10/9 Brownie Oldtimer AMPS 200

Status
Not open for further replies.

Patricia&Brownie

Member Since 2010
Just an oldtimer report on Brownie - he is doing well, even if he gave me a high PS for today (that looks bad on our monthly posting, Brownie!!). I have reduced his dose from 0.75u to a fat 0.5 and his numbers have been better. I had suspected for a while that he was on too much insulin when he was going really low (a few 30's) and then bouncing really high. He's getting more arthritic and spends most of his time on his heated bed, but he still snuggles a bit and still enjoys the garden every once in a while. He turned 19 in late August (along with Simpkin), so he may be the oldest Lantus kitty (at least on LL). He's due for his 6-month bloodwork, but I hate taking him to the vet unless he's got a problem - always worried he'll pick up something... He's still on subq fluids every 2 days for his CRF and loves his Liv-a-little chicken treats that he gets during the fluids. In fact, about the only times he really meows loudly are for his treats when he sees the fluid bag and right after he poops! Guess those are things worth meowing about when you're over 100!!! Happy Caturday LL...
 
Re: 10/9 Brownie AMPS 200

Hi Patricia!!!! It's so good to "see" you and Brownie! I hope Brownie and Simpkin had nice birthdays!! 19 is certainly something to be proud of.

So glad he's doing well! My older girl, Squeekers, spends almost all of her time in her heated bed or on a warm lap. Those kitties have the right idea....I love heated beds! :-D

Take good care!
 
Re: 10/9 Brownie AMPS 200

Happy belated 19th birthday to Brownie and Simpkin! So nice to her that he loves his heated bed and the garden too!
You are doing an amazing job Patricia! :thumbup
 
I love seeing 19th birthdays!!!

I would love to hear more about this heated bed. Or should I say, Kitty wants me to learn more about it. Heated rice socks don't last through the night!
 
Happy belated birfday, Brownie and Simpkin. :mrgreen:

It's good to see a Brownie condo. I'm happy to see so many oldtimers here on this sad day.
 
Happy belated birthday!! My George made it past 20 and he still had very much of the kitten in him. It's good to hear that Brownie is doing well.
 
Happy belated birthday Brownie and Simpkin! It;'s good to hear that Brownie is doing so well. Hope to see you more often
 
Brownie, it is so good to see you and your Bean too. Hope you and Simpkin had a nice birthday. Did you have a cake with dancing bears? Hope all is well with you and yours Patricia. Good to see your post. Happy Caturday.
 
Well, it's certainly nice to see you guys around LL today and thanks for stopping in Spot's condo. Spot wanted me to tell you that drooler fuds is indeed quite the tasty treat, thank you very much :lol:

Happy Belated birthday to Brownie and Simpkins! Wow, 19 years young!! WooHoo
 
Hi Patricia! Good to hear from you again.
I remember staying up late with you and Jojo and writing silly limericks to keep you awake.

So with that in mind:

     Ah, here is Patricia's boy Brownie,
     Who might be the oldest in Lantus townie.
           After he poops, he's so sweet
           Then meows for his treat,
     And we all laughed 'till we fell downie.
 
Well, we're off to bedfordshire - thanks for the limerick, CD! I, too, remember that night well (and quite a few more...) and I saved the entire posting, limerick and all! It was people like you who gave me the strength (and the laughs) to be able to perservere and get Brownie regulated. Thanks for all the comments today - I enjoyed "visiting" with everyone - just wish it wasn't so sad here in LL... Bear was the only other REALLY old kitty here (although I think Jojo has a few geezers as well). We'll miss Bear so much... Night, LL - kiss all your kitties goodnight and hug them tight!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top