10/9 Angie pmps=356 +4=167 - dose increase in morning?

Status
Not open for further replies.

GraceAndAngie

Member Since 2013
Good evening LL,

I've slept most of today - a few late nights having caught up on me. I have three questions for you. Firstly, I think Angie needs an increase in the morning. Would some one mind looking at our spreadsheet? Also, while you look at my spreadsheet, would you mind pointing out any places where you think I should have got another test? I want to test enough but I'm also trying to give her a break when it doesn't look like she's going to go low because she finds testing stressful. I find it hard to know when I should test more.

She was off her food a bit last night and this morning but was hungry with a vengeance this evening. I'm wondering about her teeth because she has bad breath. She had a dental in April and the vet said her teeth were in need of a clean but otherwise excellent. In your experience, could a problem have developed since then? I just feel like there is something going on other than diabetes but I don't have any specific symptoms to talk to the vet about. She just doesn't seem quite well. I might talk to our vet on Monday. Unfortunately our vet who does acupuncture is on maternity leave so help for Angie's back is limited - the last external anti-inflammatory we used in her ears was the thing that caused her hair to fall out and her ears to scab and scar. I'm worried about giving internal ones.

Recap
Today:
amps 338
+3 275
+9 233
pmps 356
+4 167

Yesterday's condo is here.

Thanks so much for your help.

Hugs and vines to kitties and beans in need. I am going (once again) to sleep.

Grace
 
I also wanted to say thanks to Carla and Julie for the visit, help and vines. I especially want to thank (((Liz))) for coming to visit us and sparing us some thought in your difficult time. Big hugs to you and Anne and most humbly to Her Majesty, The Queen of Everything.
 
Grace

I hope Angie is feeling better this morning from her injury. Pain can raise the BG. And yes, dental issues can develop quickly and potentially raise the BG. For what, specifically, are you thinking she might need an anti inflammatory? Arthritis issues, her possible back injury yesterday, dental inflammation?

Because you are an experienced CG, I think you could tweak the dose a bit with a little fat on it. It might help a bit with the bouncing. She has gotten some green on this dose and has gotten close to it as recently as 10/8. If she doesn't continue down into green tonight, I'd increase a bit tomorrow. While normally increases would be 0.25u, I'm just thinking of fattening it so she doesn't go overboard on you if you are not feeling well. It might be better just to try and fine tune to see how she responds.

I think you are doing a good job of testing. I'd just be sure to get at least one test in the evening cycle (before bed) just to see where she's headed and that when she's coming down, especially like tonight when it's a big drop, be sure you get another test, if possible, to make sure she has flattened or come up a bit. A great example is what you did on the night of 10/8. Well done, you!

Sending you both enormous hugs.
 
Good luck if you increase the dose. I hope you can get with the vet and find out if something else is going on.
 
i agree with marje - just a little bit more insulin might be helpful. it wouldn't hurt to try to keep her from earning a reduction by going below 50 for at least a few cycles. Sometimes doing that, even for just a couple of days, provides enough insulin to bring down some of those higher numbers.

Do you understand what i mean by that? After you increase, if she still is having some higher numbers in there, and if it looks like she's headed below 50 just carb her a bit to prevent her from going below 50 and needing a reduction. The caution when doing that is that it's ok to do as long as it is easy to do - a little extra carbs and voila, she stays over 50 and surfs along. If you are "fighting" low numbers and having to give her much in the way of carbs, then that tells you she really does need a reduction, so take it. You don't want to get an over-full depot and end up with her overdosed.

Does that make sense?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top