10/8 Hyde AMPS 513 PMPS 479 +2 433 +4 381

Status
Not open for further replies.
Common Hyde! You can do it! Make your momma bean proud and show us some of those pretty yellows :)
 
It's tough to get them down from those high numbers once they're so used to them. Any thought to trying a fast acting insulin as a boost; I know nothing about it, but other high dose kitties here (Crystal as one example) have had some success in getting the numbers down enough so that the Lantus or Levemir has a better chance of grabbing hold and working more effectively.

Takes experienced folks her helping. But it's something to think about if you haven't.

Marilyn and Polly
 
I hope Hyde finds her good dose soon. I know how disappointing it can be having your kitty getting those high numbers. :banghead:
 
Any thought to trying a fast acting insulin as a boost?
Yes, I know others have added fast acting insulin to their routine. I have 2 concerns in using it with Hyde. First, if you look at her SS for 10/1, she dropped over 300 points in 3 hours. I do not need to have her drop any faster at shot time. Second, I think it might help her stay low and I would get up at 3:30 AM to shoot at +10 (her schedule is 5:30 AM & 6 PM) but no one is ever home on weekdays at 4 PM. I am open to other suggestions as to how to use the fast acting insulin.

I think her problem is more the duration of the Lantus. I will speak to the Internist tomorrow about switching to Levemir.
 
Makes sense. Levemir "should" have a later onset, nadir. And may help flatten cycles. Here's hoping Hyde finds her way to lower numbers, flatter numbers.

Marilyn
 
Levemir's later onset does make it easier to shoot R at the same time as the Lev. I also wouldn't hold onto Lantus doses too long with the numbers she's in. I'd move up after 6 cycles. And with being 10 units, you can move up in 1 unit increments now.

Come on Hyde - let's show some action tonight!
 
Think a switch to Levemir is worth a try, and it probably works better with the R insulin than Lantus. Just might give you the improvement in numbers that Hyde needs.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top