10/9 Rusty PMPS 231, +4 189 | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB

10/9 Rusty PMPS 231, +4 189

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA)

Very Active Member
yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=53827

Good Morning, Everyone,

Wow, Rusty is really up there this morning. He was already on his way up at +4.5 last night (when onset should have begun), so either I gave a fur shot at PMPS yesterday, or he was bouncing from the two green numbers yesterday and this is a continuation of the bounce. Either way, I'm not happy and I'm pretty sure it was not a fur shot! It's a huge bounce for a cat who never used to bounce. I'm still wondering if perhaps I should consider switching Rusty to Lantus. If he's going to bounce anyway, it would be easier for me to see trends on the Lantus curve than it is on the Lev. curve. Opinions anyone? (please see my questions/comments in yesterday's condo).
When I pulled the needle out this morning there was a drop of blood on Rusty's skin. I worried that I had injected insulin into a vein, but he seems OK.

Now, I've worried enough for today, so I shall just try to take everything as it comes. Rusty and I saw the chipmunk this morning. Rusty almost caught him. Fortunately, Chip-Chip made it into the stone wall in time. Now all Rusty wants to do is go out again!

After an early lunch we are going to take my sister to the lake where we saw all the loons on Friday. Even if they have left on their migration, it's a nice paddle for its own sake.

Sorry not to get to many condos this weekend. I'll check back later.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 10/9 Rusty AMPS 235(!!)

Morning guys!

Rusty - what are you doing up on that floor? I know how you feel Ella - Mannie has been bouncing all over the place lately too... Ever since his dental he just hasn't been able to settle into his dose. I keep hoping that Mr Consistency will return. I hope the same for Rusty. Mannie is the same - healthy, dental done... no clue. We just take each day as it comes, hope things will settle down. I wish I knew what to tell you on the lantus switch. I just don't know....

Enjoy the paddle with your DS. It sounds like it was a very nice lake, even of the loons have already migrated. I hope though that she will be able to see them.

whoa on the chipmunk! :shock: :lol:
 
Re: 10/9 Rusty AMPS 235(!!)

I've seen Jill comment that if one of the insulins isn't doing the job, try the other. It can't hurt. I would, however, suggest not holding on to a dose that's not working.
 
Re: 10/9 Rusty AMPS 235(!!)

OHhhhhh on the numbers and the chipper!!!!

Ok, so now we have Rusty, Mannie, and Attie all trying to be roommates this morning. Boys...time to come on down from there.
 
Re: 10/9 Rusty AMPS 235(!!)

Thanks, everyone,
More things to mull over while we're out on our short paddle this afternoon. I think I'll P.M. Claudia (cjleo) and ask her how Rusty did on Lantus. He did great with Phoebe on Lev., but maybe it is wearing off.

Ella
 
Re: 10/9 Rusty AMPS 235(!!)

Sorry about Rusty's numbers Ella, sometimes the kitties throw us for a curve and we have no idea why, I guess it's all part of the dance.

I hope you're having a great time with your sister.

Leo would like to know what chipmunk tastes like, can Rusty tell him??? Heeheehee :lol:
 
Re: 10/9 Rusty AMPS 235(!!)

Oh Rusty! Please come down, you are really making your beans worry. Ella I hope you can relax w/ DS today , the paddle sounds lovely.

We switched Tess from Lantus to Lev for about the same reason, she wasn't going anywhere and bouncing like crazy. It did even her out. Sometimes a wakeup call works. I would also PM Jill. Ask about the dose too, sometimes too much insulin can cause strange numbers too and all this seems to have started when you started increasing his dose, cause or effect, I'm not sure.
:YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 10/9 Rusty AMPS 235(!!), +5 169, +9.5 202, PMPS 231

goodness, Rusty...adding my voice to those asking you to COME DOWN!

sounds like a switch may be what folks think is a good idea, Ella...
be interesting to see what you decide.
 
Re: 10/9 Rusty AMPS 235(!!), +5 169, +9.5 202, PMPS 231

Thanks to everyone for the suggestions and support. After the holiday weekend I will explore the option of switching Rusty to Lantus. I sure do not like today's numbers!

We had a really nice day with my sister. We had a nice walk this morning and a good paddle this afternoon. Some of the loons were still there (we saw about 10, as opposed to 33 on Friday; we met some women who have a camp on the lake and they said that early last week they counted 49 loons!)

Rusty went looking for the chipmunk again after we got home, but no luck.

Tomorrow is our Monday padding group's last "official" paddle of the season: the Bog River Flow. It is a leisurely paddle and we will grill hotdogs (for "Michigans", a variant of chili dog), eat salads, cookies, etc. and some of us will climb Hitchens Cliff. The weather this weekend has been wonderful and I hope it continues through tomorrow (and Tuesday). Rusty will hold the fort tomorrow and eat from his automat.

Off to visit a few condos. We hope you all are well and enjoying the weekend.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 10/9 Rusty AMPS 235(!!), +5 169, +9.5 202, PMPS 231

these are very unrustylike numbers!!! Fingers and paws crossed that he heads downward soon! Your last paddle sounds wonderful! Hope the weather cooperates!

I'm suddenly contemplating a chili dog.... :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
I'm glad you had a great day today, Ella. Hopefully it got all this stuff off your mind.

I have to wonder the same as Ann....sometimes too much insulin can look like too little and we keep raising the dose until you hit the breakthrough again. Or maybe he's tired of lev....who knows. But I think Jill would be a great resource for you as she has used both insulins on the same kitty. I'd also find out how he did on lantus before...there must have been a reason they switched him.

Sending you many hugs and I hope this will soon be solved for you and we can see Rusty numbers again.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top