10/9 Olive PMPS 129, 114+2, 96+3, 85+4, 78+4.5, 85+5,94+5.5, 93+6, 115+7

I fed her a tsp of her mix that I added more DM to, a tsp more of the gravy, and a drop of honey as it left the bottle as she's never gotten a tsp of it before. I'd rather start small because last time I kept giving her honey after honey after honey and she spiked so badly she was in the black for the cycles that followed later. I'm retesting here 15 minutes after the honey was given to see if it made any impact. If not, I'll give more.
 
I fed her a tsp of her mix that I added more DM to, a tsp more of the gravy, and a drop of honey as it left the bottle as she's never gotten a tsp of it before. I'd rather start small because last time I kept giving her honey after honey after honey and she spiked so badly she was in the black for the cycles that followed later. I'm retesting here 15 minutes after the honey was given to see if it made any impact. If not, I'll give more.
Sounds good. FWIW, people usually advise me to wait 20-30 after food to test to see the impact of the food. 15 is on the early side but of course do what you are comfortable with. When I worry about Jax's numbers, I literally sit on my hands for 20 minutes :)
 
people usually advise me to wait 20-30 after food to test to see the impact of the food. 15 is on the early side but of course do what you are comfortable with.
Normally I do too. I got the honey in late as I like to test/feed all on the hour or half hour mark. But knowing how she responds to honey, I knew I'd get some kind of a reading either way after just 15 minutes. It spiked her back up to 85. So I'm thinking I need to hold now until +5.5 and see what her numbers are doing. I feel like it's teetering on a fine line of going either way and although I don't want to see her go much lower, I'd LOVE to see her surf.
And you're doing great at handling Olive :bighug: I'll check-in in the AM
Thank you! Have a good sleep.
 
Just so I am aware of our tools... we have:
Regular food of some kind
DM
Gravy lovers
Honey

is that right?
 
Just so I am aware of our tools... we have:
Regular food of some kind
DM
Gravy lovers
Honey

is that right?
Yes. You are correct.
She gets a 50/50 mix of Raw food to DM that she gets throughout the day now. We are holding at this ratio until she sees the holistic vet on the 29th. We didn't want to keep altering food on her so decided to stick 50/50 until then so it'll be easier when the vet either suggests all DM or some form of raw so she'll already be halfway transitioned. lol.
 
Our hope is to finally have a diet plan for her once and for all. One that will be just the right balance of carbs because I've been so overwhelmed by what we are and aren't supposed to feed her. Never knowing what the right food is or the right carb count that's best for her body. The one vet we fired swears by the DM as the perfect balance that will get Olive into remission and the GOOD vet says she needs to go totally off the raw and onto the DM for it to work in balance with her insulin. Said she will NEVER regulate unless she goes 100% DM. Then there's the holistic vet who, even though I haven't spoken to her yet, the tech told me that she wasn't at all thinking that the vet will like the fact we have Olive on DM. So I've been rattling my head so much I feel like a maraca. And the only thing I know for certain is that Olive is not regulating. Off to test. Be right back.
 
She's 94+5.5 so looks like she's on the rise now. She gets her mini meal at +6 so she'll be going up steadily now. She doesn't normally rise until between +9 and shot time, so I hope she doesn't bounce too high by then. If anything, we kept her surfing for longer than she's used to.
 
That’s a nice surf! The honey you gave wears off fairly quickly, so might give a little of her regular food now, to get there when the sugar wears off. Maybe just a tsp.
 
That’s a nice surf! The honey you gave wears off fairly quickly, so might give a little of her regular food now, to get there when the sugar wears off. Maybe just a tsp.
Normally I'd give her the standard 4tsp (that's her mini meals spread out every 3 hours as we're working on getting some weight back on her) at +6 so should I only give 1 tsp with hopes of keeping her BG down a little longer?
 
She got that drop of honey at +4.75 along with a tsp of food at that time. Is it okay then to feed her normal amount at +6 then or should I only do a tsp to keep her surfing longer? She'll eat again at +9 for the last time before the AMPS
 
Also, no rush, just a housekeeping item, but if you can update your thread title with the new numbers that helps others see where we are at :)
 
I finally got Olive to finish her food. She had me running all over the house pleading with her to just eat a bit more until she was finally done. I'm zonked! She was 93+6 so just 1 point down from the +5.5
 
Also, no rush, just a housekeeping item, but if you can update your thread title with the new numbers that helps others see where we are at :)
I always try and keep that updated as I go along. Olive has so much testing done I'm running out of thread space. lol. I know I need 2 consecutive tests to show she's on the rise before it's safe to stop testing for a while. I'm so tired. I wonder if it's safe now to get a few hours of sleep before I test/feed again at +9.
 
Yeah, that’s the honey/carb wear off :confused: Imagining you running around with a plate of food...been there :joyful:

Did she eat a good snack? The 4 tsps?
 
HA! Love that!

she is surfing well...and ate well...ideally yes, we would want a more rising number, but 93 is a safe number and place to be.
 
You could always leave a little more bonus food out while you nap...just in case :)

I won’t be up for your +9 and it can be pretty quiet on the board at that time.

@Bandit's Mom is usually arriving at that time. You can tag if you need?
 
If there's anything I'm grateful for tonight, it's that I went with my gut in the end and didn't stick with the 1/8th increase she's had for the last 2 cycles. I can't even imagine how tonight would have gone had I followed through with that plan of action. Normally that .67 caliper reading just isn't enough and she stays high all cycle, but tonight it faired well.
ideally yes, we would want a more rising number, but 93 is a safe number and place to be
Okay then, I'll catch a nap then. Because it's half raw food, I can't leave anything out unfortunately.
I won’t be up for your +9 and it can be pretty quiet on the board at that time.

@Bandit's Mom is usually arriving at that time. You can tag if you need?
How do you tag someone? That's one thing I haven't learned on here yet.
You have done a really good job with this surf! Woot!
Thank you. I appreciate the kind words.
 
To tag someone you type the @ symbol and then start typing their screen name. For me, for example, type @thebigfuzz Once you start typing, a drop down appears and you can click on whoever you want to tag :) the user gets an alert, just like replies and likes.

you can try it if you want. Try tagging me!
 
So is the idea that the more we can keep Olive in these lower numbers the more her body will acclimate and accept it? So in time, shooting low as I did tonight wouldn't/shouldn't drop her too low at that point in the game? I was just curious as to how this works. Because if we're fortunate enough to be able to shoot lower in the morning, will we always have to worry about her going too low or will she eventually steady? @thebigfuzz Did that work?
 
The more time she spends in the good safe numbers, the more her body will get used to them. The body doesn’t particularly like change and wants regularity internally. The bounces stop being so big or take so long to come back down, etc. Better regulation!

The idea is to shoot low to stay low, within the safety of the protocols, of course. I have heard that Lantus isn’t awesome at high numbers, but does a really good job at regulating lower, safe numbers. Though... members still have to ride the wave - even with regulated kitties. Once we figure out what works food wise to surf it...it gets more normal seeing our kitties in those safe numbers.

Check out @Butters & Lyla or @JaxBenji Spreadsheets... :D when you have time.
 
Ok, I will check those out tomorrow. I'm going to test her once more +7 just to make sure everything is good and then catch 2 hours sleep. I can surely attest to the fact Lantus STINKS at higher numbers. Olive's a pro at staying high and has given me loads of data with that range. I liked shooting at 150 much better than 130, but then again Olive is coming down from yet another bounce too.

I actually read that to my hubby last night as I printed it out. It is fantastic! Really helped us put things into perspective. Good night, Tanya!
 
Hi Robyn! I'll look for your new condo when you get it going but looks like you had a good night (just no sleep :)). Looks like you got lots of good info from @thebigfuzz too! Also, just wanted to quickly comment on the calipers -
Normally that .67 caliper reading just isn't enough and she stays high all cycle, but tonight it faired well.
Remember, the old depot was in play tonight. When Jax gets reductions, I have to keep an eye following cycle to keep him above 50 (I'm following TR). It can take I think 4 cycles for the old depot to level out with the new dose. Another thing to keep in mind, a dose that worked (or didn't work) before at a point in time may not work the same at a different point in time. It's not uncommon for cats to go up and down the dosing scale. Jax got up to 2.25U and now we are at 1U - I always find it interesting to go back and see how the same dose worked at different points.

Those were two beautiful cycles :bighug: Hope you can catch a nap today :bighug:
 
Remember, the old depot was in play tonight. When Jax gets reductions, I have to keep an eye following cycle to keep him above 50 (I'm following TR). It can take I think 4 cycles for the old depot to level out with the new dose. Another thing to keep in mind, a dose that worked (or didn't work) before at a point in time may not work the same at a different point in time. It's not uncommon for cats to go up and down the dosing scale. Jax got up to 2.25U and now we are at 1U - I always find it interesting to go back and see how the same dose worked at different points.

Those were two beautiful cycles :bighug: Hope you can catch a nap today :bighug:
I didn't realize that about the old depot driving the new reduction. That's good to know for the future.
Sorry I wasn’t around last night but you were well taken care of. Nice healing cycle and never under 50 so never close to hypo.
No worries. I was definitely well cared for last night and I so appreciated it. Just started a new convo....
 
Back
Top