10-Aug Mav PMPS 306| +2 259:| +4 167 Day 2 of 1.5u

Status
Not open for further replies.

Christie & Maverick

Member Since 2017
Today is our second day for Maverick on dose increase to 1.5u, and we're doing a bit better. I've been slowly reducing the DM dry food available, and often find there is still food left, especially during the day when I get home after work. I have also taken note that I need to watch my portions that I feed Maverick, I think the a.m. and p.m. feedings are too much, combined with what I give him at lunch and just before bed. I need to balance out getting him regulated and recognizing that he's just hungry because he's not regulated yet! And, I wanted to get a bit more weight (hopefully muscle) back on him, I had started feeling his backbone just before Dx.

I'm embarrassed to admit this past week, I was a bit too focused on the insulin, testing component, and when I calculated how much he's actually eating (canned and approx. dry) in a day, I nearly fell off my chair :eek:. Maybe some portion / calorie control will help bring down his numbers, along with this new dose.

Does anyone have any comments about kitties going around 7 hours without food overnight? Or is that what other people usually do?
 
Are you weighing Maverick periodically? I found that the scale was a good indicator if I was feeding the right amount of food. Ideally you would like to limit the number of carbs after nadir, when the insulin is starting to lose effect.

Neko usually went 7-8 hours overnight without food, unless I got up and she got test treats or was low. Kitties with kidney conditions do better with more frequent meals. Autofeeder are great for feeding overnight if your kitty is a hoover instead of a snacker.

Work the juice Maverick. Yellows please.
 
Hold on, Wendy are you a cat charmer o_O!? Because Mav got his best ever PS of 306, which is very close to yellow, and now a fabulous +2 of 259 :D!

I'm planning to buy a scale this weekend, that's next on my list. I think my overnight feeding routine started when one of my old girls (GA now) had kidney issues, I kept food in the bedroom on the bed so I could make sure she had easy access and ate often enough. That's also when I started putting water bowls everywhere. Funny how habits stay with you.

Maverick used to be a snacker, I'm hoping he'll be less hungry when the numbers flatten out in a nice lower range...after all the blacks and reds, yellow would suit us just fine!
 
Any chance of getting a +4 tonight? If the +2 is lower than the preshot, it can signal an active cycle that needs closer monitoring.

It's very hard to break a cat's food habits!:p
 
Yes, +4 for sure, and maybe a +6 as well, he's way more perky and vocal tonight, more like himself which is really great to see. Thank you for the suggestion, I was wondering if I might be seeing indicators of an active cycle, and the better PMPS we got was a surprise...I wanted to do a +1 but the drooler needed a walk :rolleyes:
 
+6 is 218, I think I bumped him out of blues, just after +4, I normally give him 1/2 can FF just before bed...stayed up a few extra hours to make sure he didn't go lower, but I guess the food bumped him up?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top