with each release time, I wonder? She's really accommodating his schedule already. I think I will post there, thanks so much.
 
If you can get a test or two in during the PM cycle, that would be great. Before bed or if you wake up during the night.
Lantus dosing is based on how low the cat goes. You don't know how low he went after shooting the 278 last night. This morning's 522 is most likely a bounce from however low he went the night before.
Bounce:
  • Bouncing - Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast. The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles).
I do understand the bouncing and have been trying to deal with it but anytime I try to lower he doesn't do well either. So it seems I can't go up or down. I don't go to bed I go to work 3rd shift, and am gone for 11 hrs., no way to test before morning.
 
I am not certain about the portion dish sizes, you would have to check the dimensions of the dishes. And there is the consideration of if they share equally, if we had another cat here it would not get a chance at the food! Idjit is a furry pig! Perhaps two feeders if you can fit that into your budget? We have a CatMate C20 with 2 dishes and that's all we need for Mr. Garbage Gut. ;):p
 
I do understand the bouncing and have been trying to deal with it but anytime I try to lower he doesn't do well either. So it seems I can't go up or down. I don't go to bed I go to work 3rd shift, and am gone for 11 hrs., no way to test before morning.
I understand. Any mid-cycle tests, day or night, will help.
 
Bonnie, the spreadsheet is view-able from the link in the signature. I suggest you post dosing questions on the Lantus forum HERE.

It's difficult when you are just starting out, and we know that you are doing the best you can with what you have right now. One suggestion I have regarding your work schedule and feeding, a timed feeder with 5 portion slots that you can program to open at certain times, then revolve to the next slot at a programmed time might help you. Slots can be left empty to meet this beginning request to withhold food for the two hours before AM pre-test or even the PM pre-test if need be. CatMate and PetSafe are brands of this kind of timed feeder that I am familiar with.
Thanks, I am definitely going to check them out.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top