10/8 Kaz AMP 139/ 38 now

Claire and Kaz

Member Since 2022
@Suzanne & Darcy
@tiffmaxee
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
@FrostD

I am posting over on this site today as I know its a weekend and not sure who may or may not be around.
I had a feeling Kaz's numbers may drop again today although I thought it would be during the evening cycle.
Bit surprised but he has dropped from 139 to 38 very quickly.
To look at him you would not think there was an issue except he's bit grumpy about getting th BG test usually he's an angel.
He's eating and I just fed him 7% carb food he usually only gets 0% and I will check him again in 30 minutes and feed another teaspoon as required.
 
Ok I was thing that too. I didn't want to go too high and have his numbers bounce for the next few days which was why I went to 7%. I'll give him some 10% DM now and test again in 30 mins.
Thanks
 
Ok I was thing that too. I didn't want to go too high and have his numbers bounce for the next few days which was why I went to 7%. I'll give him some 10% DM now and test again in 30 mins.
Thanks
Hi @Claire and Kaz - Does feeding higher carbs lead to bouncing? I thought this was caused by sudden lows, but I didn’t realize that bumping up carbs could also do this? I am asking because Owen has been bouncing around like crazy and we so sometimes go straight to HC to increase his numbers. Thanks for any advice! Good luck with Kaz today! :bighug:
 
Hi @Claire and Kaz - Does feeding higher carbs lead to bouncing? I thought this was caused by sudden lows, but I didn’t realize that bumping up carbs could also do this? I am asking because Owen has been bouncing around like crazy and we so sometimes go straight to HC to increase his numbers. Thanks for any advice! Good luck with Kaz today! :bighug:
I'm no expert I am new at this myself but I have noticed that with my cat that if his numbers are low he will bounce due to the low numbers but some of the bouncing has to be attributed to the high carb food. We are told to feed high carb food to increase the numbers. This is why I am trying to keep the high carb intake as little as possible during the reductions to see if I can get the reductions quicker.
If Bandit's Mom is still tracking she would be more of the expert here.
 
Hi @Claire and Kaz - Does feeding higher carbs lead to bouncing? I thought this was caused by sudden lows, but I didn’t realize that bumping up carbs could also do this? I am asking because Owen has been bouncing around like crazy and we so sometimes go straight to HC to increase his numbers. Thanks for any advice! Good luck with Kaz today! :bighug:

Also if you think about it your asked to feed your fluff ball high carb food in order to bring your numbers up but then you have to be very careful to check every 30 mins and feed high carb food. You have to remember that its the high carb food that is bringing the numbers up so you have to be careful that your not causing a food high before the next insulin shot or your going to have the same issue again. I am now trying to bring down the carbs again so that by the next insulin shot he's not food dependent.
 
Also if you think about it your asked to feed your fluff ball high carb food in order to bring your numbers up but then you have to be very careful to check every 30 mins and feed high carb food. You have to remember that its the high carb food that is bringing the numbers up so you have to be careful that your not causing a food high before the next insulin shot or your going to have the same issue again. I am now trying to bring down the carbs again so that by the next insulin shot he's not food dependent.
That makes sense- I think we need to aim for smooth changes in bg- either sudden drops or sudden increases can throw things out of whack. It is hard to be patient sometimes. Thanks for your insights!
 
Every cat is different as to carb sensitivity. Trial and error and keeping notes on how you handled low numbers on your ss will help to figure out how your cat handles low numbers and how high carbs are needed to bring a cat up.
 
That makes sense- I think we need to aim for smooth changes in bg- either sudden drops or sudden increases can throw things out of whack. It is hard to be patient sometimes. Thanks for your insights!

I am no expert and I rely heavily on help from this site and I don't know what the person that's helping you has told you as I know all cats are different just like Tiffmaxee says. However I was looking at your spreadsheet and it appears that your cat was diagnosed in August of this year. So the rule I was told to work with is that if you are within a year of diagnosis you need to go below 50 (lime green) in order to earn a reduction but I see that you are not doing this your reducing in the dark green. Again all cats are different and you may have been told something completely different to me.

Also based on the time you joined I don't think this is your first Rodeo so sure your way ahead of me I just see that your on the same insulin and dosing message as me.
 
I am no expert and I rely heavily on help from this site and I don't know what the person that's helping you has told you as I know all cats are different just like Tiffmaxee says. However I was looking at your spreadsheet and it appears that your cat was diagnosed in August of this year. So the rule I was told to work with is that if you are within a year of diagnosis you need to go below 50 (lime green) in order to earn a reduction but I see that you are not doing this your reducing in the dark green. Again all cats are different and you may have been told something completely different to me.

Also based on the time you joined I don't think this is your first Rodeo so sure your way ahead of me I just see that your on the same insulin and dosing message as me.
Oh thanks for checking our spreadsheet Claire! We just switched from SLGS, I will add that to the spreadsheet so it is more clear how we have made dosing decisions in the past.
Thanks again and good luck with Kaz! :bighug:
 
Hi Claire. Tell me about Kaz’s new feeding schedule or amount you are feeding. You mentioned that you’ve changed it.
No I never said I changed it I have cut the food down by a small amount and will be cutting it down again once hes used to it. I have to get the weight off. The vet said that would be a contributing factor on the remission.
 
No I never said I changed it I have cut the food down by a small amount and will be cutting it down again once hes used to it. I have to get the weight off. The vet said that would be a contributing factor on the remission.
So you are just feeding at the same times but reducing the amount. I understand. He’s doing well, although I just saw last night the lime he had on Saturday. I would have given a smidge of Karo syrup with a little food when he went under 50. I was impressed with your calmness during the whole thing.
 
I was trying to keep the high carb intake as minimal as possible during the episode as I was home and was able to monitor him and he was actually ok. He was playing with his brother during the initial part of the decrease. If I had not done the test I would not have known anything was wrong.

I only gave him one teaspoon of high carb +10 and 2 teaspoons of +7 over three hour period and then switched him back to 0% as the numbers increased. I wanted to try and keep the bouncing to a minimum. Again I knew I was home till tomorrow due to the holiday over here so wanted to see if we could keep numbers low.

I actually thought at one point yesterday that we might have had another reduction as his number in the PMPS was only 103. This usually would have lead to lime green numbers but sadly it increased.

I am trying to be a little more aggressive as I only have a couple months before I travel again.
 
And look at you shooting the full dose with those greens lately! You have gained a lot of confidence. I remember not too long ago I suggested you could shoot a green and you said no way. Kaz looks like he’s doing much better recently and you deserve all the credit.
 
Thanks he did not quite make it to the reduction on that day. Sad day it was also the day I had predicted he might get a reduction. So I am hoping if Kaz and I stick to the plan another reduction is around the corner. Thats what the blue highlights on my spreadsheet are telling me my predictions.
I had better start a new thread as I realize I'm not on the usual boar and wanted to post due to the low numbers today.
 
Back
Top