10/7 Paisley PMPS/293

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 10/7 Paisley AMBG 171 HELP!

it looks like she is no longer dropping, so you can shoot this. Does she normally rise at the vet, or drop, or stay the same? I have one that skyrockets and one that plummets, fun.
 
Re: 10/7 Paisley AMBG 171 HELP!

Her BG is usually higher during the day and lower in the PM cycle.This is the first time I'm seeing this.
 
Re: 10/7 Paisley AMBG 171 HELP!

I gave her 3.75u at 2:15 EST. It would have been 2:00 but she shredded my arm when I tried to give it without her eating.

Now that her AM shot has been given 1.5 hours late, what do I need to look for in this cycle and into the next? When should I test in this cycle?

We'll be leaving for the vet in about half an hour and I won't have access to internet while we're gone.
 
Re: 10/7 Paisley AMBG 171 HELP!

So, you shot at +13.5, correct?
did you get a test/number before shooting?

good luck at the vet and just test as soon as you get home, or bring your meter and strips with and test her there.
see you upon your return. . . :mrgreen:
 
Re: 10/7 Paisley AMBG/171, shot +13.5, +5.75/331,+8/322, +10

Getting a +13.5 would have made too much sense so I didn't. :oops:
 
Re: 10/7 Paisley PMPS/293 Vet visit results

Vet visit went okay. Her blood work was all normal, except that she's diabetic. :shock: Who knew?
Couldn't test there, too much chaos because of a woman with three girls, one who liked to scream. Paisley went back into the blazer when she was done. Lucky cat.
Vet thinks testing is a waste of time. Cats are Type 2 diabetics so even if you do curves, things will still change. I agreed. Isn't that what a cat is all about? (Dogs are Type 1.) I guess you'd adjust dose by looking at p/u, p/d, weight loss, and appetite. If those are okay then life is fine, even if BG is 300, if I understood correctly. Doesn't like raw. Only feed your cat something if you would eat it. Likes Purina DM CANNED. Apparently the person who designed it intended for it to be canned, no kibble. At least we're in agreement there. DH wondered if vet would eat cat food. Didn't think to ask. We both knew that we weren't going to change the other person's mind so that was good. Like Lantus, so that's great, except I forgot to get a script. Will call tomorrow and ask them to send one when they mail the blood work. He didn't write on the bloodwork that it was okay to copy it so they refused to give me a copy. He had just been sitting in the waiting room with me going over it. I wasn't pleased but after 2 hours there just wanted to leave didn't argue, although I will let the vet know I'm not happy about that.

After he was done going over the blood work, I told him that I was a Type 2 diabetic. :lol: He said something to the affect that I knew about this. Uhh, yeah. I'm also supposed to be home testing to make sure my BG stays under a certain number. So why would it be any different for a cat? The question left unasked but.....

I'm going to email him the link to her SS AND info on tight regulation protocol. He talked about the latest research out of Australia. Back a couple years ago.

Went to pet store to get her something to get Paisley a can of FF and found some Purina Pro Plan canned. 2/$.86 (sale)vs $.59 for the FF. A couple were "& rice" and a couple had wheat gluten. The chicken & liver entre'e had no rice, wheat gluten, grains, fruits or veggies so I picked up 4 cans. She was happy with it and ate the whole 3oz can. I realized I couldn't get it out of her carrier while I was driving. I checked Janet & Binky's food chart but didn't find any Purina ProPlan on it. Anyone know anything about it?

That's about it. We came home and took a nap.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top