10/8 Korbel amps 71/67; PMPS 144

Status
Not open for further replies.

jennifer & korbel (GA)

Member Since 2010
nailbite_smile

Man I hate it when she does these lower than expected preshots.
To throw a wrench in this one, it was actually an hour later than it should have been....
The last time she threw me an odd preshot, I chickened out and then took a few days to get back down, so this time I sucked it up and shot. Well almost, I gave her a fat 1unit instead of 1.25 (really, pretty much the same thing!)
Luckily I'm off today so I can keep an eye on her-otherwise I probably would have skipped the dose or only give 0.5.
 
Re: 10/8 Korbel ampls 71/67

This is your lowest pre-shot. Please get a +1 and a +2 so you have some sense of how Korbel's numbers are going to go today.
 
Re: 10/8 Korbel ampls 71/67

I'm definately planning at least +1 & +2!
I have some doubts as to whether or not I should have shot this morning. If I didn't have off today I wouldn't have!
Guess I'll find out...
 
Re: 10/8 Korbel ampls 71/67

You did shoot an 80 awhile back...as long as you monitor and have HC gravy you will be fine. Nice job!
Here is the link to your previous condo; (Wed right?) viewtopic.php?f=9&t=26810

Hope you have a great day...and can you update when you get the new numbers for us please? :thumbup
 
Re: 10/8 Korbel ampls 71/67; +1 57; +2 53

I would have been hesitant, too, if you couldn't have monitored. You're getting great data, though. What a great surf!! You're on target with managing the curve -- hopefully the LC will keep Korbel in the blues.
 
Re: 10/8 Korbel ampls 71/67; +1 57; +2 53; +3 40

+3 40
I gave her more food. The wellness chicken I gave her both last night and this am was very soupy for some reason, she ate it all overnight but has been picking at it this am. I just opened up a can of the turkey, and it had a much more normal consistancy. I gave her some of that and she is wolfing it down....
Anyways, 40 is getting into an area I don't really like, but don't want to pull out the honey just yet.
I'll test again at 3.5hrs
 
Re: 10/8 Korbel ampls 71/67; +1 57; +2 53; +3 40

Your doing wonderfully. :) Just be sure to have the E-kit ready just in case.

I was hesitant this morning, too. Believe me. I'm monitoring like crazy right now, and have the HC food ready just in case. I debated about giving her a 4.75, but I think I skinnied it up a bit. Now, I wish I hadn't given her so much. LOL I think she would've done fine on 4.5 or less. I still have had breakfast yet. LOL
 
Re: 10/8 Korbel ampls 71/67; +1 57; +2 53; +3 40; +3.5 41

+3.5 41
I gave her some more LC food with a very little bit of honey mixed in (1/4t honey in ~3oz food)
When she had her symptomatic hypo a few weeks ago, when I tested her (after symptoms had pretty much passed) she was at 41, so I really don't want her to go any lower, but also don't want her to bounce too much.
I'll test her again at +4
 
Re: 10/8 Korbel ampls 71/67; +1 57; +2 53; +3 40; +3.5 41

FYI, the bounce really doesn't have anything to do with what you feed (any food spikes are only temporary, especially from honey). Feed whatever you need to feed to get her into a range you're comfortable with. She has earned her reduction, so it's ok to abort this cycle by getting the # up.
 
Re: 10/8 Korbel ampls 71/67; +1 57; +2 53; +3 40; +3.5 41

I'll just keep up the LC food with honey. She vomits when eating stuff like FF and that would be bad!
I've got turkey meat on hand also if she starts to lose her appetite for the food/honey.
I'm okay with where she is right now, I just don't want her to go any lower.
Her normal nadair is at +6. Hopefully this will be normal and not go on for 16hrs like her hypo!
 
Re: 10/8 Korbel ampls 71/67; +4 51

Nice job, Jennifer! You say her nadir is +6? Try giving her a +5 and then a +6 to see where she's at. I'd be curious to see if she's rising or not by +5.
 
Re: 10/8 Korbel ampls 71/67; +4 51

I'll definately get a +5 and +6 to make sure she's going up or at least holding steady (she normally is very very flat)
I do want to get a 4.5 though because when she had a hypo a few weeks ago she was on a rollercoaster for a few hours before she stabilized. So I just want to make sure she doesn't do the same thing again and go from 50 to 30...
 
Re: 10/8 Korbel ampls 71/67; +4 51; +4.5 50

she *shouldn't* do that again because she is on a much better dose for her than last time. It pays to keep checking, though, just to be sure.
 
Re: 10/8 Korbel ampls 71/67; +4 51; +4.5 50

+5 49
I gave her a bit more LC + honey that I mixed earlier
She's nice and flat now.
I'll test again at +6
 
Re: 10/8 Korbel ampls 71/67; +4 51; +4.5 50; +5 49

wow, nice job, jennifer! BOS got a display case yet?

celi & binks
 
Re: 10/8 Korbel ampls 71/67; +4 51; +4.5 50; +5 49

I would check again before that +6 just to make sure she is holding steady...she should be with the honey...
but it would be good to know for sure...IMHO...
 
Re: 10/8 Korbel ampls 71/67; +4 51; +4.5 50; +5 49

You're doing a great job managing the cycle. Try to get her surfing in the 50s or 60s like Pat was suggesting. The honey can wear off quickly and drop numbers.

If Korbel is sensitive to the HC Fancy Feast, there are a couple of Wellness flavors that are HC. They're on Janet & Binky's list.
 
Re: 10/8 Korbel ampls 71/67; +5 49; +5.5 57; +6 67

+6 67

Seems like she's rising nicely-hopefully she won't keep up this pace of 20pts an hour though or her pmps will be higher than I'd like :mrgreen:

I'll get a +7.
If +7 is steady or higher, can I leave her alone for a while and just make sure to get a +10 and +11, or should I get a + 8 & +9 just to fill in the sheet? It is only 2 more pokes....
 
Re: 10/8 Korbel ampls 71/67; +5 49; +5.5 57; +6 67

So, now that she seems to be stabilized, what should I have done this morning.
I have shot her in the 80s before with no problem, but this 70 ps was lower yet, plus a bit out of line with the numbers she's been getting since I've been back from my trip.
Like I said earlier, if I had to work today I would have only given her 0.5 or even skipped all together.

So, I guess we're back down to 1 unit tonight?
 
Re: 10/8 Korbel ampls 71/67; +5 49; +5.5 57; +6 67

I'm not an expert here, however, I would think that 1u should do it. I'm sure that others, who are more experienced than I am, can advise you better.

Nice job, though! You should be very proud of yourself, and your furbaby. :)

I think it would be ok to leave her now, unless you feel that you need to continue to test each hour until PMPS. I need to get to the store(s) (now there's 2 that I have to hit... One being CVS for hubby), but I'm also engrossed in "Volcano". Sheesh. I'm easily swayed today, I tell you.
 
Re: 10/8 Korbel amps 71/67; +5 49; +5.5 57; +6 67; +7 88

I think I'll leave her alone until +10
I'll get a +10 & +11
her pmps will actually be +11.5 to get her on schedule for the weekend.
 
Re: 10/8 Korbel amps 71/67; +6 67; +7 88; +10 148

+10 148
Well she's going higher than I would like, but it is what it is.....
I'll get a +11
Her PMPS will be + 11.5

So, 1 unit or was today just a fluke and stick with 1.25 unless/until she throws a low ps again?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top