10/7 Sootie vetty update

Status
Not open for further replies.

HWright

Member Since 2016
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...ce-please-bg-all-over-the-place-today.166243/

Starting today's thread with today's vet visit update that I wrote on yesterday's condo:

@Wendy&Neko, @Marje and Gracie, @Gussie's mom

". Hi, [not started a new thread yet for the day]...(and will try some lingo!) but here's the skinny on today's vet visit with Sootie (and my 18-yr old renal civvie Azalea who gets miserable recurring mouth infections).

The place was full of big loud noisy droolers, more so bc of pre-holiday weekend panics. One drooler was an exotic mix breed bulldog kind of a mess after birthing 10 pups at home (8 survived and were smooshed together in one not big enough carrier, exuding intense pee). Sootie and azalea not happy around noisy panicky droolers.

Sootie's exam: no bloodwork or ua today bc she was totally stressed. But is being scheduled for ultrasound, blood work and UA to be on Tuesday or Wednesday morning. He's been our vet since Sootie was a kitten, so we know each other and read each other pretty well. The intensity of his look during palpating pretty much said it all. He was concerned about a tumor that is either new or has been undetectable til now and might have been the initial reason for FD onset.

Sootie's mentor Hoppy, who I have not mentioned til now bc still heartbroken, was Dx'd FD when he was 16, had four good years on Lantus, but then everything went awry on a dime and turned out he had fast spreading pancreatic cancer and joined the spirits a month later, three years ago. Today's suggestion was like a hit in the solar plexus.

Hoping for a false alarm. Prayers and healing vines please for Sootie please...:( "

SS updated with this morning's bg etc. Haven't retested since we got home, letting her unwind from vetty trek.
 
Oh no. I'm hoping this is a false alarm. Prayers and vines.
Thank you. :(When Sootie was dx' fd (a year ago today, ironically), I had Deja vu hoping it wasn't bc of cancer. Times such as these are when I hope for and will be glad to be wrong. Time for reading up, just in case. it's been a few years re the subject of cancer, insulin and diabetes. Suggestions welcome. :bookworm:
 
Sorry you had such a bad vet waiting experience. By contrast, today was the first time ever Neko was at the specialist vet with no other animal in the waiting room. All that noise and smell definitely makes a difference. I susually spray Neko's carrier with Feliway before we leave, and if I have enough advance notice, I try a couple drops of Rescue Remedy before hand. That seems to help make for a calmer experience. Paws crossed the further tests planned show nothing untoward. :bighug:
 
Sounds like today was very stressful for you both! I will be sending lots of vines to you and Sootie and hope that you will have answers soon and that they it will something very treatable. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Sorry you had such a bad vet waiting experience. By contrast, today was the first time ever Neko was at the specialist vet with no other animal in the waiting room. All that noise and smell definitely makes a difference. I susually spray Neko's carrier with Feliway before we leave, and if I have enough advance notice, I try a couple drops of Rescue Remedy before hand. That seems to help make for a calmer experience. Paws crossed the further tests planned show nothing untoward. :bighug:

It's rarely as chaotic there as it was this morning. The staff are really good about managing waiting room animal situations that can inivitably occur. The few times that I recall during the past 15-16 years, it's been bc of horrendous emergencies all at once or droolers who get aggressive with other Droolers and the owners were oblivious. Even the house cats, usually very visible, had hightailed it to the back. Felt very sad about the dog with large litter bc could see that there were problems... And though the staff and my vet are too discreet to say anything or show visible distress to others, this was the one time I could see them having a hard time with what they saw and were going to have to address. I worked for a vet many years ago, and what an eye opener/education that was about everything including seeing the best and the worst in human nature.

Rescue remedy is great stuff. Rarely do I use it before vet visits because all but one (Bella who, even now, still panics when she thinks she's going to be the one one in a carrier because She still associates it with being dumped with her bff' at a high kill shelter by her lifelong family when she was 10. Rescue remedy an essential for Bella).

Wendy, you have your plate more than full and lots of healing vines for you and your Neko. I thank you again for all. Yes, a long weekend ahead, one that I hope with be smooth sailing -- including surfing! --- for all. :bighug::bighug:
 
Last edited:
Sounds like today was very stressful for you both! I will be sending lots of vines to you and Sootie and hope that you will have answers soon and that they it will something very treatable. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thank you! And hope all will have crisis-free days and years ahead. Let's get through the weekend, that sounds like a plan?! ;)
 
Awww E.D., that's a heck of a blow..hoping with all my heart that it turns out to be a false alarm. :bighug::bighug::bighug: Reliving The past experience had to hurt:(:bighug:
Sending tons and tons of vines ( good vibes):bighug::bighug::bighug:
H.H.
 
I'm so very sorry but I'm hoping perhaps what he's feeling is just thickened intestines from something more like IBD? I hope she starts to feel better and the ultrasound will give you the info you need.

Hugs for you....I'm so sure it was very hard to hear after Hoppy's dx. I hope Bo is doing well.
 
Awww E.D., that's a heck of a blow..hoping with all my heart that it turns out to be a false alarm. :bighug::bighug::bighug: Reliving The past experience had to hurt:(:bighug:
Sending tons and tons of vines ( good vibes):bighug::bighug::bighug:
H.H.
Dear H.H. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug: Thank you, :);):bighug: Hearts hugs and healing vines vibes for you and Gussie too. You're both glorious! Heading to beddy, Sootie eating more just now...coos and hugs and plenty of paw and hand in heart together ..and a freeze dried minnow..yummy (no honey dipped this time)!, her bg good, .... new day tomorrow... ;):) :bighug::bighug:E.D.
 
I'm so very sorry but I'm hoping perhaps what he's feeling is just thickened intestines from something more like IBD? I hope she starts to feel better and the ultrasound will give you the info you need.

Hugs for you....I'm so sure it was very hard to hear after Hoppy's dx. I hope Bo is doing well.
Thank you Marje. She's just eaten a bit more (as per my reply to gussies mom above). Night air quite pleasant tonight so we've continued to keep the door open to the little upstairs screened in porch, one of Sootie's fave places. Earlier this evening she enjoyed going back and forth checking out the backyard 'night life.' That's good. But didn't want her bff's to join in while she was there. So they took turns, working it out on their own,

Thanks too for asking about Bo. He's hanging in...waning a bit in the leg and balance strength he regained, but keeps on keeping on in his inimitable way, amazing fella. Til soon and
:bighug::):bighug: Sina
 
You asked about dosing yesterday - many people can get a dose less than 0.1u. Measure up 0.1u, aim the needle at the ceiling and squeeze it out by drops. Count the drops and repeat. You want to be able to replicate the dose. Some people find success by "screwing" the plunger in when squeezing out drops.

Once you can replicate the process and are measuring consistently, you decrease the number of drops.

Another smaller dose is to just push the plunger in hard, insert it in the insulin, then release the plunger and let it vacuum back up a tiny drop.

I'm mentioning those because if you find that you can't give the 0.1u both am and pm, you might do better to try to reduce the dose so you can give it twice a day.

On the other hand, i think there is nothing wrong with what you're doing right now - I'm just offering a way that might work to get the same dose in am and pm.

Your comment about Hoppy touched my heart. We never stop loving those sweet little ones that we've bonded with.

I hope you get some good news from your vet. Healing vines to Sootie!
 
Good morning Julie and thank you :bighug:
I'll soon be starting new condo for today but wanted to reply to yours above first.
Though I keep the MICRODOSING sticky on home screen for quick reference (and refer to it often), your description of how to nuance doses helps very much to hold that process visually in my brain. Thank you.

And thanks for your assurances about how were proceeding here, holding all possibilities open, and going with the flow of fine tuning according to all that is Sootie's "Sootie speak."

Thank you, too, for your loving thoughts for Hoppy. yes they are with us, in the hearts and beings of their two footer and four footer families, always. Here I'd insert an emoji of a big heart!

Til soon and hoping for good surfing days for all. :):bighug::)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top