10/9 Chester's PMPS 506,+4=351,+6=385

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jaye and Chester

Member Since 2010
Well, that 400 did it for me. Chester never even saw the 200s last night either, so up goes the dose back to a skinny 1.5. Happy today, though. Playing with squeaky mouse and scaring the dog (the dog thinks squeaky mouse is real).

editing in: Oops! Should read skinny 1.25.
 
Re: Dose Increase 10/9 Chester's AMPS 400

Hi Jaye...you logged in sk1.25u on your SS....and wrote sk1.50u....just to clarify, you went back up to the last good dose, correct? :razz:
Come on down Chester....good luck with the additional insulin. Hope Chester will get back into nicer numbers soon!

ETA: here is your link to yesterday's condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=26908
 
Re: Dose Increase 10/9 Chester's AMPS 400

hi, guys! i love dog's...but sometimes i really think they were designed as a playtoy for the true emperors...da kittens...

celi & binks
 
Re: Dose Increase 10/9 Chester's AMPS 400,+4=376

My goodness! I must have been extra out of it this morning! Yes, Chester did get the skinny 1.25, although with my +4 reading, I'm not too impressed!

Thanks for adding the condo link from yesterday. I was a zombie this morning!
 
Re: Dose Increase 10/9 Chester's AMPS 400,+4=376

~O) ~O) ~O) Me thinks you'll need more of these today. LOL

Good luck with the increase in insulin. I hope that Chester sees better #'s today.
 
Re: Dose Increase 10/9 Chester's AMPS 400,+4=376

:lol: No problema baby! Hey, did anyone ever mention the word "patience" to you? Well, I don't have much of it myself, and I don't like to tell people that they have to be patient after an increase, so I am not going to mention it now. Others might just come along and start talking about it though. :roll: But I won't. Not today anyway. Just warning you....
:lol:
 
Re: Dose Increase 10/9 Chester's AMPS 400,+4=376

Coffee....more important than oxygen to the parents of diabetic kitties (and dogs, for that matter). Patience....HIGHLY overrated!

This whole skinny/fat/regular thing (sounds like I'm ordering from Starbucks) is frustrating because it's so inaccurate. While I think that I gave him an increase, there's no guarantee that I really did, you know? Hubby also just informed me that Chester had a nibble of kibble yesterday...this coming from the man who things a "small tsp" is two heaping tablespoons, so I really don't know where we are right now.

Chester is feeling fine...playing and kissing and generally making his funny little presence known. He's a lot of kitty in a little package.
 
Re: 10/9 Chester's +4=376,+11=481, PMPS 506

Well Barb...are you absolutely SURE that he did NOT get any kibble today?
If you are sure, then take a really deep deep breath. He will settle down now with the insulin.
Try not to worry right now. You are doing all the right things. Just stay the course girl!!
(((Jaye))) This is a tough dance...there isn't too much that is easy about it.

Maybe have a little talk with DH ...
does he know the importance of the diet in this FD? Maybe stress it to him one more time. Not being accusatory or anything...it's just that you said that he mentioned kibble to you....
And feed him as you normally do...feed the highs too (as you do with the lows)
Trying to think of something positive to leave you with. How's this:
boy, Chester has such a strong Liver!! :roll:
Is that better? :-|

don't forget that the AT is registering higher than the human meter...
ETA: Sometime they do get a little wonky with an increase. that is not what we like to see, but it does happen...
 
Re: 10/9 Chester's +4=376,+11=481, PMPS 506

I'm pretty sure that this was a kibble-free day...and, strong liver aside...I'm STILL scared to death. I'm not going to test him until about +5 because I don't think I can handle seeing what kind of number he comes up with in a food spike considering where he started.

I'll admit, it is easier when DH is gone for the week in the sense that I only have to watch that I don't leave the lid off the kibble...of course, then I only have myself to blame.

I'm hoping by morning I'll see some light at the end of this tunnel. He had a good appetite for dinner, thank goodness. Wonder how often I should test tonight?

I think ostriches have got a good idea...bury my head in the sand and hope these numbers go away.
 
Re: 10/9 Chester's +4=376,+11=481, PMPS 506

Why ot try a +4 tonight. that gives him 4 hours to lower the numbers with the food onboard.
Short of putting them on a treadmill to get some heavy duty exercise in (that sometimes lowers the numbers), there isn't much you can do lower the BGs. Food raise when they go low, but the higher ones, well, they just take some time to work themselves out.

When was his last dental? And when did you have blood work done?
Do you test for ketones? The higher numbers give reason to test just to be sure nothing is present.
 
Re: 10/9 Chester's +4=376,+11=481, PMPS 506

Remember, it is a number. First, changing dose too often (lantus likes consistency), kibble, stress, all contribute to numbers. I realize you are not comfortable shooting low numbers with being gone all day. We have all been there. I finally isolated my sugarkitty so I could use the timed feeder and know the other 7 were not eating her food. Hang in there.
 
Re: 10/9 Chester's +4=376,+11=481, PMPS 506

I isolated him a couple of times this week and saw that, indeed, he wasn't very interested in the food. It had been nibbled on, but wasn't depleted like when his buddy was in with him. He had bloodwork this summer when we had him in the ER for whatever it was that was causing him distress. After almost $1000 we never did find out what that was. The ER vet seemed to believe that his entire abdomen was riddled with cancer, only to find that the biopsies (several of them) showed nothing. It was immediately after that that he started to improve, gain weight, etc.

Dental...I'd have to check on that. We have so many cats and it seems that one is always going in for a dental. Or maybe it just seems like we're always paying for a dental!

Ketones...he's never shown them, but I can test for them. If he doesn't pee for me I did purchase one of the Precision Xtra meter (with their crazy expensive strips). I'll try to get a reading on him, but frankly...I'm petrified. This is my "ostrich in the sand" reaction to life. I'm rather famous for it, unfortunately.

Okay...now I'm starting to get scared that this is more than just a bounce. I'm praying that a trip to the ER vet isn't in the cards for tonight! His behavior is normal and he ate a good meal.
 
Re: 10/9 Chester's +11=481, PMPS 506,+4=351

Chester had a +4 of 351....still ugly but much better than the 506 he had a pre-shot! I was tempted to switch over to the ReliOn meter tonight, just to make myself feel better about his numbers! :-D

I'm giving him a small (1 heaping teaspoon) snack of LC as I normally do before bedtime. Will set the clock for +6 and see what I get.

Does that sound safe?
 
Re: 10/9 Chester's +11=481, PMPS 506,+4=351

That sounds perfectly safe and reasonable.

So here's a reality... If you had re-tested, you might have gotten a number in the reds. If you look at Gabby's condo, she spiked into the reds at PMPS tonight. I haven't seen a red on her SS since May. It happens. I hate it -- as do you, but it's one number. Don't panic. I agree with Barb/Tuffy, shifting around the dose will only cause numbers to be wonky. What I would suggest for the future is that when you need to increase or decrease you do so in the amounts specified in the protocol. We really don't know yet whether Chester needs fat or skinny doses. For now, I would work in 0.25u increments so you then have the data to know whether a fat or skinny dose is a better strategy.
 
Re: 10/9 Chester's +11=481, PMPS 506,+4=351

Do you mean that I might have gotten a red because of the normal variation in meter/tests? I should have done that...would have kept that disgusting black off my Chester's spreadsheet! I like the idea of not giving fat or skinny doses. It's just too inconsistent for my eyes to accurately measure and, frankly, the .25 is hard enough. I honestly couldn't say for certain that his fat 1 and his skinny 1.25 weren't the same dose.

I worry, though, what to do when it seems like 1.25 is too much but 1.0 is too little. What does one do? Put a little bit of HC gravy with his LC meals? I have no clue.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top