10/7 Muffin pmps 101 +1 84 +2 101 +3 111

Status
Not open for further replies.

Anne&Muffin (GA)

Member Since 2010
Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=26792
Recap
AMPS 92; shot .75u
+.75 113
+3 103
+7 93
PMPS 98; shot .75u
+1 137
+2 162
AMPS 116; hot .75u


Good Morning LL!

I'm noticing a couple of things with Muffin's SS. With the removal of the dry food, it seems her nadir is shifting later in the day and she's having a more "normal" curve. Also, her numbers sure are higher at night, and I'm wondering whether that's due to the prednisone being in her system (she gets just before pm shot time) or if it's from the stress of the pilling sessions, a little of both, or maybe something else entirely.

Muffin is seemingly well this morning, 1 LB contribution so far, a good amt of breffis eaten, and she's been given an offering of FF elegant medleys white meat chicken florentine, which is something I ALWAYS have in the house (the other kitties love elegant medleys), but never really thought to offer specifically to Muffin. Thank you Kim, for suggesting it. I have some raw thawed out to offer later as well.
 
Re: 10/7 Muffin amps 116

Nice AMPS Muffin...what are the carbs for that Elegant medley? I am not sure about that myself....
the transition is soo good for her...so glad ... you are doing such a great job Anne! :razz:
 
Re: 10/7 Muffin amps 116

anne and the muffin-girl! you two work so hard...admiration plus from our corner!

celi & binks
 
Re: 10/7 Muffin amps 116

83 @ +1 Hmm...where's the food spike?

Hi Pat - carbs are 11%, so not ideal, but just about anything would be better than the dry food she was eating. But, of course she did not try it, even just the creamy part from my finger. :YMSIGH: She did stick her nose in the bowl and smell it, so I'll try it again later, without the option of chicken and turkey. The chicken broth yesterday was a flop too. I'm beginning to wonder if this girl only has 4 tastebuds - 1 for chicken, 1 for smoked turkey, 1 for FF dry and 1 for Taco Bell :lol:

Celi - yes, I work hard at opening different cans of food, and she works hard turning her nose up at them. :lol:
 
Re: 10/7 Muffin amps 116 +1 83

Well I guess sniffing that stuff didn't spike her. :lol: Too bad it's so expensive to try so many different things for the princess...sigh...you have your hands full.
"And how about THIS flavor, Your Majesty?"
( really feel like a Court Jester sometimes with my two...really degrading, isn't it?) :lol:
 
Re: 10/7 Muffin amps 116 +1 83

Anne...thanks for dropping in this morning to see Gracie. Glad to see Muffin's numbers are awesome as usual. I know how expensive it can get trying different foods...we have a very large pantry and I think one whole shelf all the way around is cat stuff...mostly fud. Have you ever tried Evo chicken and turkey...it's really smelly and it has 0% carbs. It ain't cheap (I pay $1.59/5.5oz can but only Gracie gets it) but you could just try one can and see what she thinks. Of course..one can go broke trying one can here and there :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 10/7 Muffin amps 116 +1 83

For breffis #2 I tried dipping the turkey in the florentine sauce. Here's what she thought of that:
Repeats022.jpg


Yeah, I have tried EVO - I'm trying to go with less smelly things now, as the smelly stuff really seems to turn her off.
 
Re: 10/7 Muffin amps 116 +1 83 +2 80 +2.5 71

Oh gosh Anne, Doesn't that get so frustrating? Checkers used to be really fussy about flavors, until Pat, my hero, started talking about chicken dust. Knowing how Checks loves the dried chick chunks, I dumped the bag of it , into a colander and put the bits in a plastic baggie. Now when Himself turns up his nose, I sprinle the food with chicken dust. He eats it every time.
Now, I know that wouldn't work on Muffin, 'cause I know you're tried everything from the king's royal table. She's a stubborn one. all right. But adorable :-D
Great numbers today. :smile:
 
Re: 10/7 Muffin amps 116 +1 83 +2 80 +2.5 71 +3 71

Still 71 @ +3. Syringed wellness salmon & trout with gravy lovers gravy @ +2.5. Now she's eating a slice of turkey.
 
Re: 10/7 Muffin amps 116 +2 80 +2.5 71 +3 71 +3.5 79

79 @ +3.5 Coming back up now. Checked this number with ReliOn as well, got 55 on that meter. Will check with both at +4 as well to see if they are still within 30. Would be comforting to know at they are closer in the lower ranges.
 
Re: 10/7 Muffin amps 116 +2.5 71 +3 71 +3.5 79 +4 71

MIRACLE! After syringe feeding a combo of wellness salmon & trout and gravy from 9 lives ocean fish and tuna - Muffin LICKED UP THE SPILLAGE OFF THE FLOOR!! ALL BY HERSELF!! dancing_cat flip_cat :RAHCAT :thumbup cat_pet_icon I'm just thrilled!! (sorry for shouting)
I've put out a bowl of it, we'll see what happens!
 
Re: 10/7 Muffin amps 116 +2.5 71 +3.5 79 +4 71 Miracle!

70 @ +4.5 She's eating the canned food!! Look, I have proof!
Muffin003.jpg

She licked the bowl clean and is now working on her second bowl! You guys cannot BELIEVE how excited I am right now!! I should have done this months ago!
 
Re: 10/7 Muffin amps 116

Anne&Muffin said:
83 @ +1 Hmm...where's the food spike?

Hi Pat - carbs are 11%, so not ideal, but just about anything would be better than the dry food she was eating. But, of course she did not try it, even just the creamy part from my finger. :YMSIGH: She did stick her nose in the bowl and smell it, so I'll try it again later, without the option of chicken and turkey. The chicken broth yesterday was a flop too. I'm beginning to wonder if this girl only has 4 tastebuds - 1 for chicken, 1 for smoked turkey, 1 for FF dry and 1 for Taco Bell :lol:

Celi - yes, I work hard at opening different cans of food, and she works hard turning her nose up at them. :lol:

I can so relate to picky eater. I've got a cat w/ONE tastebud.
 
Re: 10/7 Muffin amps 116 MUFFIN EATS CANNED FOOD!

Yippee!!!!!

(I think she saw our PM about a feeding tube. I learned from Libby -- threaten something and these guys seem to think it was their idea!)
 
Re: 10/7 Muffin amps 116 MUFFIN EATS CANNED FOOD!

Way to go Muffin! Your numbers are fantastic! Yes and I had the 30 point (aprox) spread till mid 200s then it flew way up on AT. It's because the AT sets its high as 750 .. if I had seen a 600 # I would have been in full panic mode (G). I am now only using the ReliOn. I loved the pic of her "tantrum?" LOL Now she is eating and you can relax a little. Remember to take care of you too! I do loves doze blues and greens! Libby and Callie (and civies: brother Buddy and sister Missy)
 
Re: 10/7 Muffin amps 116 MUFFIN EATS CANNED FOOD!

dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat Do Lou and I are doing a happy dance over Muffin eating I had a lot of trouble getting Do Lou to eat anything but dry he was so addicted to it, so I understand cat not eating frustration but I do think Muffin has him beat with she is one picky girl isn't she but so happy you are making progress :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 10/7 Muffin amps 116 MUFFIN EATS CANNED FOOD!

smileyjungle.com]
celebrate13.gif
[/url]

Muffin is #1 in our book and so is her diligent and persevering mamabean!!! What a great day!!!!
 
Re: 10/7 Muffin amps 116 MUFFIN EATS CANNED FOOD!

+5.25 77 Expecting it to keep rising, as she is wolfing down the canned food now! Thanks everyone for celebrating with me! I am literally dancing around the house. :lol: AND, she has definitely earned this reduction, so down to .5u tonight! I'm sitting here watching her lick the bowl clean. I'm SOOO proud of her! If she keeps this up, turkey and chicken will now be testing treats.
 
Re: 10/7 Muffin amps 116 MUFFIN EATS CANNED FOOD!

OH MY GOSH!!!!

I LOVE that picture. you must be over the moon and I am right there with you. I am THRILLED!

I cannot believe it!
 
Re: 10/7 Muffin amps 116 MUFFIN EATS CANNED FOOD!

OMG!!! Muffin ate canned food!!! By herself...without a syringe!!!

dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat

Anne, I'm mentally dancing with you!! I'm at my DD's gymnastics practice, so I think I would draw a few stares if I started dancing here, so...mentally dancing!

YIPPEEE!!!

I knew you would be successful eventually. I never doubted it. :-D :-D Congrats on the dosecrease too!
 
Re: 10/7 Muffin amps 116 MUFFIN EATS CANNED FOOD!

flip_cat flip_cat flip_cat flip_cat flip_cat flip_cat flip_cat flip_cat

YAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAYYYYY!!!!!!!!
 
Re: 10/7 Muffin amps 116 MUFFIN EATS CANNED FOOD!

Whooooo Hoooooooooooo! Congratulations Anne, you won the stare down w/ the CAT!
 
Re: 10/7 Muffin amps 116 MUFFIN EATS CANNED FOOD!

oh my gosh! You guys are SOOO awesome! Thank you sooo much for being so happy about this with me!

72 @ +6.25 Eating more canned food. With all this food she's had this afternoon, and I still can't get her above 80 - I really think Mr P is celebrating too! So I am prepared to run down the dosing ladder if need be. Happy happy day around here I tell ya!
 
Re: 10/7 Muffin amps 116 CANNED FOOD! Dose ?

Recap of today:
AMPS 116 - shot .75u
+1 83
+2 80
+2.5 71; syringed 1 tsp 8% with gravy
+3 71; ate 1/2 slice turkey
+3.5 79
+4 71; syringed 2 tsps 8% with gravy
+4.5 70 fed ~1/8 can 8%
+5.25 77 fed ~1/8 can 8%
+6.25 72 fed ~1/8 can 8%
+7 87

Remember we use Alpha Trak

She has definitely earned her decrease today, but I'm a little concerned that even eating so much food (the canned was mixed to syringe consistancy with water) her numbers were difficult to bring back up over 80. So I'm wondering if going down to .5u will be enough of a decrease. She was only on a drop of insulin before she got sick.

I have to take the drooler to the vet (potential bladder stones going on with him) but will post as many more updates as I can on our way to pmps. Thanks!
 
Re: 10/7 Muffin amps 116 CANNED FOOD! Dose ?

I would take the 0.25 decrease if you can monitor tonight (shed action). Do be prepared to run down the scale if she wants to, but usually it's good to support the pancreas as much as possible.

I hope she keeps this up! Whatever you do, DON'T go buy a case of this food. If you do that, this will be the last bite she eats of it. :lol:
 
Re: 10/7 Muffin amps 116 CANNED FOOD! Dose ?

Muffin...you HAVE to come with us to visit Bear Man tonight...he is going to be SO proud of YOU!!! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 10/7 Muffin amps 116 CANNED FOOD! Dose ?

Anne - I'm so proud of you, a lesser bean would have caved long ago. Now we know where Muffin gets that stubborn streak. :-D
 
Re: 10/7 Muffin amps 116 CANNED FOOD! Dose ?

Congratulations on the wet food success. I hope you can work some poultry into that fishy mix.
 
Re: 10/7 Muffin amps 116 CANNED FOOD! Dose ?

just saw this...THIS IS THE BEST THING I'VE SEEN ALL DAY !!!!

and i totally agree with kim...like mama, like muffin !!

all kitties over the moon for this...
 

Attachments

  • funny-pictures-these-cats-make-up-a.jpg
    funny-pictures-these-cats-make-up-a.jpg
    26.8 KB · Views: 1,704
Re: 10/7 Muffin amps 116 CANNED FOOD! Dose ?

flip_cat flip_cat flip_cat flip_cat flip_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat flip_cat flip_cat flip_cat flip_cat flip_cat

YAY MUFFIN!!!! Maybe after all the syringe feeding she decided it tasted pretty good after all. oh - loved the broken plate :lol:

Wow - I take off for one day and look at what I missed. I am SO HAPPY for you - I know what a battle it has been.
 
Re: 10/7 Muffin amps 116 CANNED FOOD! Dose ?

111 @ +10.25 Vet took a lot longer than I expected. Good news for the drooler, tho, no bladder stones seen on xray - ab's and metacam (vet said is better with dogs than with cats - I hope she's right) for 7 days and if no improvement, will need ultrasound.

Libby - ok, thanks, I'll just go down to .5 tonight and monitor. Funny you should mention that about buying the food - my first impulse was to go stock up on it :lol: Then I had the same thought, so just made sure I have one more can on hand and will go from there. After that, I'll try some poultry flavors and see what happens.

Helene and Barb - I'm still in shock and on cloud 9 at the same time!

Pat - Muffin left hours ago to see Bear Man - I think she took a can of food with her!

Kim- Thanks so much. I was pm'ing with Sienne today, and I told her, just this morning, that I was not at all sure I was going to win this battle.

Nina - Thanks, and good reminder about the fish. In a day or two, I'll try some poultry.

Celi and Michelle - You're very sweet, thanks so much.

All the support and celebration here means the world to me.
 
Re: 10/7 Muffin pmps 101

pmps 101 Took reduction and shot .5u. Meds were unsuccessful tonight. And apparently I did something wrong in the way the canned food was served this time, and it took her about 10 mins to actually start eating it. Too much in the bowl maybe. I poured some off into another dish and then she started licking the sides of the bowl and is now eating it. This will be the rest of the can that I mixed for syringing yesterday afternoon, so she's actually had quite a bit of food today. After the broken dish of turkey on the floor, the drooler waits there while she's eating. As soon as she starts moving the bowl, he's up on his hind legs hoping he's going to get another treat! :lol:
 
Re: 10/7 Muffin pmps 101

Anne

Thanks for checking in our condo...I've missed you and everyone today!! DH is packing so thought I'd check in on everyone. I am so excited and happy for you today....what a great victory!!! Congrats on the dose reduction. Muffin is just doing so fantastic. I hope you can get some rest tonight...you've worked hard
for this!!! Sweet dreams!
 
Oh Anne! What an exciting condo you had today! I laughed at the broken dish but felt bad that Muffin was being so stubborn.
And THEN the great news! I'm so glad I kept on reading to get to the good part. Hahaha!

So now she recognizes that maybe some canned food is actually edible. This is big, very big! I feel like calling CNN so it will be on the news.

And congratulations on the new dose. All around a very good day here for the Muffin!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top