10/8 China AMPS 209,+3 224,+6 192,PMPS 165,+3 139

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chris & China (GA)

Member Since 2013
Yesterday's condo

Late condo today..been busy with mom. I went ahead and bumped China up a little to a skinny 1 unit....see if I can get her back down into green numbers since it's been 6 cycles since she's been in the green. I know it's a little aggressive, but since she's failed her other reductions, I figure if she's going to require insulin for the rest of her life, the more I can keep her in the lower numbers, the better off she's going to be. I still have hope that she can possibly go OTJ at some point, but I'm also a realist...of course China could totally surprise me and go OTJ tomorrow....she does love to surprise and confuse me :-D

Sending healing vines to all the kitties who need them, as well as a special appy vine for Jupiter!
 
Re: 10/8 China AMPS 209,+3 224,+6 192,PMPS 165

Good plan on increasing the dose.

If you're feeling like China isn't holding dose reductions, there's a slightly different strategy you can use. You wait until China drops into the 40s on 3 separate days and then decrease by 0.25u. (You don't "skinny" the dose.)
 
Re: 10/8 China AMPS 209,+3 224,+6 192,PMPS 165

That's what I was doing the last time Sienne...then she dropped below 50 on the AMPS cycle on 9/25 and then went to 35 on the PMPS cycle (and I had to work to keep her above 50 on that cycle). I shot through the bounce on 9/26 AMPS and then dropped her back to .75...then on AMPS cycle on 9/27 she dropped to 22 so got another reduction back to .5
I held that for only 6 doses because she started coming up into the 200's at .5

The general feeling was that maybe her "best dose" was between .5 and .75 so I went with a skinny .75. That's where we've been since until tonight when I increased her to a skinny 1 which would have been a full .25 increase

I'd be thrilled if she'd hold her reductions, but so far anyway, she never has and we end up back at 1 unit BID until she goes either under 50 three times or under 40..but that 22 demanded the reduction at that time
 
Re: 10/8 China AMPS 209,+3 224,+6 192,PMPS 165

Which ever strategy works best. Sometimes, I think you need to have x-ray vision in order to find just the right spot on the syringe for a dose that isn't too high or too low.
 
Re: 10/8 China AMPS 209,+3 224,+6 192,PMPS 165

AMEN to that Sienne!! I hate trying to do these skinny and fat doses because it's just so hard to know you're getting the same dose each time. I don't plan on continuing the skinny 1 unit too long...I'm drawing up 1 unit and then twisting to get rid of a drop. If she doesn't get better numbers very soon, I'm going to just stop losing that drop.

It still amazes me how powerful insulin is! Such a tiny little dose change can have such drastic effects!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top