10/8 Billie PMPS 230 +3.5 197

Status
Not open for further replies.

Deanna & Billie

Member Since 2014
Hello LL!!

Yesterday's condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=126594

Late condo today! I wrote out a post earlier, but my computer froze on me and then I had to go out. Billie had a very nice day!! She was very purry and social. Good appy. And, she didn't have any coughing fits (*ANTIJINX*)!!!! She just had one single cough right after she exited the litter box - more evidence that the litter is a culprit. Tomorrow, the clay litter must go. There is currently a really weird cocktail of Dr. Elsey's clay, Dr. Elsey's crystals, and Yesterday's News. I think I can start over without the clay, and they should be fine with it. Julie, thank you for the info on Feline Pine! I looked that up, and it sounds good. I haven't seen it in stores here, but I'm going out on another litter haul tomorrow. I may end up ordering some options online. I did a lot of research, and there is some really obscure litter out there - one kind is made from coconut husks, and another from green tea. Cool. The jury is out on whether or not Dr. Elsey's crystals are safe. They are silica sand crystals, and I have found mixed reviews about silica. But, I think it's better than clay at least for now. It sounds like Yesterday's News is still the absolute safest bet, but I'm not sure the girls will ever accept it. I'll keep trying.

I talked to the vet today to update him on how Billie is doing with the pred - less coughing, not terribly high BG numbers. I asked him if I should still taper even though she has had some coughing incidents. He said yes, because if it turns out that she does just as well with once a day dosing, that's a good thing. But, I may give her one extra day for the twice daily dosing. Yesterday and the day before, she had a couple less severe coughing fits. Today, just one cough. So, I'm seeing improvement and wondering if I should just go for one more day before tapering. He said that if her coughing gets worse after we taper, we can look at other options (longer pred trial, bronchodilators, cypro).

If she wasn't about to taper off the pred, I'd want a dosecrease, but I'll hold the dose for now and we'll see what happens. Her Allerplex arrived today! I'm going to give it to her tomorrow. We had a battle of wits when it was time for her to take the pred tonight, so I didn't want to attempt another med/supplement.

Sending vines to all the cats and beans in need. Thinking of Anne, Liz, and Tillie today.
 
Yay on the (lack of) coughing! That's great news. :-D

Let me know how the litter search works out. I used the Feline Pine but didn't like it. Of course, I don't really like the Swheat Scoop I'm using, either. ohmygod_smile Regardless, I hope the Feline Pine works well for you if you end up going with it. I think Kay (KPassa) has used the green tea leaves, but I know she's still away from the board after the loss of her mother. Otherwise I would suggest asking her about it. I haven't heard of the coconut litter. That's one I'll have to check into.

Thanks for the food tips yesterday. I haven't placed an order yet, but I'm trying to get a list of new foods to try pulled together. Your info helps a lot.

Paws are crossed that the pred tapering goes well and the coughs stay away!

ETA: Did you come across any research on Okocat wood litter? It looks interesting, although pricey.
 
Hi Shelly! You're very welcome. I am always happy to talk about cat food...maybe a little too happy. I hadn't heard of Okocat but that is definitely going on the list! Thank you! It actually may be my new front runner. There is a paper option, and it looks like it would blend in better than Yesterday's News. The pellets look smaller. I think I'll try that next! It looks like Petsmart may carry it, but if not, I'll order some on Amazon.
 
Excellent Billie report! I hope the girls decide Yesterday's News is THE litter for them - but at least what you've got going on now is working better for Billie.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top