Jessica & Boo Radley said:John,
Can you feed just a bit of LC (maybe an ounce). LC helps to slow things down. It generally won't halt, but he may just need an ease.
+30 will tell!
John & Apollo said:Yeah I have really learned a lot and do feel more confident, but it still causes a bit of panic to see him dropping so fast and getting down so low. I'm getting more comfortable with it though.
Squeaky and KT said:John - we got both of them dancing today! KT blew me outta the water with a 36 this morning!
BIG hugs,
Jessica & Boo Radley said:That's great. Being prepared is 99% of the game. Now is a perfect example of how to set yourself up for success (and no panics ;-) ). Let's make the assumption he is going to earn a reduction today. Our goal is to let him do it safely without huge drops or huge raises.
Your LC slowed the drop - it's what it does. Now, you should be thinking about the raise that may be needed as your near 50. What are you going to feed, how much, etc. Knowing that those numbers make you panic, get ready for them so that if and when they happen, there's no scrambling, there's no questioning, etc. You know if he drops below 50, to give him 1 tsp of high carb gravy and test again in 15-20 minutes. Lather, rinse, repeat....
Squeaky and KT said:Apollo is gonna get reduction after reduction until he reduces himself right out of that insulin! I just looked at his ssheet - it deserves to be framed as a goal!
John, remember when you had to juggle all that 'stuff' to test? Get stuff ready, pokie, get blood, push in strip, draw, rub, all the while still 'fumbling' and took forever to do? I'll bet you worked out every one of those and now you complete it all in seconds...
skybar22 said:Remarkable progress John, for you and Apollo! I used your condos last night for some guidance as Morgaine had her lowest numbers to date. The info in your condos is wonderful. We all learn together.
John & Apollo said:Apollo's AMPS +7 is 49. Woohoo another dose reduction earned. Just gave him a teaspoon of HC.
John & Apollo said:Apollo's PMPS is 118. I'm not sure if I should shot him tonight or not? I am worried he will respond like he did on 10/5 even with the dose reduction. The numbers are very similar.
Jessica & Boo Radley said:John & Apollo said:Apollo's PMPS is 118. I'm not sure if I should shot him tonight or not? I am worried he will respond like he did on 10/5 even with the dose reduction. The numbers are very similar.
It's very possible John.
What specifically worries you about that and in hindsight, if you could change anything about 10/5, what would it be?