10/8 Apollo PMBG 118

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 10/8 Apollo AMPS 254

I slept like a baby. Still could use a few more hours, but feel much better now. :smile:
 
Re: 10/8 Apollo AMPS 254, + 2 195, +4 86

John,
Can you feed just a bit of LC (maybe an ounce). LC helps to slow things down. It generally won't halt, but he may just need an ease.
+30 will tell!
 
Re: 10/8 Apollo AMPS 254, + 2 195, +4 86

Jessica & Boo Radley said:
John,
Can you feed just a bit of LC (maybe an ounce). LC helps to slow things down. It generally won't halt, but he may just need an ease.
+30 will tell!

Sure can try. Will report back with results in a bit.
 
Re: 10/8 Apollo AMPS 254, + 2 195, +4 86

Ok, he ate about a teaspoon full of LC. Thank god for ground up purebites on top as he loves those.

Do I test in 30 mins or can I test in 1 hour from +4?
 
Re: 10/8 Apollo AMPS 254, + 2 195, +4 86

If it were me, I would test in 30 minutes. Kind of an unwritten rule is that if they drop more than 50 in an hour, be alert. We know for sure he dropped 100 over 2 hours, but we don't really know how that 100 was split up. Also, the drop between +2 & +4 was much more than AMPS & +2....so the drop is gaining momentum.

Nothing to panic about...but he's on his way down John, no doubt about it...how far he'll go is anyone's guess, so I'd rather be safe than sorry.

Just remember...and you know this, LC will slow but won't halt...HC will halt and raise. You are in control!
 
Re: 10/8 Apollo AMPS 254, + 2 195, +4 86, +4.5 68

Apollo's AMPS +4.5 68. Give more LC or just wait at this point? He really doesn't like these small little semi-forced meals.

I think my buddy is pushing hard for another dose reduction. We shall see.
 
Re: 10/8 Apollo AMPS 254, + 2 195, +4 86, +4.5 68

Your call John. You can see the LC slowed it a bit and your not at a critical number. If you'd prefer, wait another 30 before making any feeding decisions, but do test again OK?

You've got the knowledge from all of these recent experiences...I can see in the last few posts that you're beginning to trust your gut more - It's really good to see and remember to lean on all of the knowledge you've gained - you're doing great!

I'm going to be around for about another hour OK?
 
Re: 10/8 Apollo AMPS 254, + 2 195, +4 86, +4.5 68

Ok, I am going to wait until next test in 30 minutes (15 mins left to go) to decide what to do with food. He is resting now.

Yeah I have really learned a lot and do feel more confident, but it still causes a bit of panic to see him dropping so fast and getting down so low. I'm getting more comfortable with it though.
 
Re: 10/8 Apollo AMPS 254, + 2 195, +4 86, +4.5 68

John - we got both of them dancing today! KT blew me outta the water with a 36 this morning!

BIG hugs,
 
Re: 10/8 Apollo AMPS 254, + 2 195, +4 86, +4.5 68

John & Apollo said:
Yeah I have really learned a lot and do feel more confident, but it still causes a bit of panic to see him dropping so fast and getting down so low. I'm getting more comfortable with it though.

That's great. Being prepared is 99% of the game. Now is a perfect example of how to set yourself up for success (and no panics ;-) ). Let's make the assumption he is going to earn a reduction today. Our goal is to let him do it safely without huge drops or huge raises.

Your LC slowed the drop - it's what it does. Now, you should be thinking about the raise that may be needed as your near 50. What are you going to feed, how much, etc. Knowing that those numbers make you panic, get ready for them so that if and when they happen, there's no scrambling, there's no questioning, etc. You know if he drops below 50, to give him 1 tsp of high carb gravy and test again in 15-20 minutes. Lather, rinse, repeat....
 
Re: 10/8 Apollo AMPS 254, + 2 195, +4 86, +4.5 68

Squeaky and KT said:
John - we got both of them dancing today! KT blew me outta the water with a 36 this morning!

BIG hugs,

Woah! You had to be freaking out. I know I was, mostly because I could tell Apollo was starting to show physical signs of hypo.
 
Re: 10/8 Apollo AMPS 254, + 2 195, +4 86, +4.5 68

Jessica & Boo Radley said:
That's great. Being prepared is 99% of the game. Now is a perfect example of how to set yourself up for success (and no panics ;-) ). Let's make the assumption he is going to earn a reduction today. Our goal is to let him do it safely without huge drops or huge raises.

Your LC slowed the drop - it's what it does. Now, you should be thinking about the raise that may be needed as your near 50. What are you going to feed, how much, etc. Knowing that those numbers make you panic, get ready for them so that if and when they happen, there's no scrambling, there's no questioning, etc. You know if he drops below 50, to give him 1 tsp of high carb gravy and test again in 15-20 minutes. Lather, rinse, repeat....

So should I give any LC or let him keep dropping to see if he gets into a reduction zone? Then once he goes under 50 give him the HC? I don't want to artificially bring him up and not let him get his reduction if that's where he is headed.
 
Re: 10/8 Apollo AMPS 254, + 2 195, +4 86, +4.5 68, +5 59

Awesome! You're doing great, it's slowing down a bit and you're nearing your nadir. What a lovely cycle!

I think you made a great call not to feed and I'd continue with that until the numbers say otherwise. Keep on your toes OK?
 
Re: 10/8 Apollo AMPS 254, + 2 195, +4 86, +4.5 68, +5 59

Jessica I think we cross posted. Please see what I wrote above.
 
Re: 10/8 Apollo AMPS 254, + 2 195, +4 86, +4.5 68, +5 59

We did....but the good news is...your instinct was right. Remember...just stay on your toes and know your plan!
 
Re: 10/8 Apollo AMPS 254, +4 86, +4.5 68, +5 59, +5.5 58

I was anxiously awaiting that one! What a great morning for Apollo - this pattern is so healthy and healing for him! What do you think about testing at +45's until you feel good that he isn't dropping anymore - your call!

I'm on my way out John...but I'm confident you know what to do and I'll be anxious to see how it all turned out when I get home later. I sent you my # in a PM the other night, so feel free to use it if you feel like you need it - I don't want to leave you hanging!
 
Re: 10/8 Apollo AMPS 254, +4.5 68, +5 59, +5.5 58, +6.5 59

Perfect...he's setting up a really nice surf. Great management. Glad Jessica was around for you.

It's up to you but I usually test every 30 when my girl is in the 50s.
 
Re: 10/8 Apollo AMPS 254, +5 59, +5.5 58, +6.5 59, +7 49

Apollo's AMPS +7 is 49. Woohoo another dose reduction earned. Just gave him a teaspoon of HC.
 
Re: 10/8 Apollo AMPS 254, +5 59, +5.5 58, +6.5 59, +7 49

Apollo is gonna get reduction after reduction until he reduces himself right out of that insulin! I just looked at his ssheet - it deserves to be framed as a goal!

John, remember when you had to juggle all that 'stuff' to test? Get stuff ready, pokie, get blood, push in strip, draw, rub, all the while still 'fumbling' and took forever to do? I'll bet you worked out every one of those and now you complete it all in seconds...
 
Re: 10/8 Apollo AMPS 254, +5 59, +5.5 58, +6.5 59, +7 49

Squeaky and KT said:
Apollo is gonna get reduction after reduction until he reduces himself right out of that insulin! I just looked at his ssheet - it deserves to be framed as a goal!

John, remember when you had to juggle all that 'stuff' to test? Get stuff ready, pokie, get blood, push in strip, draw, rub, all the while still 'fumbling' and took forever to do? I'll bet you worked out every one of those and now you complete it all in seconds...

Lyresa I sure hope so! He is really responding well.

Yep you are exactly right. The only 2 things I have trouble with is getting a good size drop on 1 prick. Sometimes it takes a few tries. Apollo also doesn't really like it when I hold his ear steady after the prick and he waits for me to do my thing. Other then that it's much easier. Big thanks to Purebites! I wrote the company and thanked them for making such a wonderful product. They responded and asked me if they could use my email as a testimonial. :smile:
 
Re: 10/8 Apollo AMPS 254, +6.5 59, +7 49, +7.5 62, +8.5 55

Apollo's AMPS +8.5 is 55. Just gave him a teaspoon full of HC.
 
Re: 10/8 Apollo AMPS 254, +6.5 59, +7 49, +7.5 62, +8.5 55

Remarkable progress John, for you and Apollo! I used your condos last night for some guidance as Morgaine had her lowest numbers to date. The info in your condos is wonderful. We all learn together.
 
Re: 10/8 Apollo AMPS 254, +6.5 59, +7 49, +7.5 62, +8.5 55

skybar22 said:
Remarkable progress John, for you and Apollo! I used your condos last night for some guidance as Morgaine had her lowest numbers to date. The info in your condos is wonderful. We all learn together.

Thanks. I'm glad we could help. :thumbup
 
Re: 10/8 Apollo AMPS 254, +5 59, +5.5 58, +6.5 59, +7 49

John & Apollo said:
Apollo's AMPS +7 is 49. Woohoo another dose reduction earned. Just gave him a teaspoon of HC.

Look at you...a 49, your excited and not panicked and you did exactly the right thing...WAY TO GO for you, for him and for the reduction!!!! You're becoming an old pro at this ;-) ;-)

And a very nice calm ride back up the ladder.

It looks like the last amount of food was at 8.5....If the numbers stay safe....no more food OK....you don't want to falsely elevate your PMPS so that you can feel comfortable that the number on your meter is the number you're going to shoot or not going to shoot!

Again - so great John! I even love how someone else came by and learned from your Condo.... :thumbup :thumbup
 
Re: 10/8 Apollo PMPS 118, help?

Apollo's PMPS is 118. I'm not sure if I should shot him tonight or not? I am worried he will respond like he did on 10/5 even with the dose reduction. The numbers are very similar.
 
Re: 10/8 Apollo PMPS 118, help?

John & Apollo said:
Apollo's PMPS is 118. I'm not sure if I should shot him tonight or not? I am worried he will respond like he did on 10/5 even with the dose reduction. The numbers are very similar.

It's very possible John.

What specifically worries you about that and in hindsight, if you could change anything about 10/5, what would it be?
 
Re: 10/8 Apollo PMPS 118, help?

Jessica & Boo Radley said:
John & Apollo said:
Apollo's PMPS is 118. I'm not sure if I should shot him tonight or not? I am worried he will respond like he did on 10/5 even with the dose reduction. The numbers are very similar.

It's very possible John.

What specifically worries you about that and in hindsight, if you could change anything about 10/5, what would it be?

Well on 10/5 PMPS +4 he dropped to 36. He showed physical signs of hypo. Ravenously eating, crying, overall acting very strange. It shook me up pretty good. So part of me is seeing the same thing potentially happening tonight if I shoot. I know I can control it with food, but it's taxing on both him and I for him to go through that sort of experience again.

I would have thought when we started on Lantus that he would have been going down or up the ladder very slowly and very controlled on his own, but not that quickly or so sharply that I would have to be there to be his "safety net" constantly. I don't know how people can shoot and leave their cat alone? Maybe Apollo is just unique like that and other cats are more predictable with their numbers? I have no idea how low Apollo will go with each shot I give. Sorry for rambling, just trying to figure out what to do.
 
Re: 10/8 Apollo PMPS 118, help?

Those are very real concerns. I think Apollo's time here has been very unusual, and I would completely agree that right now you guys are on a freight train and I too would be concerned with leaving with the numbers he's been posting. On the other hand, I would LOVE to be in your busy crazy shoes because I think (and it's just my opinions), you are on the fast train to remission. The diet, the insulin.....Apollo is textbook perfection.

Because you now know exactly what to do and how to handle these situations, it becomes about you feeling confident in yourself and knowing that you can be there to watch over and test and that you have the energy to do so.

You can throw in things like stalling to get a higher number (but need to shoot 12 hours tomorrow from that point), you can shoot a smaller dose, or you could skip all together. You've done all of these things over the past few weeks.

What does your gut tell you to do?
 
Re: 10/8 Apollo PMPS 118, help?

My gut tells me to skip.

One other thing that has been bothering me is Apollo just doesn't seem to be eating a lot. He is eating maybe one and a quarter to one and a half 3oz cans (if that) per day. He grazes a lot, but I'm pretty sure he should be eating more. He is a 12 lb cat. He has always been a picky eater. I went back through the food chart and I am going to let him try 5 more healthy options and hopefully he likes them better. The only thing he inhales each and every time is the Purebite chicken treats. We have tried FF Chicken Classic, FF Turkey and Giblets Classic, Wellness Chicken, Wellness Turkey, Wellness Chicken and Herring and with all of those his food intake has been about the same. Initially when we switched from dry to wet he ate much more then he is now.

Even if I sprinkle it with Fortiflora and purebites on top he will eat some, but mostly just lick the surface of the food and not lick down to the bottom of the plate.
 
Re: 10/8 Apollo PMPS 118, help?

Then enjoy the well deserved break tonight and refuel!

Why don't you post over on Main Health for some suggestions on picky eaters....I know people have all kinds of tricks (like parmesan cheese sprinkled on!).
 
Skipping a shot really isn't your best choice. Shooting a reduced dose is better than shooting nothing at all. You may be setting yourself up for a setback. I know it's hard to devote so much time (and get so little sleep) to your kitty, but you're at the point where it looks like Apollo is really trying to get off the juice. If you continue to be vigilient, give up your social life and sleep for just a bit longer, you may find that Apollo is OTJ and you get your life back. This will happen quicker if you don't skip shots. I know how hard it is...I'm single and doing this on my own, too. I've actually gotten Champ almost off insulin when he got sick and we've had to start over from scratch. Talk about an awful feeling!! Because Apollo was a dry food only cat before and is now strictly on wet, you have a very good chance of remission with him. Champ is a picky eater, too, and won't eat the Wellness unless he has Purebites liberally sprinkled all over. With the FF, try the beef feast, chunky chcken, chunky turkey, and beef and chicken. Those seem to be good ones to try for picky cats. The chunky ones especially because they have chunks in them and I think the cats think they're getting a treat or something. All of these foods are considered LC.

Good luck with everything.
 
John - clarification in your concern please:

a) He's not eating what he USED to eat

or

b) he's not eating enough to keep him healthy?

He used to be feeding the diabetes instead of his body. Much of it wasn't being used but now that his numbers are getting low, his body can USE the food correctly thus needing less.
 
Well he used to free feed dry (no clue how much he ate) and then we switched him to all wet. When we first started on Lantus he was eating about two 3oz cans a day or slightly more.

I understand his body needs less food as we get better control of the diabetes, but my concern is this new "normal" for him is still not enough food to maintain a healthy weight. Does that make sense?

Apollo has always had a little pouch of fat/loose skin in his tummy, but his back end (hips and tail connection area) has become very thin over the past year. I want to make sure he is eating enough to gain some of that muscle loss from the diabetes back or is that just not going to happen?
 
Hi, John,

So happy to see Apollo making this progress, though I know it isn't easy on you.

You're getting great insulin input, so I wanted to just offer this about food, in case these are things you're not already doing. When I really wanted Kitty to eat, I would add some water to the FF, microwave it for about 8 seconds so it had more smell, and spread it out on the plate so it made a think layer BEFORE adding the chicken treats. I would then hold the plate right under his nose, so he could smell it. He always would snack with the plate right in front of him, and he ended up eating more food, because he couldn't avoid eating it to get at all the treats.

I recently gave Kitty the option of FF Tender Beef again. I know there are arguments against the beef, but he hates the Turkey, won't touch the chicken. It has 6 carbs. Might be worth a try for those times you really want him to eat.
 
John:

I also have to agree with Patty. Apollo seems to be on a mission and the best way to get him there is to "shoot the 12s" unless the kitty is below 50 and is not coming up or unless he has dropping low numbers and is not coming up. Tonight...he was on the way up and this is a very, very shootable number provided you are there to monitor him. Occasionally when a kitty is zooming down the dosing scale and is throwing nothing but green, skipping a shot to drain the shed a bit isn't a bad idea. But if you are there to monitor, it's best to give him some insulin......IMHO.
 
I just went back to BKs ss, to see if I was shooting green when he was at 1.5u. I was, however we came to it from a different place - ECID
In a 3 week period BK went from 4.0u to 1.5u. He was flying down with a serious momentum.
Going quickly down the dosing ladder is very emotional and it's really all you've known with Lantus - just the going down the dosing ladder side.
You have not experienced the other side of the lantus sugar dance, the steady march UP the dosing ladder, hoping each time that this will be "the" dose, waiting for a breakthrough, in a seemingly endless sea of relentless pinks.. . Some of us for weeks, some of us for months, some of us for years. Those of us that are coming or have come from that place see your journey from a different perspective.
Apollos ss is full of good news and great momentum, what everyone hopes for.

I've done my share of shot skipping and BCS doses. it's hard to feel your way through these rapid changes. Be mindful that stalls can happen (*anti-jinx*) and having to go back up the ladder is a drag.

You will one day shoot green. You'll know when.
 
Sandy, I loved what you said and how you said it. And I felt each word!!! Champ is a prime example of the going up, searching for the break, coming down, scared at first and then feeling like a pro, making your way back up and wondering what's going on....we're still on the way up and searching...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top