10/9 Loudogg AMPS 107 - Decreased dose this am

Amanda and a Loudogg

Member Since 2017
October 9, 2018 Condo

Good morning all!
Needless to say, I was a cranky mamma bean yesterday morning. It was like a Monday on steroids. After I got my anti-morning-vomit rant over with, I went to work trying to come up with other ideas to help him. One thing I was able to do last night was I raised Lou's dish with a cereal box. He seemed to either like it or not care enough to fuss, so I put one under Bella's as well. I'm curious to know if that will do any good. Still no vomit this morning, but we've got time. :facepalm: :p

Lou had a fantastic cycle last night! He surfed beautifully! I had set an alarm to check a +5, but it was still snoozing/going off when Caleb came home at +5.5. He said he'd just check him at +6 and I got to go back to sleep. I was surprised with the 41, but even more surprised when Caleb told me he gave Lou 1/2 can of 20% HC (he meant to do 1/4 can, but you know how it is with that gravy food). When I looked over the BG book this morning, I was shocked to see he still surfed after all that HC food. So even though it doesn't follow my protocol (1x under 40 or 3x under 50), I went ahead and decreased his dose to 2.5u this morning. I can only imagine how low he would have gone or how long he would have stayed low if Caleb hadn't given him so much HC food. I may regret it later, but I'd rather keep the kid safe for now and increase later if necessary. Please let me know your thoughts so I know if I behaved rationally or if I overreacted. :oops:

I hope you all have a wonderful day today and your kitties stay safe out there. Sending vines of healing, comfort, and love to all those kitties and beans in need. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
See how the dose reduction goes, but if those numbers look like they are sliding back, don't be afraid to call it a failed reduction and take Lou back up.
Bet Lou thought he'd died and gone to heaven when Caleb gave him 1/2 can of HC.

FWIW, when George got into the low 40's 20% on it's own didn't do it, I used to have to sometimes add a drop of honey to the 20% or some 28% which I can get over here in Europe.

Hope the raising the bowls works vines for a puke free day.
 
October 9, 2018 Condo

Good morning all!
Needless to say, I was a cranky mamma bean yesterday morning. It was like a Monday on steroids. After I got my anti-morning-vomit rant over with, I went to work trying to come up with other ideas to help him. One thing I was able to do last night was I raised Lou's dish with a cereal box. He seemed to either like it or not care enough to fuss, so I put one under Bella's as well. I'm curious to know if that will do any good. Still no vomit this morning, but we've got time. :facepalm: :p

Lou had a fantastic cycle last night! He surfed beautifully! I had set an alarm to check a +5, but it was still snoozing/going off when Caleb came home at +5.5. He said he'd just check him at +6 and I got to go back to sleep. I was surprised with the 41, but even more surprised when Caleb told me he gave Lou 1/2 can of 20% HC (he meant to do 1/4 can, but you know how it is with that gravy food). When I looked over the BG book this morning, I was shocked to see he still surfed after all that HC food. So even though it doesn't follow my protocol (1x under 40 or 3x under 50), I went ahead and decreased his dose to 2.5u this morning. I can only imagine how low he would have gone or how long he would have stayed low if Caleb hadn't given him so much HC food. I may regret it later, but I'd rather keep the kid safe for now and increase later if necessary. Please let me know your thoughts so I know if I behaved rationally or if I overreacted. :oops:

I hope you all have a wonderful day today and your kitties stay safe out there. Sending vines of healing, comfort, and love to all those kitties and beans in need. :bighug::bighug::bighug:

So hard doing this dance, huh? I probably would have dropped the dose too...IF I couldn't be home to montior - otherwise I'd have kept it the same - everything depends on your ability to monitor - better to be safe than sorry if you're not home...save that drama for when you're there... :)
 
I hope the raised bowl works for you. I meant to pop on yesterday and suggest it (worked for my civvie). but Thanksgiving got in the way.

As for dose, I'm a literal kind of person. I thought you were doing 3 times under 50 or once under 40. I only see the one time 41 on this dose. ;) It's an IAA kind of thing. You can always see how he does, but as Gill says, be aggressive on returning up dose if you need to.
 
Back
Top