10/8 Chester's +11=406, PMPS 451,+10=316

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jaye and Chester

Member Since 2010
Good morning!

This is just ugly! The bounce, the food, the dose reduction... Who could have thought that pink could be such an ugly color?

Any suggestions on how long I should wait on this one before calling the fat 1.0 a failed dose and going back up to 1.25?

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=26826
 
Re: 10/8 Chester's +11=355, AMPS 386

Jaye...no suggestions from this newbie....Just wanted to say good morning to you and Chester....

Hope he comes down a tad for you...

Ya hear that Chester....your mommabean is gonna up your dose on ya...Come on down a level.

Have a great day Jaye.
 
Re: 10/8 Chester's +11=355, AMPS 386

Strangely enough, those threats often seem to work!

He seems to clear bounces more quickly on Lev than he did on Lantus, so I'm keeping paws crossed.
 
Re: 10/8 Chester's +11=355, AMPS 386

This is the start of the 3rd cycle on the reduced dose, right? solid pinks so far...hmmmm...
What are yo bouncing from Chester? That little old 60 the day before yesterday? :o
Silly boy! You can come down now....
 
Re: 10/8 Chester's +11=355, AMPS 386

No advice, sorry about these ugly pinks, they are frustrating aren't they? hope they go away soon.
 
Re: FAILED DOSE 10/8 Chester's +6+304,+11=406

I'm seriously tempted to call this a failed dose and go back up the a solid 1.25. I know they can hold a bounce for days, but Chester seems to be clinging to that bounce with both hands!

Thoughts?
 
Re: FAILED DOSE 10/8 Chester's +6+304,+11=406

no advice, but just wanted to say "chester! come back down!"

celi & binks
 
Re: FAILED DOSE 10/8 Chester's +6+304,+11=406

no expert advice here, but popping in to say hi! Come on down Chester - you're looking at a dose increase if you don't. You can do it!
 
Re: FAILED DOSE ? 10/8 Chester's +6+304,+11=406

I am thinking that because you reduced 2 times in 2 days the second reduction may have been too soon.
You went from a 1.25 to a skinny 1.25 on 6/6 then to a fat 1.0 on 6/7. The bg of 60 on 10/6 may still have been from the action of the previous dose of 1.25. Does this make sense...or did I confuse you more?

See what some others think about the dosecrease.
 
Re: FAILED DOSE ? 10/8 Chester's +6+304,+11=406

I am thinking along with Miriam that maybe this last reduction didn't hold so well...
You will be shooting shortly, right?
Maybe others will have time to weigh in before your shot time....
What do you think Jaye?
 
Re: FAILED DOSE ? 10/8 Chester's +6+304,+11=406

Oh, I've been confused for a couple of months now, so today's confusion is nothing new. ;-)

Those in-between doses, the skinny 1.25 and the fat 1.0...I'm not so sure those weren't essentially the same dose. Last night's dosing was done by my DH, who had never dosed that type of unit before. No matter how carefully one can explain it on the phone, it's not the same as seeing it.

That 60 (AlphaTrak) frightened me, though, and I'm scared to dip my toes back in those waters. Think I should go back to the skinny 1.25 or the full 1.25? I'll be home all weekend.

Hubby also gave him a snack today at +6. I told him a small tablespoon (even wrote it down) but he says he gave him "a couple of tablespoons!" :shock:
 
Re: FAILED DOSE ? 10/8 Chester's +6+304,+11=406

So next time, when you get a blue preshot, you will test at +1 so you can see where he is going. That night of the 60, there were no tests until that big surprise, right? With the difference in two people's measuring those smaller doses, it's tough to know what is happening.

It's kind of a tough call whether to hold this dose though...and wait. but i know you didn't like that red just now.
You will be home to monitor him as you said....when do you have to shoot?
 
Re: FAILED DOSE ? 10/8 Chester's +6+304,+11=406

In about 5 minutes. I'm going to do the pmps right now, feed him, then shoot.

Just tested a 451

Right now I have a skinny 1.25 drawn, which for me is just below the one, but with just enough space to see through, whereas a fat one, for my eyes, is below the one, but actually touching the line. For DH...Lord knows what he shot!

So next time, when you get a blue preshot, you will test at +1 so you can see where he is going.
Very good point! Lesson learned (unfortunately, at Chester's expense, but I'm resisting the temptation to berate myself).

He just ate...with a VERY good appetite and has been playful (wonder if the appetite is left over from the cyproheptadine of yesterday).
 
Re: FAILED DOSE ? 10/8 Chester's +6+304,+11=406

If you haven't shot yet, I'd suggest sticking with the current dose. This may be a higher before the numbers break or the tail end of a bounce. I'd hold for one more cycle and if nothing changes, increase in the AM.
 
Re: FAILED DOSE ? 10/8 Chester's +6+304,+11=406

I tend to be aggressive with cats that were all blue/green, then lose it, BUT I wouldn't mind giving this one more cycle. This could be a high before the break. Most likely you'll need to increase tomorrow, but I would wait til then. When a cat throws one weird high number, it's good to wait it out. Just my opinion. Lots of times I'm wrong about this but it has been true enough times that I pay attention.

edit: oops, posted at the same time as Sienne. Yeah, what she said. :mrgreen:
 
Re: FAILED DOSE ? 10/8 Chester's +6+304,+11=406

Okay, if I'm understanding you, I should stick with the fat 1.0 and see where he lands tonight and tomorrow. I can do that...haven't shot yet and I can be up all night if necessary. Do I have this right (not sure I understand which way you mean with 'aggressive." As in up the dose or stick out the lower one)?

editing in: Shot the fat 1.0. The other question, then...do I give him the tablespoon of LC that I've been giving him around +4 when I (try) to put him to bed of leave him snackless tonight?
 
Re: FAILED DOSE ? 10/8 Chester's +11=406, PMPS 451

If numbers don't look better by AMPS, then increase the dose in the morning.

As far as the food, a snack of LC isn't going to influence the cycle. It's fine to give a snack.
 
Re: FAILED DOSE ? 10/8 Chester's +11=406, PMPS 451

Okay, thanks for the help!

And, as always, one more clarification....when you say increase the dose in the morning (depending on numbers), do you mean going back to the skinny 1.25, even if that's only a matter of one, possibly two drops?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top