? 10/9 Ragnar - yesterday high, AMPS 446, PMPS 50 - dosing help

Jane and Ragnar

Member Since 2020
Updated chart with a curve from yesterday. It appears to me that he posted high numbers all day in response to another low (for him) the evening before that, and no shot. A bad day for doing a curve, as it turns out.

So.... I can see that this is likely reactive bouncing. Instead of increasing his dose, I understand the point about considering holding or decreasing a bit for a week.

Thoughts?
 
Just ran his PMPS - 49, then immediate retest at 52 (to check for faulty test strip). Not sure what is going on, but I'll obviously be skipping his PM dose again. We'll see what the morning brings. I'm also going to contact my vet.
 
Last edited:
Hi Jane,
What is happening is Ragnar is bouncing from the green number from 2 days ago and has now come off the bounce. Sometimes when they come off the bounce they can drop quite low like he has done today.

So he has earned a reduction today back to 1.25 units as he dropped under 90 on the SLGS method.
Also by reducing you will hopefully be able to give a dose for both cycles instead of skipping.
So starting tomorrow morning give him 1.25 units and hold that for a week unless he drops under 90 in which case you would reduce the dose.

Don't worry too much about the black numbers...those are caused by the dumping of stored glucose when he freaked out with the green preshot and bounced. He will most likely do it again tonight, but still take the reduction tomorrow morning.

Try and make sure you are getting at least one test in during the pm cycle.
You are both doing great! It's very normal for a newly diagnosed cat to bounce.
 
That's what I figured was happening. I'm actually going to run a PM +2 before I go to bed tonight and do a 1.25 dose if his numbers are high enough to make me feel comfortable. I used to be a vet tech so am not an overly-nervous person when it comes to the possibility of hypoglycemia.
 
That's what I figured was happening. I'm actually going to run a PM +2 before I go to bed tonight and do a 1.25 dose if his numbers are high enough to make me feel comfortable. I used to be a vet tech so am not an overly-nervous person when it comes to the possibility of hypoglycemia.
That will put you out of schedule by 2 hours. Are you going to be able to manage that moving forward.
And you will need the BG to be not food influenced so no food for the next 2 hours.
 
Back
Top