10/9 Phoenix AMPS pending Need Help with Dosing

Scdal

Member Since 2020
It is 1 hour before his morning injection. I increased Phoenix's dose to 8 units 4 days ago. Last night Preshot was 114. I gave his insulin. He remained in the blue numbers for the first time all last night. He has never stayed in the blue for more than a couple of hours.
Knowing Phoenix, his numbers will continue to drop until I feed him. Should I give him the full 8 units this morning? I don't want to shoot if he goes below 100 BG, but I would like to keep him in the blue zone. I don't want him going hypo on me. I will be home all day. I can tell he feels so much better. He is a lot more active. Phoenix is not on tight regulation. Right now, he is at 147 and his injection is due in an hour. I know from experience that Phoenix's numbers will continue to drop until he is fed. Should I give him the full 8 units?
 
The first thing you should do is update your title so that (as we've asked you before) reads like this:

10/9 Phoenix AMPS ### - you can also write AMPS PENDING - NEED HELP WITH DOSING.

Test at AMPS, post that number as the AMPS - if it's lower than 147 you should STALL, no food, ask for help. Test again. I can't tell if he's going up or down at this point.
 
Good morning,

it’s been a while since your last post, so I’m not sure it’s relevant to link for continuity sake.

I’m not a dose adviser...and I’m not usually up this early, so I’m not sure who might be at this time of morning to tag...

I would update your thread title something like:

? 10/8 Phoenix +11 147. Shot advice requested

I would also still get a +11.75, update the title, and post again. You could hold food, stall and post, if you need it. I know you say that you know he will continue falling if you don’t feed, I just don’t have any advisement on that.

Sorry I don’t have more advice, but at least it bumped your post?
 
Good morning,

it’s been a while since your last post, so I’m not sure it’s relevant to link for continuity sake.

I’m not a dose adviser...and I’m not usually up this early, so I’m not sure who might be at this time of morning to tag...

I would update your thread title something like:

? 10/8 Phoenix +11 147. Shot advice requested

I would also still get a +11.75, update the title, and post again. You could hold food, stall and post, if you need it. I know you say that you know he will continue falling if you don’t feed, I just don’t have any advisement on that.

Sorry I don’t have more advice, but at least it bumped your post?

Phoenix AMPS is 120. He will continue to fall until I feed him. I have fed him. I would just like to know if I should give him his full dose.
.
 
You are SLGS so the sticky can help provide some general guidance on numbers below 150 if you aren’t sure how your cat will respond or eat today.

Have you changed your mind about not shooting below 150, as mentioned previously? It’s been a while since then, so not sure if you have changed your mind?
 
I have two questions for you. 1)Why would you reduce the dose? 2)Why won't you update your title?

I don't know how. I have tried to figure it out but it doesn't work. Would you please cut me a little slack? I am 68 years old and not very computer savvy.
 
@Scdal I do have to work this morning, so am not able to stay with you for long. I apologize for that.

I think the detailed instructions are in the last post for updating thread titles :) But you can do that after you decide :cool:
 
Please add your cat’s name to the subject and the information mentioned above if you will be wanting help. He is around 150 so you should be able to shoot with SLGS if you can monitor. The only way people will offer assistance should you need help us if you keep your ss and subject up to date. Stalling is not an option as he will go lower most likely. I will be in and out today so can’t stay with you either. Do you have notes from previous times to refer to if he goes low?
 
Here is a visual for you: click "thread tools" and "edit title" will appear. Hope this helps. :)
upload_2020-10-9_10-33-4.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2020-10-9_10-33-4.png
    upload_2020-10-9_10-33-4.png
    60.2 KB · Views: 99
I don't know how. I have tried to figure it out but it doesn't work. Would you please cut me a little slack? I am 68 years old and not very computer savvy.

I believe last time a member sent you a photo of how to edit your title. I'm old too - and I've spent years learning how to use a computer - you can learn too...

Here's the photo of how to edit your title:

upload_2020-10-9_10-35-49.png

CLICK on the Thread Tools - it will open an area for you to view/edit your title.
 

Attachments

  • upload_2020-10-9_10-35-49.png
    upload_2020-10-9_10-35-49.png
    46.3 KB · Views: 102
I'm sorry Susan, I also can't guarantee that I can stay with you to monitor. I can pop in for you around 11am and 1130am. After that, I'm just not sure. Depends on work. I'll do my best to check in on you after that if you decide to shoot and post updates with Phoenix's BGs.
 
I'm sorry Susan, I also can't guarantee that I can stay with you to monitor. I can pop in for you around 11am and 1130am. After that, I'm just not sure. Depends on work. I'll do my best to check in on you after that if you decide to shoot and post updates with Phoenix's BGs.
I decided to shoot. I can monitor him all day. I appreciate all your help. Have a nice day!
 
Susan, I'm glad you shot the full dose today. Phoenix had a lovely cycle last night.

A couple comments about the posts here. Although it's really helpful for all of us for her to have the same format subject title as the rest of us, it is more important to help a caregiver with a dosing decision first - then suggest a change in the subject line once she's got the help she needs.
 
Susan, I'm glad you shot the full dose today. Phoenix had a lovely cycle last night.

A couple comments about the posts here. Although it's really helpful for all of us for her to have the same format subject title as the rest of us, it is more important to help a caregiver with a dosing decision first - then suggest a change in the subject line once she's got the help she needs.

I agree with you, however this caregiver has been with the forum since April and has posted like this previously - so at this point having been on the forum for six months one would think Susan would have been able to help us to help her. That's all we're asking; an appropriate title, a signature, values on the SS.
 
Back
Top