10/9 Shylo PMPS 127 +1 280 +2 234 +5 53 +5.5 102 +6 107

Status
Not open for further replies.

Emily & Shylo

Member Since 2014
yesterday; viewtopic.php?f=9&t=126649

I'm starting to wonder if it's possible I got a furshot within the last few days, hmmmmm. I saw Tricia mention not smelling Lantus on Cinco and realized that the day before yesterday Shylo definitely had a sort of chemical-y smell at the nape of his neck. He's more of a medium hair than a short hair (and squirmy) so it's a little hard to tell. I might see if I can get the slightly longer needle with the next box of syringes I get, that might help.

Then again, he also got the lid off the jar of bonito flakes overnight (I think in my exhaustion I just placed it on top and forgot to screw it shut, oops) and ate himself a nice sized snack so... that could do it too hahahaa. Going to have to start locking all food items away where he can't get to them. P:
 
Re: 10/9 Shylo AMPS 313 +2 272

Lantus smells a lot like a band-aid factory...you know that strange smell they have in the adhesive? It kind of reminds us of that....The drinkers in the group say it smells like Scotch but since I don't drink (especially whisky) I couldn't tell you..LOL

What we did when we first started was had our vet shave a tiny little patch on China's scruff so we could really see what we were doing...Once you've shot a couple hundred times, you develop a pretty good "feel" for it, but for those first several months, after I'd shoot, I'm really glad there was nobody around with a cell phone camera to snap a picture of me "Sniffing the cat" :lol:

Put a drop of the insulin on your fingertip and smell....you'll never forget it!
 
Re: 10/9 Shylo AMPS 313 +2 272

Yeah, I definitely had a furshot the other day then... bandaids. Exactly what it smelled like hahaha. I'll just have to be extra careful to make sure it doesn't happen again if I can help it!

His entire belly is still growing back from his gallbladder surgery, I'd hate to shave another spot on the poor guy hahaha. I got him good this morning, I've just started to have to wrangle him into my lap where I can hold him a little more firmly.
 
Re: 10/9 Shylo AMPS 313 +2 272 +11 125

Coming up on his +11 he's looking a little low at 125... but we'll see what his preshot looks like in about an hour. I think I'm going to end up shooting anyway tonight unless it's dropped really low, though... I'd hate to skip his dose again. Sooner or later I'm going to have to suck it up and get more comfortable shooting low numbers lol.

edit; PMPS is 127, so it really hasn't moved anywhere, of course. P:
 
Re: 10/9 Shylo AMPS 313 +11 125 PMPS 127

Did you shoot the 127?

If you did, best to get a +1 and +2 to see where he might be going tonight
 
Re: 10/9 Shylo AMPS 313 +11 125 PMPS 127

I just did... will definitely get the +1 and +2. I can stay up all night if I have to, otherwise I'd have left it I think.
 
Re: 10/9 Shylo AMPS 313 +11 125 PMPS 127

i still don't know what Lantus smells like - i have allergies and in spite of everyone talking about the smell, i've never been able to smell it. pathetic, eh? :lol:

awesome job shooting, emily! woot! nice flat blue number - let's hope you get a lovely green surf tonight. who needs sleep anyway!?
 
Re: 10/9 Shylo AMPS 313 +11 125 PMPS 127

Did you stall for an hour?

It looks like the PMPS was over an hour ago and you say you just shot, but since you "edited" the post where you said his PMPS was 127, I don't know if you shot "On schedule" or waited an hour

Doesn't really matter...just remember if you DID stall for an hour, that your shot in the morning is an hour later (although you can shoot 45 minutes late and work your way back 15 minutes per cycle)
 
Re: 10/9 Shylo AMPS 313 +11 125 PMPS 127

Oops, I should have just made a new post for that. I did the PMPS right before dinner (10:30) and then shot at 11 (our usual time). Hopefully that makes sense.
 
Re: 10/9 Shylo AMPS 313 +11 125 PMPS 127

no, just do one thread per day. it's very confusing when people have more than one thread/day or start bumping up posts from previous days.

you can edit the subject line of the first post in this thread and give updates as you get new tests in, just like you've got there now.

then start a new thread every morning.

Is that what you meant?
 
Re: 10/9 Shylo AMPS 313 +11 125 PMPS 127

Oh no I meant new post in this thread instead of editing the other one, haha. That way it would have had a timestamp on it.
 
Re: 10/9 Shylo AMPS 313 +11 125 PMPS 127 +1 280

Nice big food spike on the +1... definitely hoping that comes down a bit on the +2 haha.
 
Re: 10/9 Shylo AMPS 313 +11 125 PMPS 127 +1 280

that looks like it is the beginning of a bounce. if he's up higher than 280 at +2ish, take a break until morning. Might as well save a strip when you can.
 
Re: 10/9 Shylo AMPS 313 +11 125 PMPS 127 +1 280

His +2 took a drop back down to 234, is it still considered a bounce or should I check back in an hour or two?

Thanks for the link, Marje! I'll take a read over there right now.
 
Re: 10/9 Shylo AMPS 313 +11 125 PMPS 127 +1 280 +2 234

That's basically the same number, but still higher than the PS

You might grab a nap and see if you can get a +5 and then maybe a +10 or +11....that way if he clears this bounce quickly too, you'll have a better idea of what to do at AMPS time

The "gaps" you need to work on when you can are those +5 to +11 tests, so any tests you can get in through there will be helpful to you in the long run to be more data ready

I have to get off here tonight, so I hope you have a nice quiet night!
 
Re: 10/9 Shylo AMPS 313 +11 125 PMPS 127 +1 280 +2 234

You could grab a before bed. His +2 is still above his PMPS by quite a bit.

Your welcome!!, :-D
 
Re: 10/9 Shylo PMPS 127 +1 280 +2 234 +5 53

So I'm really, really glad I decided to check before I went to sleep... Shylo's BG tanked at the +5 all the way down to 53. I'm going to go grab some food for him to eat right now to see if I can bring that level up a little bit... gonna recheck him in thirty minutes.
 
Re: 10/9 Shylo PMPS 127 +1 280 +2 234 +5 53

Great catch, Emily!! You have to watch these guys every minute - they can be very sneaky!.

I think you know what to do from here, right? I'll be up a while as Cinco is surfing green tonight, so let me know if you have any questions.
 
Re: 10/9 Shylo PMPS 127 +1 280 +2 234 +5 53

Shylo seems to be extra sneaky on the nights I really want to sleep too, hahaha.

He ate a teaspoon or two of food with some gravy in it about twenty minutes ago, so I'm gonna test him again in the next five or ten minutes to see where he's at... I was rereading my condo from the other night we were up so I thiiiink that I know what to do. I'm glad that he's in the greens but I definitely wish this was earlier and not 4:30am hahahahaaa.
 
Re: 10/9 Shylo PMPS 127 +1 280 +2 234 +5 53

Ok, looks like I may have given him a liiiiittle too much food, he's back up to 102 for his +5.5. Going to see if I can get him to cooperate in another half hour to test again.
 
Re: 10/9 Shylo PMPS 127 +1 280 +2 234 +5 53 +5.5 102

Better to give too many carbs than not enough! I think you can stop feeding now and see if he'll stay up on his own. Cinco is just hanging in the same spot. Nice and healthy, but makes me a little nervous - he's been known to double dip! :shock: :mrgreen:
 
Still hovering at about the same spot... poor Shylo is so fed up with me poking him. ): He's usually very good but his ears must be getting sore since he actually meowed out loud at me when I just poked him. I'd love to attempt paw pokes but I don't think the lancets I have are long enough for the lancing device... they don't even poke out the top of it.
 
I don't use a device - I tried it and didn't like the way it worked. We poke with just the lancets.

Are you putting Neosporin with pain relief on his ears? It really helps.
 
Great job last night, Emily. Super catch! I see Shylo is making up his own rules. I know another little cat who does that (Gracie or as she is widely known in LL...LBG for Little Brown Girl). LBG has a "Lil Stinka" Club and sfter Shylos antics last night, she would like to invite him to be an honorary member :-D

It takes time to figure out exactly what to give and how much to give to control lower numbers. Remember thst as you see getting closer to nadir, the insulin typically will start to wane a bit and so you might not need to give any HC food for those 50s. Again...ECID so you just have to experiment with it. And just when you think you have it nailed, they change.

The mystery of cats :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top