? 10/8/18 Hobbes Hypo readings day 2

Hobbes Mom

Member Since 2018
Hi!
We adjusted our 2 unit dose of Lantus to 1.5, Saturday.. We ended up spending our entire day online managing his hypo #’s with food. We did get him back up but his numbers have been low ever since. FYI he has never shown any signs of being hypo, even at his lowest he seems normal? Sunday AMPS was 150, we gave him ONE UNIT.(down from 1.5 to 1) His +4 was 47! We battled that for the next 5 hours(with syrup and HC food) ranging between 46 and 61. At PMPS he was 122 and we didn’t shoot. Now....it’s Monday we have not had insulin for 24 hours. We checked 3 times, 5:30 am 176 6:30 am 162, and 7:30 am AMPS 173, we gave him 1 unit. ? What is going on with him? I cannot stay home another day to check him every hour? He went from doing OK on 2 units, down to 1.5, skipped a dose and now we’re at 1 unit, In just 3 days.
 
If no insulin in 24 hrs. You don't have to worry about hypos. Just feed low carb food and test at normal PS times and try to get a test in +6 or +7. Don't be surprised if it turns out he needs .25 or maybe just a drop of insulin for a bit. He could be diet controlled.
 
FWIW Max dropped as low as the 30’s but never showed hypo symptoms. Hope Hobbes is becoming diet controlled.
 
Hi there,
Haven't visited with you before, so firstly welcome.
Well your boy has been giving you a run for your money recently.
With the dose going up and down over the last few days it's difficult to figure out what a good dose might be, flip flopping with the dose can make the numbers wonky as the depot readjusts after each dose adjustment.
So going forward, it would be good if you could find a dose that you could shoot consistently, at least for a few days, to get a real idea of what the insulin is doing for him (he may of course have other ideas)

FWIW, I do think 2u is too much insulin for him at this stage, and looking at the the 3 cycles he had on 1.5u and then the am cycle of 10/7 where he dropped to below 50 (that cycle was probably largely driven by the depot of the larger 1.5u dose) and would earn you a reduction.

Did you decide on a protocol/dosing method?

Since you shot 1u this morning I would see if you could stick with that going forward, it's probably not far of being a good dose for him at this time. But it's probably going to involve some relatively close monitoring to be sure he is safe, as I said it's difficult with the data you have at the moment to figure out for certain. It could just as easily be a little bit too much for him and you could find yourself fighting low numbers before too long.
An alternative would be to take him down a tad more to 0.75 or 0.5u, to give yourself some breathing space, if the numbers don't pan out you could come back up again. (taking him down to 0.5u, will likely be too much of a reduction and it would not be surprising to see his numbers rising, and for you to have to come back up again)
 
We had a very similar situation a few weeks ago. We had been at 2.5u for awhile and then Grandpa had a pancreatitis flare and an ear infection. He dropped to very low numbers for him so we stopped insulin for a few days. His numbers stayed blue. Someone here told me that he was probably still using his depot. They were right and he moved into the 200s after the depot emptied. We have been able to achieve good numbers ever since at .5 or .25, though. I don't know what happened, but I'm happy giving lower doses.
 
Back
Top