LaurenandGouda
Member Since 2018
Hi there, new to FDMB. I have recently transitioned my cat Gouda to all wet food diet. I took it upon myself, against my vet's advice, to switch him to high protein/low carb wet food (FF Classic) without option to free-feed on any dry food. He is taking well to it so far. Previously he was on Hill's d/m wet and dry. per vet's advice. My vet supports and appreciates my home testing but after reviewing my spreadsheet, now wants us to increase Lantus dose to 3.5 units, twice a day, with wet/dry Hill's d/m. I think this is too much.
I know my spreadsheet seems all over the place... this is because at first, I followed the vet's orders. Now I have changed my ways and I am trying to take tips from the SLGS method, even though we technically never "started low" since vet started us at one whole unit twice a day.
Today, Gouda has particularly low numbers. He is still receiving 2 units 2x/day. I don't have a lot of data from today but the AMPS was 244 and the +11 was 87. I waited to feed and tested an hour later, and the +12 (PMPS) was 71. Since his number was less than 150 and since he wasn't climbing as time went on, I decided to feed him and skip the shot altogether.
I am scared to sleep through the night without testing him, because I've never experienced him in low range. I don't know how to decrease the dosage in a safe way but feel like he might be better off at 1 unit 2x/day. How do you suggest I decrease his dosage, and over what period of time? Do I decrease in units of 0.25 over a week? I only recently switched him to wet food only, and even more recently to Fancy Feast (instead of the higher carb wet food that is Hill's d/m). I don't want to skip insulin shots because it scares me. But maybe this is OK? Just trying to "get to know my cat"... don't have enough data but don't want to keep over-carbing him because I am scared to leave him for 8 hours at a time.
Thank you for reading and for any advice or suggestions.
Some background...
My name is Lauren. My husband and I adopted our male cat Gouda from a rescue in 2015. He is an 7 year old Scottish Fold with straight ears. He was diagnosed on 7/24/2018. He has been on Lantus since diagnosis. I have home-tested since the beginning, because I was fortunate enough to find FDMB in my fervent researching phase, post-diagnosis. I use ReliOn Confirm Micro human meter. On weekdays I try to get a test in the morning before work and 3-4 in the evening when I get home. That's ideal. On weekends, I try to test every two hours, since I am still in the beginning phase and I am adamant on collecting as much data as I can. I know my sheet seems all over the place My vet supports and appreciates my home testing but continues to give me advise to raise the dose of insulin, feed Hills M/D wet food twice a day and to allow Gouda to free feed on Hills M/D dry food throughout the day. I do not agree with this due to my research so far. So, I have completely switched Gouda to Fancy Feast Classic Line, a high protein, low carb wet food, twice a day only. No dry food.
I know my spreadsheet seems all over the place... this is because at first, I followed the vet's orders. Now I have changed my ways and I am trying to take tips from the SLGS method, even though we technically never "started low" since vet started us at one whole unit twice a day.
Today, Gouda has particularly low numbers. He is still receiving 2 units 2x/day. I don't have a lot of data from today but the AMPS was 244 and the +11 was 87. I waited to feed and tested an hour later, and the +12 (PMPS) was 71. Since his number was less than 150 and since he wasn't climbing as time went on, I decided to feed him and skip the shot altogether.
I am scared to sleep through the night without testing him, because I've never experienced him in low range. I don't know how to decrease the dosage in a safe way but feel like he might be better off at 1 unit 2x/day. How do you suggest I decrease his dosage, and over what period of time? Do I decrease in units of 0.25 over a week? I only recently switched him to wet food only, and even more recently to Fancy Feast (instead of the higher carb wet food that is Hill's d/m). I don't want to skip insulin shots because it scares me. But maybe this is OK? Just trying to "get to know my cat"... don't have enough data but don't want to keep over-carbing him because I am scared to leave him for 8 hours at a time.
Thank you for reading and for any advice or suggestions.
Some background...
My name is Lauren. My husband and I adopted our male cat Gouda from a rescue in 2015. He is an 7 year old Scottish Fold with straight ears. He was diagnosed on 7/24/2018. He has been on Lantus since diagnosis. I have home-tested since the beginning, because I was fortunate enough to find FDMB in my fervent researching phase, post-diagnosis. I use ReliOn Confirm Micro human meter. On weekdays I try to get a test in the morning before work and 3-4 in the evening when I get home. That's ideal. On weekends, I try to test every two hours, since I am still in the beginning phase and I am adamant on collecting as much data as I can. I know my sheet seems all over the place My vet supports and appreciates my home testing but continues to give me advise to raise the dose of insulin, feed Hills M/D wet food twice a day and to allow Gouda to free feed on Hills M/D dry food throughout the day. I do not agree with this due to my research so far. So, I have completely switched Gouda to Fancy Feast Classic Line, a high protein, low carb wet food, twice a day only. No dry food.