10/8 Heart AMPS 49, +2 86, +4.5 117, +11 248. Dose?

Status
Not open for further replies.

dodgingwrenches

Member Since 2010
Yesteray's thread: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=105856

Same question as yesterday I guess... He could be going back into remission - hard to know with his history! Afraid to shoot at all since I have meetings all morning and won't be able to check on him until lunchtime.
 
Re: 10/8 Heart AMPS 31

I would never suggest shooting a number under 50. Unless you can stall and monitor, your best option may be to skip. I'd also suggest lowering the dose to 1.75u.
 
Re: 10/8 Heart AMPS 31

Went up to 49 after 15 minutes, so I reduced the dose by 0.5 units. I know protocol is 0.25 units, but I need him on a reduced dose tomorrow since I'll be travelling, so rather than bounce around, I put him on tomorrow's dose
 
Re: 10/8 Heart AMPS 31, stalled 15 min then 49

I would not have shot if unable to monitor. Like I said above, I would not shoot numbers below 50 and I shoot low numbers.
 
Re: 10/8 Heart AMPS 31, stalled 15 min then 49, +2 86

I didn't see your post until after I wrote mine. But 49/50 is practically the same thing, and I left out some dry food for the extra carbs and made sure he ate a lot before I left. Anyway, was able to sneak home between meetings during a half hour break and he's at 86 now at +2. I'll be able to come home at lunchtime as well since another meeting got canceled. Tomorrow during the day I'll probably end up skipping a shot if these values continue, since I'll be travelling so definitely not able to monitor.
 
Re: 10/8 Heart AMPS 31, stalled 15 min then 49, +2 86

Hi guys .. wow, that's a low start heart! Glad you were able to get home and monitor .. surf safely heart! have a great day guys!
 
Re: 10/8 Heart AMPS 31, stalled 15 min then 49, +2 86

Sophia,

Glad you are able to come home for lunch!
That sure is a low number! But nice to see Heart working that Juice!

Keep us posted! :)
 
Re: 10/8 Heart AMPS 31, stalled 15 min then 49, +2 86, +4.5

We'll he's still on the rise - 117 at +4.5. Is this a bounce them from giving insulin when he was so low this morning? Or normalcy settling back in, and the effect of the reduced dose this morning. Ugh, it's frustrating not knowing what's going on.
 
Re: 10/8 Heart AMPS 31, stalled 15 min then 49, +2 86, +4.5

I don't think the bounce is from giving him insulin this morning. I think it's from the 31 before the shot. The bounce would have happened no matter what. This morning's shot might help lessen the severity / duration of the bounce.
 
Re: 10/8 Heart AMPS 31, stalled 15 min then 49, +2 86, +4.5

Surfing is definitely a challenging art - be it diabetes management surfing or the sport :)

Either way, I feel better now for shooting. Thanks Carl :)
 
Re: 10/8 Heart AMPS 31, stalled 15 min then 49, +2 86, +4.5

Great work this morning! Carl's right, going low or going down fast causes bounces. The dry food he got could also be a factor. Remember that the carbs in dry food take longer to clear the system than those form canned food. they seem to stick around forever! :evil:
 
Re: 10/8 Heart AMPS 31, stalled 15 min then 49, +2 86, +4.5

Sophia

Just a bit of housekeeping; if you could please update your subject line so no one thinks you shot a 31 ;-) It should read:

10/8 Heart +12 31 AMPS 49 +2 86 +4.5 117

Thank you! :-D

I know you are happy you shot this morning because he's either bouncing or the dry food brought the numbers up (or maybe some of both). However, I do think that we don't shoot below 50 for a reason. We have to draw the line somewhere, right? ;-)

Consider this: with meter variance, a 50 can be a 40 and a 49 can be a 39. While I don't normally get wrapped up in what the variance on my meter could be (e.g. I take the number at face value when making dosing/shooting decisions), when you are talking about shooting low and leaving, I think making the justification that a 49 is a 50 might be something you want to give a little more thought to in the future. Even those of us who have been here a long time and know our cats well and are home to test, draw the line. If you have to skip a shot for safety, Heart will get back on track. I know we could all "what if" things to the "nth" degree but what if his cycle had not played out like it did today?

I'd urge you to step back, think about safety, and try to follow the protocol a little more closely.
 
I decreased the dose 0.5 units this morning in reaction to the +49 I shot. But now he's up at 248. Should I go back to previous dose (2)? Stick to 1.5? Or go to the 1.75 I had originally intended to try?
 
This is a bounce, so you don't need to react to it by raising the dose. The 248 is not due to the reduction this morning. Lantus doesn't usually "act" that fast after a dose change. You wouldn't expect to see immediate results.
 
Ok. I wasn't sure how long bounces last. At +3 he's pretty much the same. I did give the 1.75 units since that is what I wanted to reduce him to (pre-superlow AMPS and associated bounce). So how many cycles does a bounce usually last?
 
The old "ECID" applies... Sometimes 5 or 6 cycles. There isn't much history with Heart, but the one bounce I see on his SS looks like it only took two cycles to clear.
 
I'd like to see you hold this dose until he either earns a reduction or it becomes apparent it is a failed reduction.

I think dosing consistency is a primary goal here :-D
 
Carl & Bob said:
The old "ECID" applies... Sometimes 5 or 6 cycles. There isn't much history with Heart, but the one bounce I see on his SS looks like it only took two cycles to clear.

I have another tab on my SS for 2010, so we have more history there. And of course he had to throw me a curve ball this morning by giving me an 81 when he knows I have to travel today! So I'm afraid of giving him the 1.75, Argh.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top