10/9 Doodle AMPS 299 +3/271 PMPS 278

Status
Not open for further replies.

JenniferF

Member Since 2014
increased dose to .75u.

had a hard time getting him up and to eat. Seems when his numbers are high he is very lethargic. He was this way prior with high numbers. When he goes low he jumps all around.
 
Re: 10/9 Doodle AMPS 299 dose increase to .75u

Sorry to hear Doodle is off his food! Is sure makes it much more difficult to know what to do!

One thing though...remember that Lantus needs to be given at a consistent dose for at least 5 days (since he hadn't had any for awhile, his depot is empty so you're having to start from scratch at filling it) so you need to stick to the same dose every 12 hours for at least 10 cycles (unless he drops below 50) so you can truly see what effect that dose is going to have

Sure hope he feels better soon and will eat better for you!
 
Ordinarily, the 5-7 days that Chris is talking about it accurate, but that wouldn't apply in the situation where you've had a failed reduction. If you had reduced Doodle's dose (oh that is the darned cutest name to say!) because he'd gotten below 50 and had earned the reductions, then you would assume the previous dose was too high.

In your case, though, Doodle was getting good numbers on 1.75 and you reduced because he became ill and wasn't eating. It wasn't that his dose was too high. To me, that would just say to go back to the last good dose.

From the TR Protocol page:
If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose as soon as you see kitty's numbers trending upwards. You don't have to hold the reduced dose for a certain number of cycles before taking the dose right back up. The guidelines listed under the topic "Increasing the dose" do not apply to a failed reduction.

I do think Chris is correct in that you're not going to be able to see exactly what the dose will do until he's been back on insulin for 5ish days and the depot has rebuilt. It would have emptied in the days without insulin. But i think it would be wasting time with him in high numbers to delay on going back to his last good dose.

I'm a little concerned about your comments in his ss today, that he's hiding and sneezing. He may need a vet visit. That doesn't sound good, so if he isn't eating like normal, you still may be giving reduced doses if you are concerned about his appy.
 
His poop was much better this morning, not loose at all, but still sneezy. His appetite is good for the times he wants to eat but in the event I would need to get him to eat (ie-hypo) I don't think he would.

I am calling the vet today to see if I should bring him in or just get a stronger antibiotic. He clearly is uncomfortable with the sneezing, he keeps pawing at his nose.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top