10/7 PMPS = 554. Need advice.

Steve and Buddy

Member Since 2019
I don't speak much, but I'm on here often. Read alot, and learned a ton of knowledge. Well Buddy had a 554 PMPS. Ouch. I think he's SS warrants a 2.5 to a 2.75. Which I did. I did a curve a couple weeks a go. And looking at the SS. His Am mid cycles likes yellows. Asking advice. What would you do?
 
I would increase to 2.75 units. Your signature doesn’t say which dosing method you are following, but you are holding doses too long for either one. With SLGS you hold a week, do a curve, then increase if the nadirs aren’t between 90 to 149 yet. If following TR, you would increase sooner.

More important than numbers, how is Buddy feeling and doing?
 
One more thing, it is really important to get more night time data. Many cats go lower at night, and we determine how to change doses based on those lows. A test just before going to bed is a good habit to get into. So many get surprised when they start testing at night, me included.
 
Thanks. You are so right. I'm lacking at least before bed test. Besides his numbers. Buddy is doing great. Diagnosed in June and has gotten back to a healthy weight. His playful and loves affection. He is truly my Buddy.
 
That’s great news on the weight gain. It is so good to see our old cats back with some insulin in them. :)
 
Back
Top