10/8 Tigger AMPS/386 Bupe Dose Question Re. Pain

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tigger's Friend

Member Since 2013
(Please see last post by me for Bupe dosing question - thanks!)

Good monring to everyone & thank you for all the input, support & encouragement as our boys go through this URI issue.

Tigger's last condo

Spankey & Simon are better, which is a relief.

I've been working alot with Tigger. The ophthalmologist didn't want to see him yesterday - due to the active URI - she felt he had a dental issue anyway. Probably retrobulbar abscess. She did talk with my regular vet, though & said it was ok to take a sample of the fluid. She recommended sinus and skull x-rays to see what the swelling is, that it appears to be an infection of some kind secondary to the URI

So we went to our vet.

Our vet doesn't want to do xrays now - not while the URI is active - she is worried about the effect of the anesthetic on Tigger's weakened condition. Plus, she didn't think their machinery would pick up anything small.

Tigger's temp was down, he was eating, & his lump looked better at the time.

Tigger's swellong is soft & infront of the bone - the vet checked his mouth & htere was nothing visual or palpable to indicate retrobulbar. The sample showed mostly cells related to mucus, with a small amount of bacteria. So - Tigger got AB clindamycin & the vet said if he's no better in 72 hours, he needs to come in, be sedated & we'll have to manually drain him. The vet felt this fluid is directly related to the URI, due to the cells making it up.

Last night the swelling got worse, today it's 2-3 times what it was & now its hard - like its filled all the area it has to fill. Tigger's BG is somewhat elevated - +3/419 for the first time ever.

I didn't do Zyrtec yesterday - thought it might be drying him out - but there where would the gunk drain if it's not already draining????

I have a vaporizer in his room, but am not sure its helping. He'll let me do warm compresses for about a minute - again, not much snot - just alot of sniffling.

He is eating so far, & I think his temp is still down, which is good, but he's obviously uncomfortable.

:?: If we do the sedation to drain this mucus, do you think it will just re-fill? its an area directly over his eye socket & angling down somewhat to the left of his face toward the cheek. gooseberry size now. Will the sedation affect the diabetes? Should I wait & give the clindamycin a chance to work? I'm so worried, I don't know what to do.

I wish the specialist would give some input as to whether this is a gland filling up or just empty space - if its a sac filling, I'm worried it could rupture & lead to more infection.

I'm sorry I haven't had a chance to look in on anyone else - I hope everyone is ok & all kitties are doing well. Thanks again for all your encouragement & ideas - I'm trying not to freak out -
 
Re: 10/8 Tigger AMPS/386 Temp down but not doing well

:YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: cat_pet_icon cat_pet_icon cat_pet_icon cat_pet_icon cat_pet_icon Sending tons of healing vines for Tigger. I hope the abs kick in and help soon. It is so frustrating not knowing what is going on. let me know if you need anything, pick something up from the vet or whatever!
 
Re: 10/8 Tigger AMPS/386 Temp down but not doing well

Ditto all those hugs from us and HEALING VINES.

I wish I knew what to advise you on the treatment for the swelling but I don't. I can tell you that you should not worry about his BG if he needs anesthesia. We can help you with that even if it means skipping a shot and letting the vet give him some R to bring his numbers down until you can restart the lantus.

Tons of prayers coming your way and don't worry about anything else here....just focus on Tigger.

One question....do they not think he might have any pain and need some pain meds?
 
Re: 10/8 Tigger AMPS/386 Temp down but not doing well

Sending mega healing vines to Tigger cat_pet_icon cat_pet_icon

Hope you are able to get some answers that will help you Suzanne.

Jane
 
Re: 10/8 Tigger AMPS/386 Temp down but not doing well

Hi All,

Thanks for your input & healing support, Marje & Jane - I just spoke with the vet & didn't think to ask about pain meds. I do have some bupe here, tho :twisted: :?: Should I maybe give him a drop or 2? It wouldn't hurt anything, would it?

General consensus from the vet is to stay the course. She spoke with another vet there & when we got the fluid sample yesterday, there was a good-sized drop of blood at the site. As there are alot of blood vessels in the area, they think he might have a hematoma filling the cavity - it would explain the fast growth of the 'lump/swelling' - they didn't think mucous would fill it that quickly.

According to Dr. Stamp, the area is a cavity that will drain into the sinuses - tho' sometimes that drain is sewn shut when the eye is removed. But - there is nothing to rupture & create more infection.

She feels we should minimize Tigger's stress as much as possible. As long as he has no fever and he's eating I am to hold the course with just the Clindamycin (he finished the Azithromycin yesterday) & try not to panic. If not better in 48 hours then we'll take him back in & they'll decide whether to sedate & drain the area. :sad:

He's been under the bed while the vaporizer's on, so I stopped that. His runny nose was better with the Zyrtec, but I'm stopping it because I'm worried that stuff might dry into goo & never drain out. I'm also stopping the warm compresses -it helps his nose run, but he hates it & struggles most of the time. I'm moving the laptop into the bedroom & we'll chillax in there - I can hopefully do some bookwork while he crashes. Unfortunately, DGS has taken to coming in unannounced, so Tigger spends most of the day under the bed hiding & only comes out when DGS is napping or at night.

I'll try & take his temp in a few minutes. Thanks again, everyone, I told Tigger everyone's rooting for him & he has buddies waiting to play at the Lagoon.....
 
Re: 10/8 Tigger AMPS/386 Heard fr. Vet - Bupe Dose Question

OK - Tigger's temp is normal - 101.7

:?: Vet said he could have some bupe - I have .3ml How much would you give? Vet seemed to think all was ok, but I'm thinking just .1ml or so to start to see how he does with it????
 
Hi ((((Suzanne)))), I'm sorry that Tigger is still suffering from whatever it is and hope that the vets will decide soon what to do. It must be so frustrating for you. We are sending lots and lots of prayers and vines Tigger's way tonight.

Hugs, scritches, positive thoughts,

Ella & Rusty
 
I have a 13 lb. cat and he gets 0.06 orally every 8 - 12 hours when he needs it.
I don't know if that helps, but in case it does...
I don't want you or your Tigger to suffer for one second.
Big hugs!
 
I was just getting ready to give .06ml bupe, based on River's dose & sure appreciate all the healing vines from Ella & Rusty, too.

Hope Gus is ok - I saw he's been really punky - sending vines out to him.......

I'm re-thinking the Bupe - side effects say bupe can lower respiratory rate. Tigger's already having trouble breathing from the stuffy nose - open mouth, bubbles from his nose, etc. I'm not sure a lowered respiratory rate under those conditions would be good.

On the other hand, his third eyelid's out & he's pretty miserable..... :cry:

Just don't know what to do. I gave him fluids & his ABs. Am still fretting over the bupe.
 
I wish I could help, Suzanne. You are such a doll.
Is there an animal hospital you can call to help you with the bupe decision?
 
Thanks, Lara. I have a Plan for the night. That is to let Tigger be; he's eating, so he can't be totally miserable. The fluids helped a little, too.

Marje gave me some dose input, too, similar to River's & if he's still doing poorly tomorrow I'll dose the Bupe at .06ml & see what he does with that for a first time.

Right now he's snoozing under the bed, his quiet, dark safe spot, I can hear little slurpy gurgly sounds and the occasional sneeze.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top