10/8 Tarragon PMPS 128 +2 89 +4 53

Status
Not open for further replies.

Melissa & Tarragon

Member Since 2011
Yesterday: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=80657

Good morning LL!

Well, where do I start? After skipping the shot last night, it was obvious Tarragon was in pain since the Bupe had worn off. (Thank you Ann for thinking of that!) They called in Tramadol instead of Bupe and we went with it. DH went and picked it up and, after a big fight which has left my hands with little cuts all over them, Tarragon finally took it. This morning was the same huge fight for the Tramadol, but we got it down I think. :roll: He did eat enough to give him his shot and I got all the Clavamox in again. yay! Small victories right now.

Back at tbp today since I am in the middle of quarter end. Vetty recheck for Charlie's ears tonight and then Tarragon's vetty recheck is tomorrow. On a gross (and good) note, the scab fell off his bottom so maybe it will heal better. I am wondering if the little buggar has figured out a way around his cone when we are sleeping.

Hope you all have a great day!
 
Re: 10/8 Tarragon AMPS 260

Melissa, I hope the Tramadol takes care of the pain for your sweet boy, and he starts eating. Glad you got the meds down, although with a battle. That's good he has that much energy, :-D except for your poor hands. Tarragon sounds like my GA kitty with meds. Sending more healing and appy vines and hope he rests today.
Happy Birthday to you! (((Hugs)))
 
Re: 10/8 Tarragon AMPS 260

We sure hope the meds help with the pain.
More Healing Vines and Appy Vines for Tarragon.
I've seen my cat do some pretty good contortionist moves with that cone. :o

HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!! cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 10/8 Tarragon AMPS 260

A couple of thoughts....

Rather than giving dry in kibble form, what about crushing it up gently stirring some of the kibble dust into Tarragon's food and sprinkling a bit on top? That may have a better effect on numbers and mouthfuls of the dreaded dry food.

Can you check with your vet about laser therapy? Jill posted about it and she mentioned it to me, as well.
Jill & Alex said:
pain...
after hearing about my vet's use of laser therapy after he cut off the tip of his finger (he didn't require any pain meds after the first night) and seeing how well it worked on alex (never had to give her any pain meds after an initial single dose of bupe while the vet cleaned her up and packed the wound with an antibiotic ointment)... i'm sold on it. alex never appeared to be the slightest bit uncomfortable. the worst part was having to take her to the vet's office for 4-5 consecutive days.

laser therapy does not hurt. it's a pulsating laser beam held over the wound. nothing ever touches the wound itself except the beam of the laser. i held alex through the process (about 3-4 minutes) and fed her some freeze dried chicken treats while they were doing it. most cats probably wouldn't need the treats, but alex is... well, alex. she makes cujo kitty look like a saint while at the vet's office!

if melissa's vet does not have a laser therapy machine maybe the vet can refer her to someone who does. laser therapy not only promotes healing at and under the surface, but it also alleviates pain and kills bacteria.
 
Re: 10/8 Tarragon AMPS 260

Thanks Sienne! I have a call into the vet about the Laser. I have tried crushing the hard food. He ate some of his normal wet this morning.
 
Re: 10/8 Tarragon AMPS 260

Tillie has had one laser treatment for arthritis in her hip and we decided to do a series of 5, one every other day. It was half the cost when we bought a series ($125). She had one treatment and Anne said it was amazing how much she relaxed after about a minute. Sending tons of healing vines to sweet T and to you.
Liz
 
Re: 10/8 Tarragon AMPS 260

Healing vines continuing for T. I'm glad to hear he's eating a little bit today!!
 
Re: 10/8 Tarragon AMPS 260

Oh i didn't realize Tarragon was having appy problems too, the poor guy! Kibble sprinkled on top his wet food sounds pretty yummy.

Laser therapy sounds pretty awesome and sounds like it helps quite a bit too, i hope your vet agrees to it and Tarragon's bum feels better soon.

Happy Birthday Melissa! Enjoy your special day party_cat
 
Re: 10/8 Tarragon AMPS 260

Melissa, Glad Tarragon ate some of his regular food. Jasper suggests yogurt, his favorite treat . I hope Tarragon continues to heal, sending him more healing vines and appy vines. cat_pet_icon Laser treatment sounds promising, hope that works out too. Have a great afternoon!
 
Re: 10/8 Tarragon AMPS 260

According to Weezer Tramadol is the most bitter torture ever concocted. I tried the tablets and a flavored compound, but it was a battle all the way, and I was never sure if I got it all in her. They also make an injectable solution that you can give just like insulin. Works great! http://www.wedgewoodpetrx.com/items/tra ... ution.html

I hope he feels better soon.
 
Re: 10/8 Tarragon AMPS 260

I hope the tramadol works for Tarragon, Melissa.
Checkers had 1/4 tab..(12.5 mg), and it made him weird! My DD's dog takes it for arthritis, and it works wonders for him.

The laser treatment sounds wonderful. I hope your vet uses it.
I never thought of crushing kibble to sprinkle over canned food. I'm glad he ate some regular wet today.

Ouch on the wounded hands. :roll:
 
Re: 10/8 Tarragon PMPS 128

(((Melissa))))) I am so so sorry for all your trouble! Poor Tarragon! Poor You!! We were awol yesterday & just caught up..BTW Happy Birthday,even though it's such a hard time for you--I have these food battles with Moonie all the time now--Today I bought 5% ff chick. feast chunky to try..
Moonie will usually eat chicken, but almost allways temptations..I have crushed them into her food & she did nibble.. I too will do anything to make her eat, especially since she lost weight now.

Hope your vet can do laser on Mr T. I feel so badly for all of you. My cats both had bupe, but I actually take tramadol--Hope it works for Tarragon--Sending Healing Prayers & Green Vines to T. and to you & Charlie too.
Biggest Hugs & Love from us!!!
 
Re: 10/8 Tarragon PMPS 128

I'm glad Tarragon ate some for you. I hope the medicine helps Tarragon feel better and you get a good report for his re-check tomorrow. I hope everything went well with Charlie's re-check today.
 
Re: 10/8 Tarragon PMPS 128 +2 89

Talked to the vet. They don't have the laser therapy. They did at one time because they used it on Charlie's knee but no longer have it. Tarragon is much better tonight. He has his cone off laying on DH's chest on the couch. He seems to be a lot calmer and took his meds without much of a fight. Only 1 1/2 more days of the Clavamox. Isis rear looks pretty good. It's a little red but doesn't seem to be nearly as uncomfortable. We go to the vet tomorrow night. I am hoping they will give him a pain shot so we can stop the pills.

Charlie's vetty appt went well. All clear on his ears. We are starting a maintenance plan to keep him from getting any more infections. He is a block head lab and has long ears so it is always a battle. At least swimming season is over.

My bday started off pretty crummy with Tarragon and the issues early this morning. Tbp was crazy. But now I am home in my pjs getting ready to snuggle so its all good.
 
Re: 10/8 Tarragon PMPS 128 +2 89

Hi Melissa,

I hope you get to enjoy the rest of your bday. Snuggling in Pj's with the critters is a great start. I'm happy to hear that Tarragon is starting to feel better and getting over his back end sores. Sending good vetty vines for tomorrow - I hope they have a good solution for the pain. Nice numbers Mr. T!
 
Re: 10/8 Tarragon PMPS 128 +2 89

Hooray for improvement! That's a great birthday present to end the day on, happy snuggles and cuddles! :razz:
 
Re: 10/8 Tarragon PMPS 128 +2 89

Excellent report on everyone. Enjoy the rest of your birthday - you have more than earned it :YMHUG: !!!
 
Glad that Tarragon 's getting better! I am sure he'll feel better w/o the cone.
Happy belated Birthday, Melissa!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top