10/9 Simon AMPS 209 +7 74 +7.5 145 | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB

10/9 Simon AMPS 209 +7 74 +7.5 145

simonsugar

Member since 2025
I messed up dosing and I am not sure if I am seeing residuals of that, even though it was an accidental decrease? I was giving 1.5IU for a few days as that is what I thought his current dose was, despite noting on my spreadsheet, life has been crazy and I just messed up. He should have been at 1.75IU which I did start after his curve, 2 days ago. Now we have a <90 number, so as we are following SLGS he earned a reduction, right? Or should I maintain the 1.75IU? I am nervous to try TR but I can try if you all think it will work better for him (I know, I know, ECID) as I can't split it in the middle and do like 1.65IU or something as I have to eyeball it for 1.75IU anyways, and need to get batteries for calipers, that just seems way too difficult to dose. Looking for general encouragement and tips to try TR or how to proceed?

previous post
 
Yes, when following SLGS and you see a number under 90, you immediately decrease the dose by 0.25 units.

Instead of Temptations, I'd invest in some higher carb wet food for when he sees lower numbers. 74 was still a safe number.
 
He typically won't eat wet food and temptations typically have minimal effect on his BG. He's very very picky... He will sometimes lick the gravy of higher carb wet food but usually straight out refuses it. I was wondering if I should try TR instead, since 1.5 seems to plateau his numbers?
 
How much dry food are you giving now? TR requires an all low carb wet or raw diet. TR also requires at least two tests per cycle, the preshots plus one other. That would meant getting at least a +2 test every night, ideally a bit later if you go to bed later. TR is more aggressive than SLGS, but has those requirements for safety.
 
Sorry I reread my response... I meant when he's low he won't eat any other food than his normal wet food, it's challenging to even get him to eat high carb friskies gravy or shreds. He will usually go for high carb meat sticks by sheba but I'm out, getting more tomorrow.
 
Back
Top