10/9 PurrFace PMPS 245 +2/316 +8/282 +11/287

Status
Not open for further replies.

Frosty

Member Since 2012
Back in the low end of PINK; almost YELLOW. After his delayed PM shot last night I thought his depot would have been completely depleted but I guess there was some left. Hopefull he will get to the yellows today and maybe into the BLUE. Is there any explaination for his going to the low BLUE#s and Green#s after sitting in the mid PINK and YELLOW for days. The same thing happened 5 days ago.
PurrFace's Condo
 
Re: 10/9 PurrFace AMPS 300

IMHO, it looks like in your case it's a combo of liver panic ( bouncing ) and skipped shots.
Hope PurrFace slides down, yellow and blue to go , Please!

I think you'll see less of it when you are able to consistently shoot. And then PurrFace might earn that reduction. Scary the first time or two.... :o
 
Re: 10/9 PurrFace AMPS 300 +3/245

rhiannon, He's back in the yellow as of his AM+3 BG. With the exception of last night's PM shot we have been very consistent with his shots; just about always on the dot and never more than 5 minutes either side of shot time. I didn't shoot on time last night because test prior to his PM shot included a 72, 76, 95 and a PMPS of 117. This was the first time either he or I entered that arena and I thought if he was below 200 a newbie shouldn't shoot. After some sound advice on the board I did shoot him although late, thus establishing new shot times which we will adhere to. If he enters the BLUE or GREEN zone again, and I hope he does and stays there, I will hold any food and post and wait for someone to walk me through giving him his first low BG shot. He's doing well and acting a lot like the old PurrFace. If we could only get rid of the nueropathy now. He is on the Mythl B12 @ 5mg a day. Thank you for your help.
 
Re: 10/9 PurrFace AMPS 300 +3/245 +5/174

He made it to the BLUE at +5. I'll check again at +7 and +10. If he is still in the low BLUE I'll test at +11. If low BG, <200, I'll post for assistance to give low number shot.
 
Re: 10/9 PurrFace AMPS 300 +3/245 +5/174 +8/149 +10/172

Does this course of action sound OK? PurrFace has been in the BLUE since +3BG and will most likely be <200 at PM shot time in 2 hours. If he is above 150 I'll give him his shot and watch him. If <150 at +11 or PMPS I will post with help request. The only food he had since +6 was the tsp he had immediately following his +8BG so he is wanting food. Is it OK if I feed him after his PM shot or should I wait and take a +1BG first?
 
Re: 10/9 PurrFace AMPS 300 +3/245 +5/174 +8/149 +10/172

I looked at your ss and thought I saw two skipped shots. I didn't catch that you had wrapped oct 8 around to the next line.

Might be a better way to do that....


I'm guessing you are about at shot time...
Most of us test, feed and shoot at the same time. Then unless you are worried, test at +2.
It all depends on what that preshot number is and whether it is dropping or rising.
Right now your numbers show rising so see where it is at shot time....
 
Re: 10/9 PurrFace AMPS 300 +3/245 +5/174 +8/149 +10/172

Thank you Rihanna. His PM shot is 1 hour from now. I'm about to test him now. I didn't know exactly how to work the new PMPS BG# after the delayed shot without deleting the BG#s after the skipped shot. I should probably change the skipped shot to delayed shot since I did shoot. If you can check back in 10 minutes and I'll have his +11 BG posted. Thank you.
 
Re: 10/9 PurrFace AMPS 300 +3/245 +5/174 +8/149 +10/172

Its great that you are getting plenty of data on PurrFace, that really helps show his patterns to help you plan feeding and dosing and shooting.

You asked about feeding earlier. The general guidance is several small meals is preferable to few large meals to maintian a steady bg. As you read condos, you may notice some people here time feedings, manage portions, and withhold food for an interval before PS, others of us free feed thus the cat decides meal timing and portions. ECID and you will figure out what works best for your PurrFace.
 
Re: 10/9 PurrFace AMPS 300 +3/245 +5/174 +8/149 +10/172 +11/

Leslie, We try to not feed him 2 hours prior to shots when his BG #s don't dictate frequent testing. We were free feeding him but I was concerned that if he ate to close to test time it would show an inflated BG # because of the food. As you can see from his numbers today he dropped a bit after 2 hours or so of eating just about a tsp. I'm anxious as to what his PMPS BG# will be. This will be the first time I administer a dose with him in #s <200.
 
Re: 10/9 PurrFace AMPS 300 +3/245 +5/174 +8/149 +10/172 +11/

John

I haven't had a chance to visit your condo, i don't think, as I have been out of town but I'm back now and usually man the evenings into the late hours so we can be sure newbies have someone with them if they get a low evening number.

Right now, it looks to me like PurrFace has a nice little surf going and I'd love to see you shoot the full dose on time tonight IF you have plenty of strips, MC/HC food and karl/honey, a working meter, and are rested and able to test. If his PMPS is above
200, go ahead and shoot the full dose and feed. If it's under, then do not feed him, post, and we'll talk about it. ;-) But I LIKE to see everyone shooting on time with the full dose IF it is safe and they have all the supplies.

I need to look at your SS to see if I can make some suggestions on cleaning it up. It's pretty confusing right now ;-) No worries...we all have to figure it out. I am curious as to why all the slashes in the empty boxes???

See you shortly.
 
Re: 10/9 PurrFace AMPS 300 +3/245 +5/174 +8/149 +10/172 +11/

John

I'm back....please be sure to read my post before this one...it has important info in it about tonight's shot.

Once you get past tonight's shot, here's how to fix your SS so 10/8 is all on one line.
Go to the +11 box in the AM cycle and change the font to 8. Then type: 117 @ 12; 169 @ 13.25; 202 @ 14; 305 @ 15
In the PMPS box, type: 327 @ 15.75
In the +2 box, type: 336
In the +7 box, type: 341
In the +11 box, type: 282

Everything should be on one line then. Check out my Gracie's SS on 8/23 pm cycle at +11 and 8/24 at AMPS.

See you soon.
 
Re: 10/9 PurrFace AMPS 300 +3/245 +5/174 +8/149 +10/172 +11/

Marje, I'll remove the slashes, they don't need to be there. Ihave plenty of test strips, HC FF GRAVEY, Karo, oral syringe and a meter with spare batteries. What is MC? I delayed the PM shot last night and didn't know how to put the new PMPS # in without deleting the numbers past the normal PM shot time and the new PM shot time. If his PMPS BG is 200 or higher I'll give him the shot and feed, if <200 I'll hold the food and shot and post for advise. Thank you for your help.
 
Re: 10/9 PurrFace AMPS 300 +3/245 +5/174 +8/149 +10/172 +11/

John, Marje is here, you are in good hands! :-D My guess is PurrFace will be around 150 - 160 at PS, not a problem but its natural to be nervous the first times. What clock time is your PS and shot time?

Witholding food prior to PS is common here, it helps avoid a food inflated bg as you noted. Also gives some margin to use food to help raise the numbers if needed, that goes much easier if the cat is not already full :lol: . Same concept goes for using food to raise bg during the cycle, feed small amounts at a time to see the effect, and so the cat has room for more if needed.
 
Re: 10/9 PurrFace AMPS 300 +3/245 +5/174 +8/149 +10/172 +11/

Thanks Marje, I'll correct the spreadsheet. I read your first post and will do as you suggest.
 
Re: 10/9 PurrFace AMPS 300 +3/245 +5/174 +8/149 +10/172 +11/

John

Sorry...MC is medium carb. Sometimes we jump to using high carb a little too quickly. So I think it's good to have a variety until you know how he responds.

See you in a few.
 
Re: 10/9 PurrFace PMPS 245

Hi Marje, I just posted it. He was at 245 so I feed and shot. I'll work on the spreadsheet now. Thank you.
 
Re: 10/9 PurrFace PMPS 245

Thanks John. Sorry for the delay...I waited a bit but then had to test and feed Gracie.

Glad you shot. I think if you get a +2, you'll be ok to start with. I'm not sure if anyone has explained the importance of the +2 test. So forgive me if this is redundant.

If the +2 is much higher than the PS, it's likely to be a slow cycle; if the +2 is the same or close to the PS, it's likely to be a normal, active lantus cycle (see below for a typical lantus curve); if the +2 is much less than the PS, you should be prepared for an earlier onset and more active cycle than typical.

+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.

If you can get the +2 and post it, then we'll have an idea if you can get to bed early or need to test again later. Thanks for working on the SS!
 
Re: 10/9 PurrFace PMPS 245

Thank you for staying with me. I have not seen the info on the +2 importants or the chart you posted. Thank you for that. I will test him at the +2 and post it. He ate and jumped in the bed with my DW. If we need to pull an all nighter she will relieve me so the one testing is alert. I can tell when he is in the BLUE zone by the way he acts. He get more active. It's amazing how quick he can move with his nueropathy. Hopefully we can keep him in the BLUE and maybe even the GREEN.
Thank you again.
 
Re: 10/9 PurrFace PMPS 245 +2/316

I think you can go to bed but if you are going to be up a couple more hours you can test before you go to bed.

I would try and get a +10 or +11 so you can see where he's headed in the morning.

Have a good night.
 
Re: 10/9 PurrFace PMPS 245 +2/316

Leslie, Thank you for your help earlier. I take his PS reading five minutes prior to the shot. Currently he is at 10:30 a.m. & 10:30 p.m. EDT. I can see where using the food to help raise the numbers could be useful. Before we got him on insulin it wasn't a problem getting him to eat because he was always eating. I had to tell the grandkids not to stand in one place too long or he would eat them. He's almost back to normal now though.
 
Re: 10/9 PurrFace PMPS 245 +2/316

Thank you Marje and Leslie. I'll get the +10BG & +11BG. I really appreciate all of the help and support. Hopefully someday I'll learn enough to be able to help someone. Have a great night and thanks again.
 
PurrFace's AM & PM cycles spans two days (10:30 a.m/10:30 p.m. CDT). Should I post his PM numbers that are part of the 10/9 PM cycle but were taken on 10/10 to my 10/9 post or start the 10/10 post with them?
 
You can start a new one, and link this one to it.
And like Poopy, 10/10 PurrFace +11~287
and then later today when you get that AMPS edit you subject and change it.



here's where I saved the instructions for making a fancy link.

The way you make a fancy link is as follows:
• copy the location of the link from the top of your browser
• then, open a post and above the text box are button. Click on the button with URL inside;
• the following will be inserted at your cursor: .
• inside the first bracket, insert an = sign and then paste the location information of your link. It will look something like ;
• in between the two sets of brackets, type what you want to call the link. It will look something like this: [url=the http:// location of Reuben's condo from yesterday]Reuben's condo
 
Thanks Rhiannon. I'll repost his +11 BG for today. Thanks to a previous post from you several days ago I have the instructions on doing a fancy link. Thanks again and have a great day!
 
Great job testing last night John.

Today is my only work day so I won't be around most of the day but there are others to help out. Same drill as last night...if he's 200 or above at shot time, shoot the full dose on time but if he's lower, don't feed him, post, and someone will help. If you are already posting your +11, I should still be here for your amps.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top