10/9 XENA AMPS 214, +2 227, +5 236/ PMPS 207

No second test last night? Just seems unusual.

How is Xena feeling/acting? Notice any changes?
 
I did I just didn’t get a chance to put it in/forgot. I generally put it in my book and then I go into my phone and put it in the chart … usually, but there’s times when I just get so busy, but I am trying to keep more up-to-date with it.
At +4 she was 231. That was her seventh cycle at that dose so I increased her today to 34 units, but I made an upsetting realization recently…If I increase her anymore than her current dose, she’s going to be over one vial per month, technically she is Already over that at 34 units (depending on the month)… it’s an issue Because the only reason I was able to continue to give her Lantus this whole time is because there’s a coupon that you can get it for $35 a vial, but you can only use it once a month/12 times a year.(if you are lucky enough to get it to work at all. (One pharmacy refused to even try it because it was for a cat) I don’t know what to do. I never in a million years thought I would be in this position. I mean 34 units? I was hesitant to start her at THREE units when I moved over from vetsulin, if you remember that.
That vet I spoke to the other day, said she thinks she is “somewhat regulated“ I mean her numbers aren’t sky high I get that, and (at last test) she was keytone free but she’s not symptom-free by any means. I told her that Xena doesn’t drink as much water as she was, but I made it very clear to her that the reason for that is because I’m putting 1/3 of a cup of water in her food six times a day, but I don’t think that registered with her. She’s always hungry stealing food and it’s not like just happenstance. She literally watches people if they’re eating to see if they leave the table and she gets an opportunity. if you remember, that vet suggested LOWERING Xena’s dose to see what happens. That conversation really drove me crazy that Vet could not have given me more exact opposite advice if she was trying to.
I know they say that every cat has their number but I don’t think I can go up to like 55. Those couple times where she dropped into the low blues and even the one time in the green I had a glimmer of hope and was praying to God that we had hit the number, because it’s just gotten so crazy.
There is a woman that I was able to get Lantus from when this process first started. I got three vials from her. I thought they would last me a very long time. I have one left. I can reach out to her to see if she has any more, but I don’t know.
A very nice gentleman listed two free solo star pens, and he is supposed to be mailing them to me, which will help…but for how long.
I know you told me that insulin isn’t a drug it’s a hormone and the cat won’t come down gradually she’ll just eventually hit the right number,(which, by the way I mentioned to the vet, and she did not seem to agree with) but it just keeps going through my head that she had the exact same numbers when she was on three units of vetsulin.
Friends and family don’t understand. They think I’m absolutely crazy to be going to the extent that I am to try to help her.
Hypothetical question. Let’s say Xena is one of those cats that no matter what, can’t get regulated. What do you do under those circumstances?

sorry for the long post, I hope it doesn’t seem like a rant. I’m just really upset about the whole situation and overwhelmed.
 
Back
Top