10/8 Alice AMPS HI, PM 162, the end-tomorrow.

I'm sorry Alice is not feeling well. Sometimes when different conditions and medical issues come into play at the same time, their little bodies just have a tough time dealing with so much. I hope this link will help, I have been where you are a few times. It would be so much easier if they could tell us how they are feeling, but any choice made with love for your fur baby is always the right choice.

Making the decision
 
5437673C-FB6A-4D3C-8EC0-7B5E8756A406.jpeg
CE33CF3F-6F4C-454A-A576-84E8BE873CF4.jpeg
5339D763-8878-46CD-9042-799F171604E8.jpeg
D2FC0C74-F5E0-408E-BF4D-DFD8F5B8F177.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • 5437673C-FB6A-4D3C-8EC0-7B5E8756A406.jpeg
    5437673C-FB6A-4D3C-8EC0-7B5E8756A406.jpeg
    112.3 KB · Views: 256
  • CE33CF3F-6F4C-454A-A576-84E8BE873CF4.jpeg
    CE33CF3F-6F4C-454A-A576-84E8BE873CF4.jpeg
    75.7 KB · Views: 238
  • 5339D763-8878-46CD-9042-799F171604E8.jpeg
    5339D763-8878-46CD-9042-799F171604E8.jpeg
    58.8 KB · Views: 232
  • D2FC0C74-F5E0-408E-BF4D-DFD8F5B8F177.jpeg
    D2FC0C74-F5E0-408E-BF4D-DFD8F5B8F177.jpeg
    53 KB · Views: 268
Got 150mL subq in earlier. What else can I do to make her more comfortable? I have Cerenia, ondansetron, and had just bought famotidine. Anything I can give her for her probable nausea? It has been 22 hours since Cerenia, she could probably have it early? Should I still keep making her syringe feed a little?
 
Cassandra, nobody could have given Alice better care than you have and I really mean that. You have gone above and beyond to do the best you could do, especially with all the challenges she has had with her health.

I think you know what you need to do and nothing I or anybody else can say is going to make that decision any easier. Alice has fought the good fight, with you in her corner every step of the way but it really does sound like it's time to let her go.

Do what you can to make her comfortable. I wouldn't force her to eat if she doesn't want to. At the end, it's normal for the body to start rejecting food. It's preparing for death.

I wish I had a magic pill or some sage advice for you, but all I can offer you is my deepest sympathy for what you're going through and to let you know that I understand how hard this is. I'm always available to talk if you need to. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Cassandra , I just wanted to say my heart goes out to you and your precious
Alice. . Looking at her pictures I'm crying like a baby.
I just had to let my cat Perry go 2 days ago.
Tyler is the diabetic and Perry was his brother who had kidney disease..
I didn't want to let him go but I didn't want to watch him not eating, starting to hide and was very week.
I could see it in his eyes that he felt awful
I just couldn't stand to see him like that

I had to let him go. I'm crying for Alice right now and you.
I'm crying for my Perry

We are all here to support and comfort you
My prayers are with you and your precious Alice ♥♥:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
My heart goes out. I do think it's time. Alice fought hard and long. It's time for peace.

I wanted Ollie to stay with me with every breathe I took. But nothing no matter how hard or long we tried would be permanent fix and only delay the inevitable.

Tonight cuddle and love on her. Let her know she was the best and you will miss her but you will be okay. Like people they need to hear it also.

:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Alice is SO beautiful. My heart goes out to you & to her. You have been an awesome mama/caregiver to her. Sometimes, as with our human loved ones, we have to let them know, when it might be their time, that we are OK with them letting go, to be without pain, and feeling all the love we give to make that transition. When this time occurs, we all want to hold on longer, but we delay the inevitable for our own needs. I wish you peace. I wish Alice comfort & peace. Know that whatever way you choose to think or act is out of love.....may your heart & and Alice guide you to maybe the most difficult decision that you may have to make. Love and light to you both. <3
 
She’s very constipated. Been trying all day. Had a bit of stool crowning, I was able to remove what was out. It she is still trying, slowly.... she can only lay down so she can’t crouch into a good position to help with elimination.

she had 1/8tsp miralax about an hour ago and another 150mL subq just now

earlier I let her lick some friskies gravy.
 
Hi Cassandra , I just wanted to say my heart goes out to you and your precious
Alice. . Looking at her pictures I'm crying like a baby.
I just had to let my cat Perry go 2 days ago.
Tyler is the diabetic and Perry was his brother who had kidney disease..
I didn't want to let him go but I didn't want to watch him not eating, starting to hide and was very week.
I could see it in his eyes that he felt awful
I just couldn't stand to see him like that

I had to let him go. I'm crying for Alice right now and you.
I'm crying for my Perry

We are all here to support and comfort you
My prayers are with you and your precious Alice ♥♥:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:


:bighug::bighug::bighug:
we lost Alice’s brother 7 years ago and my heart has never stopped breaking for that loss.
I am so sorry you lost Perry.
It will always be too soon.
 
Funny how bright and clear she looks now
PM is 162, no shot, she doesn’t want food anyway

CE4522D3-BDB3-4878-9416-75A2D1F0DCF0.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • CE4522D3-BDB3-4878-9416-75A2D1F0DCF0.jpeg
    CE4522D3-BDB3-4878-9416-75A2D1F0DCF0.jpeg
    47.9 KB · Views: 200
So she ate a little. Just barely. Some extra gravy friskies beef, she even tried to take a couple actual bites, not just lick it. I got up from the bed thinking she wouldn’t try to move off of it, I had layered blankets and a pretty pad and litter boxes even on the bed for her.

I was out of the room and heard a thump! And came in to find her belly flat on the ground in the spot where she likes to jump down to go to her box—except this time I didn’t have any carpets down or anything. :(



The weird thing is like she... has sort of perked up. Is acting slightly stronger. I’m trying to let go and I don’t know whether to hold onto hope.


Poor baby genuinely is trying to still pass this stool. It’s right there but she doesn’t have the muscle to push it bough for how dry it is. She also got into the low-sided litter box and peed. She can barely walk, and won’t even tuck her legs underneath her now because she is weak.

I just don’t know. She was purring in my arms earlier. I just don’t know.
 
I just don’t know. She was purring in my arms earlier. I just don’t know.

Cat's purr when they're in pain, when they're under stress and a host of other reasons other than being happy or content.

Something that's seen a lot (in both humans and pets)....once a decision has been made to let them go, they seem to rally. Why? I don't know but I suspect it may have something to do with them somehow "knowing" that their struggle is almost over.

Also, again for unknown reason's, a lot of times right before passing (humans and pets) they have a short time when they're almost back to where they were before whatever disease process started taking them down. I saw it in both my dad and my mom who both had several days of lucidity (after not being able to remember what they had for lunch 2 minutes ago) as well as extra energy. My dad knew who I was for the first time in years and my mom was telling me she needed me to buy her some new clothes because she had lost weight. Both of them looked better than they had in a long time. We've heard the same kind of things happening to our kitties when their time was short. It's like a final "goodbye....remember me how I was, not how I am".

The only thing I'll add is that it's better a day too early, than a moment too late. You don't want her last minutes or hours on this earth to be her worst.

The decision is totally up to you though and we'll all be here no matter what you decide. This is always going to be the hardest decision you'll have to make, but any decision made out of love is the right one.
 
So she ate a little. Just barely. Some extra gravy friskies beef, she even tried to take a couple actual bites, not just lick it. I got up from the bed thinking she wouldn’t try to move off of it, I had layered blankets and a pretty pad and litter boxes even on the bed for her.

I was out of the room and heard a thump! And came in to find her belly flat on the ground in the spot where she likes to jump down to go to her box—except this time I didn’t have any carpets down or anything. :(



The weird thing is like she... has sort of perked up. Is acting slightly stronger. I’m trying to let go and I don’t know whether to hold onto hope.


Poor baby genuinely is trying to still pass this stool. It’s right there but she doesn’t have the muscle to push it bough for how dry it is. She also got into the low-sided litter box and peed. She can barely walk, and won’t even tuck her legs underneath her now because she is weak.

I just don’t know. She was purring in my arms earlier. I just don’t know.

Those sound like improvements to me. I hope she's continued to improve. I think at minimum getting a vet to check her out today would be a good idea, either to deal with that stool if she hasn't passed it or to say goodbye if it's time.
 
I'm so sorry for what you and for baby are going through. I don't know you, yet I'm sitting here in tears reading these posts and looking at her pictures. She seems so fragile.

Cats purr to self soothe as well. Just love her and cuddle her every moment you can. My heart breaks for you and your baby. :bighug:
 
Last edited:
Cassandra, please Alice knows it's time, she knows you are okay because you told her. She is counting on you today to do what is best for her like you have all along. Don't let her down now.

:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:

ETA. Ollie let me hold her which she never allowed. She nuzzled her face in my neck and purred her fabulous sound as they gave the drug. Her way of saying thank you mom. This was in July.

3 days before, my father who was unresponsive for a few days. Squeezed my hand as I said "it's time to go dad, I'll walk you to the gate, say hi to mom for me, I'll be okay". And he slipped away.
 
Last edited:
Cassandra, I'm so sorry for you!:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug: I went through the exact same thing 12 days ago with my little girl Zoé; she was down to 4lbs, not eating and could hardly walk...:(
It's a very hard decision to take and if you do, enjoy your last moments together! Hold her in your arms and talk to her, she'll feel you're doing this for her!
Sending you love and strength !
 
Back
Top