10/7 Toby's PMS=451+3=370+6=126+7=165+9=241

Status
Not open for further replies.

Peg and Toby

Member Since 2014
Only Tested to +4 last night which was 355. Had the bounce of 561 for the PMS so didn't think he would go to low last night.
DH checked on him in the night. I was just to exhausted to get up last night. He's doing better just hope I can keep up with
the pace. Wish I could get a pharmacy in Canada closer to Maine. The one I called is in British Columbia. Marks Marine
Pharmacy. Don't know if one is closer or not. He went down to 182 yesterday do I still increase to .05 again tonight or should
I let him clear the bounce? Well have a good day, Peg and Toby
 
Re: 10/7 Toby's AMS=491+4=312+7=380

Don't know if I did this right but, went up to 7.75 tonight. Every day now he seems better. His hair is shiny now and tonight he
jumped on my computer desk which he hasn't done in quite a while. I know his numbers are high but he up moving around all the time now. Maybe we are getting closer to the right dose. Peg and Toby
 
Re: 10/7 Toby's PMS=451

that's a great sign - how he feels says a lot! That's why we encourage people to give a "whole cat report" every day. Seems like hair tells the blood sugar story too.

I'd have been torn about his dose if i'd seen the 182 before you'd shot, but since you increased let's see what he does with it. I think it was a good choice, given his whole picture.
 
Re: 10/7 Toby's PMS=451

Hi Peg,

I'm just bumping up your post so that you can get more eyes on the dosing question/decision. Sorry no one caught it earlier.

Any time you have a question, you can click on the "?" icon on the first post in your thread. You can also put the question in your subject line. Usually, those two things will draw more eyes to your condo.


EDIT: I went to post this and saw that Julie had already responded, so just ignore what I was originally going to say!

That's great news that he's feeling better, regardless of what the numbers actually say. :-D

Good luck with the dosecrease!
Shelly
 
Re: 10/7 Toby's PMS=451

I didn't know if I was supposed to do .25 or stay the same or do .5. Where he was high I just went with the .5. What was I
supposed to do it this situation according to protocol? You said you were torn with the dose. What did you mean did you think
I should have held the 7.25 units. Peg and Toby
 
Re: 10/7 Toby's PMS=451

If we didn't think he had some sort of insulin resistance going on, I'd have stayed a little longer with the current dose.

As far as dose increases, the 0.25u that is the "standard" for increases is too small of an increase once you get past about 6.0u. When we get into larger doses, we think in terms of percentages. For a cat on 1.0u, a 0.25u increase is an increase of 25%. At 10.0, that would be the equivalent of a 2.5u increase.

Cats are different, however, in how they respond to dose increases. Even over 10u I found punkin would respond to a 0.25u increase, so sometimes i did that. In your case, though, with some obvious insulin resistance, i think what you did was fine.

Now we watch and see how he responds to it, and then it will let you know for the future what you might do next time.
 
Re: 10/7 Toby's PMS=451

The protocol says to hold a little longer if you are seeing nadirs under 200. However, it was a high blue and it would be good to see some action on the rest of the numbers on the cycle. I think you were OK with increasing, but if you see blue again the next dose, maybe ask before increasing. As for amounts, a .5U increase is good. As the doses get higher (over 5 U) we recommend going to .5U increases. If you think about it, as a percentage increase, the .5U over 5U is the same as a .25U increase for a 2.5U dose. If you do start to see consistent green nadirs, that's when you might slow down to .25U increase. Which would be nice to do so you can get back on the syringe lines again. ;-)
 
Re: 10/7 Toby's PMS=451+3=370+6=126+7=165

Toby's in the blue again at +6=126 and after he ate 1hr later he at 165. Usually he is high after a dose increase. Will check in 2 more hrs to see where he is then. Suspect he will bounce again. Peg and Toby
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top