10/9 Beenie, 57 AMPS, 112 PMPS

Status
Not open for further replies.

Beenie (GA)

Member Since 2017
Last condo

Waiting for Beenie to rise. Not sure how long I should wait. I have to read the stalling stickies. Plus if she goes up to day 65 or 70 what the heck do I shoot? I know she earned a reduction.

I can't wait to go to sleep:arghh:
 
I'd bring the dose down to either 12.5 or 12.0u. With high dose kitties, there's a lot more nuance based on your knowledge of your cat. The challenge with an acro kitty is whether the tumor is revving down in which case, food may stimulate the pancreas. OTOH, with IAA, you need to not reduce too far or you lose momentum with regard to breaking through the antibodies. As far as stalling, you might want to see if numbers are going to rise.

It may help to remember that it takes about 2 hrs for Lantus onset and once you shoot, you're feeding which also causes numbers to rise. Do you need to stick to your shot schedule? And, of course, if you shoot, do you have a stock of strips and HC food?

I doubt @Wendy&Neko or @julie & punkin (ga) are up. @Sandy and Black Kitty may be awake.
 
Hey There Michelle. Congrats on the reducie. Most of us will shoot anything over a 50 if you can monitor and have plenty of supplies. He is likely to start bouncing up from those nice lower numbers .

Glad Sienne gave some guidance with the dose as I am out of my league with High Dose Kitties.
 
I'd bring the dose down to either 12.5 or 12.0u. With high dose kitties, there's a lot more nuance based on your knowledge of your cat. The challenge with an acro kitty is whether the tumor is revving down in which case, food may stimulate the pancreas. OTOH, with IAA, you need to not reduce too far or you lose momentum with regard to breaking through the antibodies. As far as stalling, you might want to see if numbers are going to rise.

It may help to remember that it takes about 2 hrs for Lantus onset and once you shoot, you're feeding which also causes numbers to rise. Do you need to stick to your shot schedule? And, of course, if you shoot, do you have a stock of strips and HC food?

I doubt @Wendy&Neko or @julie & punkin (ga) are up. @Sandy and Black Kitty may be awake.
I just tested again and she is at 51. I do have what I need, stips, karo, MC/HC foods. So she is still dropping and we're almost at the point where I have to steer. I'll wait and re-test in 15, correct?
 
Hey There Michelle. Congrats on the reducie. Most of us will shoot anything over a 50 if you can monitor and have plenty of supplies. He is likely to start bouncing up from those nice lower numbers .

Glad Sienne gave some guidance with the dose as I am out of my league with High Dose Kitties.
Thanks Bobbie. Beenie is usually on the rise by now but she went down a tad so not sure what to do. I'll stall and test again
 
Happy Anniversary. It looks like Beenie wants you to spend it with her. I hope she comes up soon so you can shoot and get a nap in. I'll be leaving for work in a few minutes. I'll try to check in once I get there. Good luck.

If you aren't getting answers quick enough, you can always put the question in your subject line and keep changing it as needed.
 
If you do shoot now, the food is going to help to bring him up and you do have a few hours before the Lantus onset. But, that said, I can't stay with you as I am getting ready for a early morning breakfast visit with a former co=worker.
 
If you do shoot now, the food is going to help to bring him up and you do have a few hours before the Lantus onset. But, that said, I can't stay with you as I am getting ready for a early morning breakfast visit with a former co=worker.
Thanks. I'm going to stall a bit more. I feel more comfortable seeing the numbers go up not down before I shoot.
 
I also withheld her +8.5 half can of FF in case I had to steer later in the cycle and I didn't want her to be full. She's definitely looking to eat now.
 
Hi Michelle.
I am not experienced with high dose kitties, but I have been around for a long time.
How flexible is your shot schedule? Can you be off by an hour, 2 hours, 3 hours? and slowly work your way back? We usually say to feed the forties, and if you continue to stall without feeding she may continue to go down, especially since you withheld her +8.5 feeding. I am thinking, if you can be off schedule for a couple of hours that you can feed now, and then wait without feeding for an hour and a half or so, and see if she is rising enough that you feel comfortable shooting. Just my opinion.
 
I see she's come up a little bit, now. Maybe you could stall some more now that she is out of the 40s and you can try testing again in 15 to 20 minutes and see if she has come up a bit more.
 
I see she's come up a little bit, now. Maybe you could stall some more now that she is out of the 40s and you can try testing again in 15 to 20 minutes and see if she has come up a bit more.
Hi. I fed and shot 12 U. In 15 minutes she rose from 47 to 57 so I felt like she was on the rise. She has a typical late nadir so fingers and paws crossed she continues to rise. I'll get a +1 and +2 .

Thank you !!!
 
Sorry -- I can't hang with you. I'm at work but wanted to check in.

I'm sure you know this but don't go to sleep until you're sure that Beanie is in safe numbers. The effects of food can wear off if, indeed, that's what's causing the rise. (FWIW, I've been known to mention that sleep is vastly overrated. That's based on my experience with Gabby who liked to keep me up until all hours and still expected to be fed at 5 AM.)
 
Hi there :cool:

I see Beannie has you on your toes!
Hi!! Yes she does have me on my toes. I'm kind of wishing now that I gave a BCS shot. She ate at AMPS and a small snack an hour before +3 so her numbers are still slightly food influenced.

Trying to grab a little snooze here and there. :rolleyes:
 
Last edited:
Hi Michelle! Good job shooting. Looks like he's on the rise. It's always scary shooting a number in the 50's. Bubba was a late nadir cat also ( a previous rodeo) which knowing that did make shooting a number that low easier.

And Happy Anniversary!
 
We have never had a run like this. I'm still nervous about what comes later as she used to have a later onset and late nadir. I'm going to cancel the sitter for tonight and dinner ressie. I was only going to keep it if she zoomed up but she clearly wants us home tonight. It's just as well, I slept for two hours just now and I still feel like a zombie so its best we go out and celebrate when I'm not so sleep deprived.

We were supposed to be away this weekend and I'm so glad our plans changed. We're supposed to go away next weekend and I just don't know how I can leave when this kind of thing can happen. May ask the pet sitter to stay over? I will think on it. By the weekend Beenie could be back to pinks for all I know. Well that's just it seems things can change with no notice.:banghead:
 
I'm sorry you have to reschedule your anniversary plans. :( Maybe you can just get a pizza delivered and watch a romantic movie, if you can stay awake. :p Hope Beenie stays higher tonight so you can get some rest.
 
I'm sorry you have to reschedule your anniversary plans. :( Maybe you can just get a pizza delivered and watch a romantic movie, if you can stay awake. :p Hope Beenie stays higher tonight so you can get some rest.
It's a crappy rainy day here so we're fine hangin' in our pj's. Pizza delivery sounds like a plan. We're going to watch our wedding video and then the Yankee game later.:)
baseball kitten.jpg
 
Happy Anniversary! Beenie had a great cycle (although a bit nerve wrecking)! I hope she continues to surf for you. Maybe the cabergoline finally kicked in! Fingers crossed the good numbers continue.
 
Happy Anniversary! Seems like cats have a great sense of timing. If only they would use it for good instead of evil... I hope this means the cabergoline is kicking in. Tagging @Doodles & Karen who might be able to share how she dealt with cycles like that. Doodles had IAA and I remember seeing some low cycles like that on his SS.
 
Personally, I would shoot 12. IAA can also mean long stretches of green like this. If you want to sleep, shoot a BCS to drain the depot and go to 12 in the AM.
 
I should've asked sooner:rolleyes:. I shot the 12, she was already at 112 so was now going up enough. I can always set alarms as needed.:facepalm: I have to get back on schedule, stalled one hour this morning.
 
Sorry your plans had to change but at least it is for a good reason (vs. emergency vet visit) :D

I hope she surfs for you and you enjoy your pizza and game :bighug:
 
She could also bounce and let you sleep. I found Neko would wait a cycle or two before getting on the trampoline. Paws crossed for an uneventful night.

Happy anniversary.
 
Sorry about your cancelled plans tonight but, you'll probably enjoy better when you aren't a zombie and when you don't have to worry about Beanie. And, sorry I called her a "him" in an earlier post. o_O
 
Happy Anniversary! We also spent our anniversary with Tiffany this past week. It was our 25th-we can take a trip later! Our furry babies bring us lots of joy! Tiffany and Beenie are very similar right now! We were in the exact same scenario 2 nights ago. Prayers for you!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top