10/8 Yosh amps 435 +2.5 446 pmps 445

Looks like an increase is due
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
I don't know if I am comfortable doing that until I can test more on Friday. I have no idea what he's doing during the day this week.

There was also a 4u fur shot a couple days ago and he got squirrley again today. I'm not sure how much got in. I have to stop giving insulin as he eats. I need to wait until after and move him to the testing station.
 
Hope he'll get an increase soon..his numbers are too consistently too high.

Will he eat before / after the shot? Lantus takes a while to work...so if he's a grazer then it would be okay to give him his insulin. Luci is a grazer...she eats some...then comes back and eats more...and then eventually cleans her dish out...over the course of an hour or so...
 
Hope he'll get an increase soon..his numbers are too consistently too high.

Will he eat before / after the shot? Lantus takes a while to work...so if he's a grazer then it would be okay to give him his insulin. Luci is a grazer...she eats some...then comes back and eats more...and then eventually cleans her dish out...over the course of an hour or so...
He will eat whenever. I am so confused about the blues and yellows he was getting. And I am sure he went yellow a few days ago after my +5 305. How can I increase if I can't test during the day? How do I know the high numbers aren't him bouncing, and then an increased dose will make him bounce further?
 
From your SS, it appears that you're getting enough tests currently - and they're all quite high. Yellows are not dangerously low for Yoshi. Even blues would not be anywhere near hypo numbers. IF you start to see yellows and blues when you do test, it only means the dose is starting to become effective. Make sure there is food available for him when you're not there to monitor....a lot of people who work outside the home get a 1 and 2+ to see which way kitty is headed...and leave food accordingly...

I don't think these high numbers that you're seeing consistently could be considered bouncing...he's just high...and an increase would help....just go slow..only .25 at a time. Give him the increase when you 'can' monitor to ease your mind. Every 7 days you can increase him so perhaps weekends are your best best ... keep getting the tests you're getting and keep posting to your SS so we can see if there's any movement...
 
From your SS, it appears that you're getting enough tests currently - and they're all quite high. Yellows are not dangerously low for Yoshi. Even blues would not be anywhere near hypo numbers. IF you start to see yellows and blues when you do test, it only means the dose is starting to become effective. Make sure there is food available for him when you're not there to monitor....a lot of people who work outside the home get a 1 and 2+ to see which way kitty is headed...and leave food accordingly...

I don't think these high numbers that you're seeing consistently could be considered bouncing...he's just high...and an increase would help....just go slow..only .25 at a time. Give him the increase when you 'can' monitor to ease your mind. Every 7 days you can increase him so perhaps weekends are your best best ... keep getting the tests you're getting and keep posting to your SS so we can see if there's any movement...
Thanks. I've been coming in late to work so I can get a +2.5. That's all I can do right now, plus test the way I have been. I will need dosing advice for his dental, which I will post in the main forum for more eyes. I would like to know if some people got better insulin results after the dental.
 
I would like to know if some people got better insulin results after the dental.

You could also post that in your condo title here: A lot of people have seen much better numbers after dental cleanings! It always seems that there is a lot of bacteria and some times infection going on in our cats teeth! And it's really difficult to get them to clean their teeth...so those dentals are really very pivotal!
 
From your SS, it appears that you're getting enough tests currently - and they're all quite high. Yellows are not dangerously low for Yoshi. Even blues would not be anywhere near hypo numbers. IF you start to see yellows and blues when you do test, it only means the dose is starting to become effective. Make sure there is food available for him when you're not there to monitor....a lot of people who work outside the home get a 1 and 2+ to see which way kitty is headed...and leave food accordingly...

I don't think these high numbers that you're seeing consistently could be considered bouncing...he's just high...and an increase would help....just go slow..only .25 at a time. Give him the increase when you 'can' monitor to ease your mind. Every 7 days you can increase him so perhaps weekends are your best best ... keep getting the tests you're getting and keep posting to your SS so we can see if there's any movement...
Totally agree
 
How do I know the high numbers aren't him bouncing, and then an increased dose will make him bounce further?
Don't worry about the highs from bouncing. Some cats will bounce from yellow and most will bounce from perfectly safe blues if they aren't use to them. An increase dose will mean lower numbers, but could still be very safe numbers. Yes he will bounce to those "new to him" lower numbers, but that's OK. Seeing those lower numbers is the only way he'll get used to them.

You've done enough testing, even after the fur shot, to know he needs a 0.5 unit increase.

Typically with a dental you will shoot a half dose the morning of the dental. Depending on what anesthesia induction drug the vet uses, it may or may not have a BG lowering effect. I suggest testing when he gets home that day, and then at PMPS. You might want to be cautious if he's coming down to PMPS. However, given the high numbers Yoshi is in, it's likely not to be a worry.

If there are extractions at the dental, or even if not, there is likely to be some inflammation that will keep the numbers higher for a while. I found it took something like a week and a half before Neko's numbers showed any change.
 
He will need extractions. She quoted 3, possibly 4.

I am concerned in that he is not going to eat from 10p until after the surgery (which is at noon). I can’t pick him up until 7pm. I am unsure I want to shoot at all. I am going to post a dental thread on the main forum after I talk to the vet and see what she suggests. I don’t know if they feed him after the dental or what. Once I get my questions answered from her, I will post questions for the forum.

Why not a gradual .25 increase since I can’t monitor during the day?
 
Don't worry about the highs from bouncing. Some cats will bounce from yellow and most will bounce from perfectly safe blues if they aren't use to them. An increase dose will mean lower numbers, but could still be very safe numbers. Yes he will bounce to those "new to him" lower numbers, but that's OK. Seeing those lower numbers is the only way he'll get used to them.

You've done enough testing, even after the fur shot, to know he needs a 0.5 unit increase.

Typically with a dental you will shoot a half dose the morning of the dental. Depending on what anesthesia induction drug the vet uses, it may or may not have a BG lowering effect. I suggest testing when he gets home that day, and then at PMPS. You might want to be cautious if he's coming down to PMPS. However, given the high numbers Yoshi is in, it's likely not to be a worry.

If there are extractions at the dental, or even if not, there is likely to be some inflammation that will keep the numbers higher for a while. I found it took something like a week and a half before Neko's numbers showed any change.

I replied below without quoting you, Wendy. Also, did you find that Neko’s need for insulin decreased after the dental? ( i.e. did you find that he responded better to insulin and were able to lower the dose?)
 
Did you remind the vet he is diabetic? The newest anesthesia protocols for diabetics say you can feed much later. Neko was able to eat up to 1/3 of her breakfast until 6 am. And I left some of her regular food for the clinic to feed when she was awake enough for that. A good question for the vet is how often they will BG test.

Neko had multiple dentals, but only one extraction. Once she had a bony growth removed from her lower jaw bone, that was probably the biggest of her surgeries. Her dose went down, but just an bit. For the extraction, I actually increased after the surgery cause her numbers went up, then reduced when the inflammation went down with her numbers.

But that was just Neko. I have seen some bigger drops in dose on this forum after dentals.But not right away. After the inflammation dies down.
Why not a gradual .25 increase since I can’t monitor during the day?
Cause he is stuck in high numbers with nothing better than pink nadirs. And his dose is getting to the point where a 0.25 unit increase is not much more than fattening the dose.
 
Thank you so much! I increased at .25 before I saw your post. Pre shot he was the most active he’s been in a while. He’s playing w his brother and running...but his pmps was high. Maybe the depot is building, maybe not. Maybe he needs a larger bump in insulin than .25. I just want to be able to monitor before he gets there.

I took him to his testing station to give the shot, and am confident he got a full dose. I’ve been shooting him as he is eating and he gets really mad and backs off. I never know if I’m giving him the full dose. This was recent, but I still need to be mindful. He doesn’t like me interrupting his eating. I wouldn’t like it either along with all the pokes. He wants me to let him eat in peace. I can respect that. We have a new routine.
 
Last edited:
I used to wait until Neko was finished eating to shoot. But that took less than a minute. :p

If you see nothing lower than pinks by Friday night, you can go to 4.75 units.
 
Did you remind the vet he is diabetic? The newest anesthesia protocols for diabetics say you can feed much later. Neko was able to eat up to 1/3 of her breakfast until 6 am. And I left some of her regular food for the clinic to feed when she was awake enough for that. A good question for the vet is how often they will BG test.

Neko had multiple dentals, but only one extraction. Once she had a bony growth removed from her lower jaw bone, that was probably the biggest of her surgeries. Her dose went down, but just an bit. For the extraction, I actually increased after the surgery cause her numbers went up, then reduced when the inflammation went down with her numbers.

But that was just Neko. I have seen some bigger drops in dose on this forum after dentals.But not right away. After the inflammation dies down.

Cause he is stuck in high numbers with nothing better than pink nadirs. And his dose is getting to the point where a 0.25 unit increase is not much more than fattening the dose.
The vet totally knows he’s diabetic. It’s part of the reason she doesn’t like me. If it were her call, he’d be getting fructosomine tests every 3 weeks to determine an increase. He’d likely still be on one or two units. She HATES that I increase without consulting her, but after she looked at my chart the last I saw her she said, “yes, I would bump him to three” in the same breath she was like, “ I hope he does well at 3 because anything over that...” and she looked down and away and talked about insulin resistance and another vet.

I just want her to do the dental and go from there. I trust her in that she knows I’m neurotic with managing this disease (much to her dismay)...which forces her to take REALLY good care of him during the procedure. I hope. And I will make sure of it. I just hope this is what is causing the resistance
 
Figaro doesn't like to be bothered while eating and takes his time, then has to groom right after. So I always test, shoot, then feed otherwise I'd be waiting around for ages and wouldn't have very consistent shot times. This way we are almost always within 5 minutes of 6:30. Plus he has learned that if he cooperates for testing and shooting, food comes faster :)
 
Back
Top