10/8 Ollie AMPS 81, PMBG 48

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ollie(GA) & Patsy

Member Since 2011
We had a rather exciting night and earned a dose decrease. Here's a recap :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

PMPS 102 (this was at +13..due to me getting stuck in traffic)
+3 62
+4 55 (fed LC)
+5 37 (fed MC)
+6 46 (fed MC)
+7 66.....sleep!

I reduced Ollie's dose from 3.75u to 3.50u this AM and his AMPS was 81. I do believe my liitle fella has a mission. @-) I'm cat sitting for three different friends in my building so I have no problems monitoring Ollie nailbite_smile Just wonder what he has in store for me. :roll:

Need to fix my internet connection problems...at least pet sitting allows me to use my friends signal for the time being!

Hope everyone has a great day :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 10/8 Ollie AMPS 81

Good Morning Patsy :smile:
What a night for you and Ollie! I was interested to see if you shot or stalled that 81. Jetson seems to be having lows late in the cycle lately, and I've wondered if I'm doing the right thing by him to shoot low blues. I know ECID, but helps to see what others do with low pre-shots.

Hope you have a chance for a nap today :-D
 
Re: 10/8 Ollie AMPS 81, +2 38

11769.jpg


Whooaa Ollie.....is someone feeling neglected? All you had to do was ask for some lubs...this is a bit dramatic sir ;-)

Patsy, I second thank goodness you are cat sitting and stuck home all day! Looks like you are in for some action today my friend!
 
Re: 10/8 Ollie AMPS 81, +2 38

That's my boy....fed him HC after getting the 38 @ +2.

I have been taking 0.25 reductions even though his dose is over 3u and could take 0.50 reductions. I want to go slow but 38 does have my heart pounding! I might want to rethink that.
 
Re: 10/8 Ollie AMPS 81, +2 38

I second Jessica-s post! Quite an eye opener. I got a 37 with Jetta once at +2 and it definitly makes the heart pound! Hope he comes up nicely for you!
 
Re: 10/8 Ollie AMPS 81, +2 38

Jessica...the pix is so funny...I think it looks like me more than laid back Ollie!!!

Jaclyn...the low numbers do more damage to me! I just keep repeating.... keep calm and carry on.
 
Re: 10/8 Ollie AMPS 81, +2 38

Ok, Ollie, you need to slow down a bit, sir. :lol: This is just a bit fast.

Regardless of the amount that you reduce, please keep in mind that you may get NDW. All I can say is... CONGRATULATIONS ON THE REDUCTION!!! :-D :mrgreen:
 
Re: 10/8 Ollie AMPS 81, +2 38

Good catch! Please test again at +2.5.

You really shouldn't be taking 0.5u reductions. Ollie's dose is not that large and such a large reduction isn't warranted and it might cause him to loose this great momentum.

I also want to make sure that if you shot at +13 last night, your AM shot was 12 hours (or anywhere from 11.5 to 11.75 hours later. Is that correct?
 
Re: 10/8 Ollie AMPS 81, +2 38. +2.5 86

I've managed to over carb now...well at least I found put what 1/2 can FF18% will do! Cycle pretty much aborted and will not take anothe reduction. I will keep a close eye on him today.

Thanks Sienne...I do not want to lose this momentum. You are also right about the shooting schedule.... I did shoot @+13 last night and adjusted this morning 15 minutes. Will adjust tonight, tomorrow am & pm each 15 minutes and we will be back to regular schedule.

I need a coffee break and I think I'll do some carb loading myself!
 
Re: 10/8 Ollie AMPS 81, +2 38. +2.5 86

Just a word of warning about the amount of HC you gave -- if you need to be giving food over a relatively long period, you don't want to over feed. The risk is that if you give a lot of food, your cat may vomit. Since we use food to steer the cycle, if what you fed comes back up, it's not doing it's job to raise BG numbers. It's best to think in terms of feeding about a teaspoon of HC, mostly gravy, to bump up numbers.

Remember to test at +3. It's likely that the HC is going to wear off and you don't know where Ollie's numbers will be when that happens.
 
Re: 10/8 Ollie AMPS 81, +2 38. +4 62

Ollie seems to be surfing in the 60's now.

I didn't plan on feeding a 1/2 can... it happened when I panicked :shock: :o and.... I never thought he would finish his bowl. He's a bigger chowhound than I thought! I'm lucky he's surfing this time.
 
Re: 10/8 Ollie AMPS 81, +2 38. +2.5 86

Quite the theatrics from Ollie this morning! :shock: Fingers and paws crossed that he hops up on his surfboard and stays there!
 
Re: 10/8 Ollie AMPS 81, +2 38, +4 62, +6 48

Patsy --

I kept thinking about Ollie's SS. How about shaving Ollie's dose tonight? It doesn't look like he bounces and that 38 this morning is an attention getter. If the shave doesn't hold, you can bring the dose back up.
 
Re: 10/8 Ollie AMPS 81, +2 38, +6 48, +11 47

Sienne...I just got a 47 at Ollie's +11. I know a lot can change in an hour and will retest... but I am confused. I liked the idea of shaving and then got this reading. He would have to come up a lot in the hour.

I know what I need to think about:
Stall ...really want to keep the regular time slot...allows for maximum testing. Least favorite.
Skip...I don't really want to drain his shed....but then again that might be the problem (?)
Reduced dose...probably the best idea if his shed doesn't need draining...but how many units (?)

Your thoughts...and others too...would really help.
 
Re: 10/8 Ollie AMPS 81, +2 38, +6 48, +11 47

Wow Patsy, that 47 wasn't expected and does create a pickle.

I want to throw another thought into the mix here in regards to option 3; shooting the reduced dose....for me, that 47 is so low that I wouldn't shoot even a reduced dose unless I knew it was coming up....which means stalling anyway. ...and if I was stalling anyway....suddenly number 1 is back on the table.

If it were me, I wouldn't feed, and I would wait the hour and know I have a another 30 minutes in my pocket to see what's happening (easy to get that 30 minutes back)....If I couldn't stall anymore and the number was still flat at 47...I'd skip. If it were on the rise and at a number I could live with (looks like the lowest you've shot a full dose was 70), I'd shoot a 3.25 dose (considering the 38 and also considering the long time at 47...and as long I could monitor tonight). If you're someone in between 47 and 70....the BCS comes into play again....

Again, just my two cents!
 
Re: 10/8 Ollie AMPS 81, +2 38, +6 48, +11 47

He's 48 at his +12 from this morning. SInce I shot late last night I'm behind 45 minutes already from the normal routine. (normally shot at 6am/6pm, last night 7pm this am 6:45am) The 48 is the same as the 47 so we are flat.

I'll test again at 7:15 or +12.5 but that's the latest I really want to stall and I don't think he'll rise much but 30 minutes more we'll see.

If not much higher I'll skip and see what tomorrow brings.
 
Re: 10/8 Ollie AMPS 81, +2 38, +6 48, +11 47

I think Ole Ollie is giving you hall pass my dear - sometimes we just have to know when to listen ;-) Just think....you could potentially get 8 straight hours of sleep tonight!

sleepy+kitty.bmp


It's sounding better by the minute :-D
 
Re: 10/8 Ollie AMPS 81, +2 38, +6 48, +11 47

Jessica....that's the best!!!

Yes we are taking the hall pass....good night and thank you for your 2 cents :-D :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top