? 10/8 AMPS 482, PMPS 547, +5 141, +10 325, 10/9 PMPS 665

Nancy S

Member Since 2021
My vet instructed me to up the Lantus to 5U. She has unsuccessfully been on Lantus for 4 months. 6 weeks ago she had i-131 to remedy hyperthyroid. The vet thinks her insulin requirement has increased due to that so he has upped the Lantus pretty quickly. She seems to be having a swing today. In general for the past week she has been very lethargic, and has neuropathy which is worsening daily. I have adjusted all the variables that I am able to, except the insulin dose and type. Should I switch to Levemir? How much longer should I give it?
Should I switch vets? I just need something positive. Advice?
 
She hasn’t been on insulin very long. She needed the increase for sure but I would give 4.5 tge 6 cycles. If it turns out that she needs a high dose then lev might be better as lantus can sting in large doses. You aren’t there yet. Tagging Wendy for another opinion. @Wendy&Neko
 
The hyperthyroid can influence BG numbers. How has your cat been adjusting to the i-131 treatment?

It's important to get at least one test during the PM cycle. As you saw last night, your cat's numbers dropped to 140. Many cats experience lower numbers during the PM cycle and this may trigger a bounce back into high numbers shortly thereafter. Bounces occur if your cat drops into low numbers, drops into lower numbers than she's used to, or if the numbers drop quickly. When this happens, the liver and pancreas release a stored form of glucose along with counter regulatory hormones which cause numbers to spike upward. I'm guessing there have been more lower numbers at night and much of what you're seeing during the AM cycle is due to bouncing. With TR, you need to get at minimum, a "before bed" test every night. Without PM tests, you're missing half of your data.
 
Sorry for the late reply - it's Canadian Thanksgiving weekend here.

The others have summed it up nicely. Hold the dose at least six cycles for now, get some night time tests so you know you aren't missing any lows. If you are noticing your kitty react to the shot, then it might be time to consider a switch to Levemir. But otherwise we suggest people try an insulin for six months before switching. Unless of course the dose gets higher or you are seeing a reaction to Lantus's acid base at shot time.
 
Back
Top