10/9 SHEBA AMPS 238; +5 457 after night at lagoon

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bron and Sheba (GA)

Member Since 2015
Yesterday
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...0-183-pmps-140-vet-visit.145578/#post-1512091

AMPS 238
Well I am certainly glad I did not increase the dose yesterday. Last night we had the longest pyjama party yet.
She was dropping during the latter part of the am cycle and had a low blue PMPS and from the beginning of the pm cycle she meant business. Her drops were strong and I gave her a drop of honey and a teaspoon of 16 carb food every hour from+3 to +8. She still dropped, despite the honey and carbs, but it was a more controlled drop. I did not want her to drop too low and trigger a bounce.

This morning I was woken out of a deep sleep by the sound of Sheba vomiting at the top of the stairs. Just fluid and not much but enough to get me up. I had finally fallen into a good sleep after +10 but it was short lived. I did doze inbetween the earlier tests but found it hard to fall asleep easily which I can usually do.

This morning because of the very strong cycle, I reduced the dose by 0.25 units........I know she didn't drop below 40 (but that was because I didn't let her), but I cannot keep having cycles like that because it is just too unsafe.....

I am hoping she will drop back down today but she might bounce after all the green and not having had any greens for several days.
 
If you're having a hard time keeping her numbers up, it's a good idea to reduce. I hope she holds the reduction and slides down for you today. I hope she's feeling better after the vomit.
 
Thanks Carla. And Sheba is fine now....she sometimes vomits early in the morning......

I meant to mention that I am teaching number 3 GD (aged 10) to test Sheba's BSLs. She is very keen so That is good. She did one reasonable well yesterday with my help then spent time practising getting the ear in the right place with the cotton ball, then pretending to use the lancet, then gather the blood. She is doing well and Sheba was very obliging and just lay there and let her do it.
 
If you have to fight that hard to keep them up, that's also a good sign they could need the reduction, so don't worry about not dropping below 50 three times or below 40 once!

If you have a night like that again, you know you can just abort the cycle, carb them up and get some sleep? It can't be good for you (or anybody) to stay up all night testing, so there's no reason why you couldn't just give her more HC food and then take a nap. I'm not suggesting giving a lot of HC and then going to sleep for the rest of the night, but you can give enough that you're able to get a few hours in between tests until you know she's out of the "danger zone"

It's not something you'd want to do all the time, but it's something you can consider if she's bound and determined to try to keep you up the entire night again
 
@Chris & China . Thanks Chris. I will try that if she does that again....which she is sure to do.
When I gave her the 16 carb with the honey I thought that might last longer than an hour as I usually only use honey to stop or slow the drops. But I thought I would use the 16 carb to help keep the numbers up longer but it only lasted an hour each time. She was really on a mission.
Thanks so much
 
What a long night for you Bron, you must be exhausted. Hope you can get some well deserved sleep while Sheba flies around in the stratosphere.

Great idea enlisting GD No. 3 to help test for you, never too early to start learning.
 
Thanks Elise and Suki. I managed to grab about an hours sleep which is enough to make me feel human at least. Sheba will probably stay high tonight so I will make the most of it.

Suki, while I have someone wanting to learn to test I will take advantage of it and teach them. Sheba is very placid and is happy to let her fiddle with her ears. It is interesting to watch....she has no fear of failure so is not tense or scared and is very capable of doing it well.
 
I agree you did the right thing. ECID and you know Sheba best.

As for you, Miss Sheba, off the trampoline. NOW!

Hooray for a willing, eager DGD, wanting to learn to test, and a cooperative kitty. I think it's a valuable lesson for the young lady, regardless of whether she ever has a diabetic cat to care for or not. It's always good to have back up, and I suspect she has a fondness for Sheba, and Sheba trusts her. Good on you for teaching her and trusting her to do it.

Take advantage of this chance to catch some zzzzzz, Bron You never know what that cat might have planned next!:rolleyes::confused:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top