10/9 Oberon PMPS 126, +1 98, +1.5 138, +2 136, +3 119, +4 166, +5 229

Best with the trial :bighug: today.

Hopefully, with control of the diabetes the Triaditis will subside. They know Triaditis can aggravate DM but DM is also able to lead to increased Spec fPLI & other issues, so sometimes it is hard to know for sure what the exact direction of the relationship is or if there is one at all. The one thing they do know is inflammation does lead to increase BG.

I’m attaching a link to a recently published comprehensive review of Triaditis. The lead author, Dr Lidbury, is based out of TAMUs GI Lab and does a lot of the research pertaining to feline pancreatitis as well as Triaditis. Hopefully, you won’t need it and the inflammation subsides with control of the DM. I know you like the science so this will be a good read.

https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/32682546/
 
Thanks! I'll read that later... might have to do some digging to get the full article.

Huge drop at +2... don't know whether it was actually from the R or if he was just going to drop because of his usual variability. He started the day pretty high.
 
Thanks! I'll read that later... might have to do some digging to get the full article.

Huge drop at +2... don't know whether it was actually from the R or if he was just going to drop because of his usual variability. He started the day pretty high.

This is where that Libre may come in handy....I’m many states away so you can’t slap me :cool:.....well not physically any way :D!!

Will you see a bunch of high #s...yes, but you will also be able to see the speed and direction of what is or isn’t happening in between those BG checks and when you add that R. If you had it prior to the R, you would have the trends pre R to compared to the addition of R, even with the variability. I totally get this has been and can be done without the Libre, but with it, you simply get a lot more info to work with to help with decision making.

I had to beat the Libre drum one more time :facepalm: but only because a brilliant endo did the same with me and I am thankful and forever grateful that he did because it helped us immensely. My luck is I beat the drum and your first Libre falls off...LOL...probably not but that would be my luck :joyful::arghh:!
 
This is where that Libre may come in handy....I’m many states away so you can’t slap me :cool:.....well not physically any way :D!!

Will you see a bunch of high #s...yes, but you will also be able to see the speed and direction of what is or isn’t happening in between those BG checks and when you add that R. If you had it prior to the R, you would have the trends pre R to compared to the addition of R, even with the variability. I totally get this has been and can be done without the Libre, but with it, you simply get a lot more info to work with to help with decision making.

I had to beat the Libre drum one more time :facepalm: but only because a brilliant endo did the same with me and I am thankful and forever grateful that he did because it helped us immensely. My luck is I beat the drum and your first Libre falls off...LOL...probably not but that would be my luck :joyful::arghh:!

LOL! Yeah, I'm still considering it but right now I've got too many balls in the air. But I haven't forgotten about it!

That sure is a nice lemon tree to see!

Yep! Though if he stays this low I won't be giving him any R tonight... right now while we get more data my cutoff is 300. We'll see whether this is a brief dip or a deeper dive.
 
upload_2020-10-9_17-28-59.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2020-10-9_17-28-59.jpeg
    upload_2020-10-9_17-28-59.jpeg
    52.1 KB · Views: 83
Good luck with today's R trial. And I can't believe your vet said Oberon's anemia could be from testing Oberon's BG too much. :facepalm:

Tell me about it. And this was the internist! Just called my regular vet to schedule a tech appt to run the CBC again on Monday, so we'll know soon what those numbers are actually doing. (Also, I found a home hematocrit tester online and so far have resisted the urge to buy a new toy...)
 
And 138 at +10.5 (which is probably -1.25 rather than -1.5 since I shot slightly late this morning and should get back on track this evening.)

This is clearly one of his "normal" dips rather than the R itself, but I wonder whether the R facilitated it. I'll be interested to see where he is in an hour or so... might need Lantus dosing advice if he's still heading down.
 
Morning data: +9 361, AMPS 425/2.8, +2 346, +3 319, +3.75 304, +5.5 254, +7 203, +9 166, +10.5 138

122 at PMPS and still heading down, but slowing. Should I go ahead and shoot the whole dose? Shoot low to stay low, and all that. Based on past trends he's likely to bounce back up soon, but during his last dip he stayed low (70-90ish) for about 12 hours. That was at 4.5 U. If that was the antibodies temporarily letting go and he went that low at 4.5 U, I'm a little concerned about what might happen now that he's at 6.5 U. Any thoughts, @Wendy&Neko?

ETA: I have MC and HC food and karo, and can stay up with him if necessary.
 
Woot on the ketones!

Can’t say it’s a bounce breaking cycle, maybe an initial overwhelming of the antibodies due to the new dose, plus R.

What does your gut say?
 
I'm inclined to go for it, or maybe shoot a reduced dose. I don't want to drain the depot. And I expect him to come back up soon, but then again he took a long time last time. I'm still trying to reinterpret his dips now that I know about his IAA.
 
The last four hours he only went down about 40 points, it wasn’t a huge drop. So, not a steamroller down. You can always stall 15 and see what he’s doing.
 
I just calculated drop per hour for each interval since this morning. Definitely slowing. (12 points per hour right now, 18 before that; rate peaked at 34 earlier) I'll stall a little and then check one more time and probably go for it.
 
The drop rate isn’t a perfect indicator of course, but I would be more concerned if he was still plunging. Still OK to shoot, but might be an active cycle.
 
126 20 min later, so I went for it. Could just be meter variance or something, but now I'm not as concerned.

ETA: I'll check him at +1 to see where he's heading.
 
I was just thinking that. His regular FF is 2-3%. I have 6%, 12%, 15%, and 20% on hand. Maybe a spoonful of the 12%?
 
Whew indeed! Surf it Oberon. :cool:

Might not be responding too fast tonight. Canadian Thanksgiving is this weekend. Which just means DH and me due to COVID, but making enough for a drive by drop off at my parents tomorrow.
 
Happy Thanksgiving! I think we should be in good shape now. Not sure whether this is a food bump or he's actually coming up, but either way we're good. If he surfs in the blues for a while I'll be really happy. I suspect he's heading back for his favorite color, though.

When I was in college we decided to visit Niagara Falls one weekend... had no idea it was Canadian Thanksgiving and everything was pretty much shut down. We still had a good time, though.
 
166 at +4... looks like he may be starting to climb back up, but it could also be a food bump. So far, this is the second longest run he's had in the blues and greens.

My daughter left a fuzzy scarf on the kitchen table and he's snuggling with it...
 
229 at +5. Definitely bouncing back up. If he follows his usual pattern, he'll hit the 400s for a cycle or so and then come back down to the mid 300s. But at this point, who knows?

@Wendy&Neko, if he's over 300 in the morning do you think I should run another R trial (0.75 again; this morning's trial coincided with a big dip so I couldn't tell what it actually did)? Or wait until he settles down from the dip/bounce? With this dip he'll be staying at 6.5 U of Lantus for a while longer.
 
R is a great tool for helping with bounce control. If he's over 300, I would definitely try 0.75 units. It would be good so see what 0.75 can do.
 
Back
Top