? 10/9 Jake AMPS 65 +2 58 +4 52 +6 52 +8 54 +11 68

Cloe & Jake

Member Since 2025
Hi FDMB

Jake has had a break through this week with a sea of green 🥳 Is it worth trying a dose decrease tonight? His vet suggested a 0.5 unit decrease (from 4 to 3.5u) but I was thinking a decrease of 0.25 units. Or would you hold this dose?

Thanks for your help
 
If you are following TR, he hasn't earned a reduction yet. Here's the sticky on Reductions:

Reminder: *earning* reductions and starting OTJ trials

Newly diagnosed diabetics - less than one year since diagnosis
  • reduction *earned* after a single drop below 50 mg/dL and following TR, or
  • reduction *earned* after 3 drops between 40 - 50 mg/dL on three separate days for kitties who have shown they do not hold reductions well and following TR, or
  • reduction *earned* when the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL) and stays under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week and following TR.

Thus far he's looking great on this dose - spending a lot of time in healing greens! If he drops below 50 (2.8), he earns a reduction. I see he's come close to that a couple of times. And yes, when he earns a reduction, you would go down by 0.25U to 3.75U.
 
Back
Top