? 10 Sept | Girlie | AMPS 265; +2=160; +3=70; +4=79; +5=76 Groundhog day?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Girlie's mom

Member Since 2017
Condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-amps-302-2-193-3-70-4-79-5-94-on-at2.183645/

Alarm woke me: dutifully got up; stumbled to kitchen (why am I so tired?); got insulin; tested (a very sleepy Girlie); put on my oh-so-chic magnifying headset; was just about to draw the insulin and then...through the sleep fog in my brain...the penny dropped: why is it so dark, still, at 6:00 am? Why aren't the birds yammering away? Looked at the clock: it's 1:00 am - not 6:00 am. I'm not nearly as sleep deprived as @Beenie , but even consistently missing sleep led me to think that PM + 6 was 6:00 am.

Wow! Thank goodness some residual brain cells kicked in and I didn't go so far as to give her a shot 5 hours early! :nailbiting: :eek: :woot:

I do many things to check myself: sniff her fur after shots; have a before and after location for all her meds; write everything down in her hard copy notebook immediately afterwards; I am now going to add to that "double check whether it's actually AM or PM". Laughing at myself here... but very grateful to whatever prompted me to realise that I was about to make a big mistake...

On a positive note: numbers have been good since yesterday's almost dive into lime greens, so hoping that she'll stay in mellow blues today...and even lovely greens. The LC 4 seemed to work yesterday and last night, so I'm going to just trial that today as well to see where her BG levels go. Aim: to find out what will keep her from deep diving at +2/+3 so I can go to work next week and not be a nervous Nellie... :nailbiting:
 
Nice job on getting a middle of the night test. :p:eek: I always did a test a wrote down the time, using the same clock, before drawing insulin.

Think flat today Girlie.
 
Dropped 100 points again at +2... She had LC 4 food before her shot, then LC 6 food up to now, so looks like that didn't help prevent a big drop. Maybe that bounced her up too much at the +1?

I'll give her some more LC 6 and see if she's still diving in a half hour.

Looks like she's determined to drop by 100 points at +2 regardless. Not sure what that means...or maybe it means nothing! :-)

AMPS: 265
+1= 322
+2= 160
 
I'm assuming I should probably give her the HC gravy like yesterday, or should I let her drop to 68 and then earn a reduction? She's on AlphaTrak2
 
I'm assuming I should probably give her the HC gravy like yesterday, or should I let her drop to 68 and then earn a reduction? She's on AlphaTrak2
Good question...I also wondered the same thing recently. When you catch a borderline take action number do you wait for them to go below it? I think it depends on where they are in the cycle. For Beenie at +3 I would steer. At the end of the cycle I might wait and re-test in 15-20 to see if she rises on her own.
 
Good question...I also wondered the same thing recently. When you catch a borderline take action number do you wait for them to go below it? I think it depends on where they are in the cycle. For Beenie at +3 I would steer. At the end of the cycle I might wait and re-test in 15-20 to see if she rises on her own.
I've wondered that as well. I think with her dropping that quick, I would probably give some LC to see if she can slow down and surf.

Good points; I was thinking that as well as she's still so early in her AM cycle at just +3. I don't know if I'm making this up (similar to what you mentioned in your post today, @Beenie ), but she just is such an unhappy camper when her body is doing this. Yesterday she was not perky at all, just wanted to eat and sleep, and looks like today is going to be a repeat. Poor thing!
 
Maybe try some higher LC. If she really wants a reduction, HC at this point isn't going to stop it.

Interesting to know, Wendy re: that she could still drop even on HC. That's a little bit unnerving!

I gave her a little bit of MC gravy and have the timer set to test in 15; 9:30 mins to go. Then I'll just give her the LC.

Any thoughts on why she might be doing this, or is this just because she's a cat? I like the idea that there's a cause/effect somewhere if I could just find it... :confused:
 
Any thoughts on why she might be doing this, or is this just because she's a cat? I like the idea that there's a cause/effect somewhere if I could just find it... :confused:
I like the cause/effect idea also. Would make all of this so much easier. But I don't think it always (if ever) works that way. :confused::bighug:

Glad she is at least holding steady at 70. Hope she continues to surf for you.
 
I like the cause/effect idea also. Would make all of this so much easier. But I don't think it always (if ever) works that way. :confused::bighug:

Glad she is at least holding steady at 70. Hope she continues to surf for you.
I can dream, though, for a clear cause/effect, eh? Every the optimist... :rolleyes:

I hope she surfs safe, too, on the LC now: rinse and repeat from yesterday... :-)
 
At least she's consistent?!? :joyful:
True, but some variety would be interesting - like no deep dives at +2, consistent blues for a change and no bounces.... I dream, I dream... :p

Way to go, Girlie! However, you need to let your mama sleep at some point. :D
Sleep is vastly overrated, I'm sure! Though I scared the willies out of myself early this morning when I couldn't tell AM from PM, that's for sure. :eek:
 
+5= 76 so no longer in groundhog day as yesterday she was 95. Glad to see her in greens! Heal, baby girl, heal! :-)
 
:joyful:Lol..I have to say that hasn't happened to me...yet!
Well, you have to get up at the crack of dawn - then you'll find it easy to confuse dawn and dusk. I hate to admit it, but this isn't the first time I've done this in my life... :oops:

You don't have to get up at the crack of dawn! But if you want to.... vastly entertaining, I can assure you. Hah! Not! :p
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top