10/9 Vyktor AM reducie PMPS 85 / Purrdy AMPS 248 +3 178 +8 166 PMPS 286 +3 155

Status
Not open for further replies.

Vyktors Mum

Very Active Member
Yesterday

Vyktor
AMPS 99 :D +2 58 :D +2.5 49 (2/3) :D +3.5 76 :D +5 61 :D +6 70 :D
PMPS 121 +2 113 :cool: +4 140

Vyktor barely ate at PMPS again. I still gave him the full dose, if I waited to be sure he would eat he'd be missing shots all over the place so I just have to have faith. He continued to barely eat throughout the cycle so it's interesting that his numbers went up instead of plummeting.

He also decided I didn't deserve to sleep through until AMPS again and woke me up a good half hour early :rolleyes:

He'll be having his 4th acupuncture session this morning - I trimmed his nails yesterday so hopefully I come out of it without blood being drawn this time!

Purrdy - SS
AMPS 272 +2 223 +6 162
PMPS 259 +2 221

Hilarity in the Purrdy household yesterday morning. Mum uses her phone as her alarm and has it near her head to ensure it wakes her. A little btb for everyone after AMPS, Purrdy was snuggled up close and had gone to sleep on the phone. When it went off at +2 he nearly hit the ceiling, which caused mum to almost hit the ceiling too - arms, legs, bodies flying everywhere - with civvie Dolly in her place at the end of the bed going ho hum. Nothing like a good laugh to start the day :)

Other - I took in lemons from my tree yesterday and someone commented that they'd heard lemons make the best deodorant. Had a little google and it seems to be a thing so there's about 1/2 dozen of us forgoing the regular deodorant in favour of a lemon juice experiment today. It's going to be a hot day so I hope google was right or our little corner of the office is going to be the place to avoid!
 
Go Vyktor, and eat please. :D

Purrdy, try sleeping on the other side next time. :smuggrin: Sorry I didn't reply the other day, been a bit overwhelmed on the home front. Interesting on the hypothyroidism. The only kitties I have seen with that have had it as a result of SRT radiation (Julie's punkin and Lu's Grayson) or i131 radiation for hyperthyroidism (Ruth's Tiger). @julie & punkin (ga) should know which tests to get to verify it.

I hope your office just smells like lemons today. :p
 
Hopefully Vyktor will eat more consistently for you. I hope his acupuncture appointment goes well.

How funny with Purrdy laying on the phone. What a way to wake up.

You'll have to let us know how the lemon experiment goes.
 
Hypothyroidism is more common than we think when being treated for hyper-t. You want the whole feline thyroid panel. Is it Purrdy?

Appy vines for Vyktor.
 
Congratulations to Vyktor on the reduction in dose and very funny about Purrdy and your mum and how Dolly wasn't bothered. Yes do report back on the lemon experiment and whether it worked.
 
I had to go back a few condos to find the conversation, but here it is:

@@Wendy&Neko thanks so much for posting the pics for me. I did have a google today but couldn't find much that was useful. These pics were very useful - Purrdy looks exactly like Grayson from the top view. Combined with his BG results (the race down the dosing and then the complete loss of regulation), his high dose and his labs, which indicate hypothyroidism (more testing needs to be done to confirm but his various issues with skin and missing fur along with a low Gamma GT result all point to that, so many boxes were being ticked as I did some research this afternoon) I am absolutely convinced he has acromegaly and that has caused hypothyroidism.

This is most unfortunate for Purrdy as Mum is not willing to undertake any of the treatment options available for acro. Mum asked the vet if she'd mind speaking to me about him as it's getting a bit too technical for her and the vet was happy to do that so I am to give her a call on Friday. Based on what mum said I don't think the vet has put the pieces together yet (she thinks the low T4 may be a false result) so I will tell her my theory - and also send her the link to Dr Lisa's website since she did give mum a little bit of a hard time about not feeding the prescription dry!

I'm thinking that we'll get F3 F4 free 4 and THS to confirm the hypothyroidism and while we're there we may as well get the IGF-1 if for no other reason than to convince the vet. From my brief research today I'm thinking that even if the acro remains untreated medication for the thyroid will work and alleviate many of his issues. Anything else I haven't thought of?
Punkin had hypothyroid that was caused by the radiation from his SRT. I have read that it is common for cats to have hyperthyroid, but very uncommon for one to have hypo except when caused by radiation. I have not heard of acro causing hypothyroid, except through radiation. Can you pull up whatever you were looking at so we can see it?

We had gotten punkin's free t-4 thyroid checked every 3 months per CSU's direction, and it kept turning up in low end of the normal range.

Then one day I finally had an AH-HA moment - punkin shed hair like a maniac, like it was floating around in the air and I was constantly covered in his hair. Hair loss is connected with low thyroid. I finally put the 2 together and asked for them to break out the thyroid tests and do more specific tests. That became a comedy of errors because they had to order a combination based upon what IDEXX would do. So I called Marje from the vet's cubicle and she suggested a combination that we did. Those tests revealed he was hypothyroid. I suspect that had a lot to do with us losing control of his blood sugar too. Thyroid is involved with everything in the body.

You can see the labs we did here. Two different kinds of free T4 (I don't know the difference in them) and the cTSH. I thought we'd done the free T3, but maybe not. I don't see Purrdy's labs on the lab tab - am I just not waiting long enough?
 
Vyktor tried China's plan to get out of his acupuncture but I'm afraid it didn't work for him, we didn't have to travel and he doesn't go low with stress so he got fed and got porcupined. He did better than last time and I only got a couple of punctures.

This is his third under 50 so we'll reduce tonight, very pleased that none of them has happened on a dodgy eating cycle so I know they were all 'genuine'. We also got poop right on schedule - whoo hoo!

Very interesting we haven't seen hypothyroid as a result of acro here as Dr Google makes it sound commonplace. I wonder if it just hasn't been caught as it's often only the T4 test that is done and that doesn't have to be under for there to be hypothyroid it can be low to normal. You need a high THS to confirm it. I spoke to Purrdy's vet just now and we're going to get the THS - I asked about the T3 and free T4. She hasn't dealt with hypothyroid in a cat before but her notes say just the T4 and THS are enough. She's also going to find out about the IGF-1 test (she's only seen one acro cat before and that one must have been well advanced as it was huge with the enlarged paws and head) and we will go from there...

ETA - Julie I will get back with that info it's all a bit nuts at the moment with Vyktor running low, urgent work to be done (at least I can do that from home) and it's past lunch time and I've yet to feed myself!
 
Last edited:
Congrats on the decrease for Vyktor! I hope it sticks!!!

Silly Purrdy. Cats are so high when startled. Maybe she'll learn where to sleep safely next time.

Hope your day was lemony fresh! ;)
 
The lemon works :) Amazing - I wish I knew this years ago! I have a very productive tree out the back so that's the end of nasty aluminium deodorants for me :) I didn't make it in to the office today but I did check in and there were positive reports all round.

Purrdy hasn't put his pink lacies on for 5 days (anti jinx) and is spending a whole lot of time in blue but unless he gets a normal number tonight I think we'll be increasing to 7.5u in the morning - unless advised otherwise, this high dose kitty business is quite a different ballgame :eek: Vet got back to mum this afternoon T3 test is completely unavailable here but the lab still has enough blood there for the TSH so they'll run that and get back to us next week. His follow up appointment for his skin infection is later that week so they can take blood for the IGF 1 then, which it seems has to be sent overseas so it will take two weeks to get the results.

Looks like Vyktor might be planning a pj party tonight, this is our best PS yet and we'll probably have a bit of depot action going on - Oh Vanessa :coffee::coffee::coffee: delivery required please!

I'll get Purrdy's labs into his spreadsheet over the weekend and elaborate . Mum's having trouble just pasting in the scanned doc so I'll do it manually like Punkin's. Oh, and his vet was very receptive to looking at Dr Lisa's site, got to love a vet that has an open mind and doesn't think they know everything :)
 
Way to go Vyktor. Oh, pj parties can be a pain, but the reduction (and you WILL hold it, mister) makes it worthwhile! Eating. Pooping. Reduction. I'd say Vyktor is smile-worthy.

Had to break out laughing at Purrdy's wake-up call! Sure sending lots of vines for some answers for that boy.

Lemons? Really? Interesting.

Marilyn and Polly
 
Exciting way to wake up! I hope all the tests give you some answers for Purrdy. Even if your mum doesn't go for the acro treatments, hypo T treatments should help some.

Way to go Vyktor! Keep the gum likor flowing, I think all the parties are helping!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top