10-7 Gizmo AMPS=317; +3=345; +6=265; +9=348; PMPS=324; +3=279

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chubba (GA)

Member Since 2017
Yesterday

PMPS = 328
+2 = 329
+3 = 248
+5.5 = 323 :arghh:

AMPS = 317

Dosecrease threat on the table for tonight! I really thought last night was going to be the night he finally came back down, but NOPE! I just don't understand his numbers at all right now. (I know, he's a cat!) I just hate that overall he has been in higher numbers since starting cabergoline. The pharmacy was supposed to make sure it was sugar free, but I just don't know. Every night he goes higher after getting the cabergoline. Today is Cycle 6 from when he "might" have seen green during the week. So he has today to come back down or else!
 
They told me too that the fish flavor Cabergoline was sugar free, but I never really felt assured that it actually was. Too bad there isn't some sort of test strip that can test if a medication has sugar in it.
 
Hmmm. Question, why aren't you increasing after 6 cycles? I see you're basing it on if Gizmo went to greens during the day. Gee I'm not sure what to do if we don't really know if they go below 50 when we're not around. I would think it would show up in the PM cycle though. I say an increase is in order. If you're around to test this weekend, mid-cycle, hopefully it'll shed some light on what the little guy is doing during the day.

The threat is on the table Gizmo! C'mon down:bighug:
 
Hmmm. Question, why aren't you increasing after 6 cycles? I see you're basing it on if Gizmo went to greens during the day. Gee I'm not sure what to do if we don't really know if they go below 50 when we're not around. I would think it would show up in the PM cycle though. I say an increase is in order. If you're around to test this weekend, mid-cycle, hopefully it'll shed some light on what the little guy is doing during the day.

The threat is on the table Gizmo! C'mon down:bighug:
We didn't increase because we couldn't monitor. Being that we use alphatrak, his reduction point is 68 and he got to 77 last Sunday. I didn't increased last night because I wasn't sure if I should not knowing what happened all week. Increase definitely tonight if no greens! Gizmo has always seemed to be slightly higher during the pm cycle and to be honest it seems to me that the cabergoline is causing his numbers to rise during the pm cycle, so I just didn't feel comfortable basing an increase from the pm cycle. Like last night ... why the lower +3 only to shoot back up by +5.5?
 
Darn it I missed the Alphatrak info:banghead:. Yes its better to be safe. Hopefully this is just the FD/Acro wackiness and Gizmo will come back down soon.
 
I had hoped Gizmo was going to continue down after that +3 last night! I like flat numbers, just not in the pinks :p. It really is hard when you try and anticipate based on numbers you can't see. Seems to me as well this might be the weekend to bump up the dose if you don't see better numbers this am cycle. Hopefully more experienced folks will chime in to give you some advice.
 
Come on Gizmo but all these juices to work and slide on down, Titan saved a spot on the beach for you.
Tell Titan I said thanks, but Gizmo isn't feeling like the beach today either. :(
I hope Gizmo shows you what he's been doing during the day so you know whether to increase.
It's looking like an increase is happening tonight.
I had hoped Gizmo was going to continue down after that +3 last night! I like flat numbers, just not in the pinks :p. It really is hard when you try and anticipate based on numbers you can't see. Seems to me as well this might be the weekend to bump up the dose if you don't see better numbers this am cycle. Hopefully more experienced folks will chime in to give you some advice.
i really thought he was heading down also, but he is a cat and is being very stubborn these days!

+3 = 345 ... wrong way again!:arghh:
 
Sometimes doses just go stale and they need a little push to get off the higher floors. It's always best to be cautious when you can't monitor IMHO. Conditions like Acro and IAA make it more of a mystery as to 'why" so just follow the numbers (easier said then done). Doodles heart meds were compounded in sugar-free chicken flavor from Diamondback drugs. I asked the pharmacist if they were really SF. He said there may be a trace but not enough to affect BG numbers.

Ok Gizmo, work that juice!
 
Tell Titan I said thanks, but Gizmo isn't feeling like the beach today either. :(

It's looking like an increase is happening tonight.

i really thought he was heading down also, but he is a cat and is being very stubborn these days!

+3 = 345 ... wrong way again!:arghh:
I'm sorry, if it's any consolation, Mav's doing the same thing today too :confused: ...time for the tag-team double dose increase, we've been patient with these boys ALL week :)
 
Sometimes doses just go stale and they need a little push to get off the higher floors. It's always best to be cautious when you can't monitor IMHO. Conditions like Acro and IAA make it more of a mystery as to 'why" so just follow the numbers (easier said then done). Doodles heart meds were compounded in sugar-free chicken flavor from Diamondback drugs. I asked the pharmacist if they were really SF. He said there may be a trace but not enough to affect BG numbers.

Ok Gizmo, work that juice!
Yes, the pharmacist told me it was sugar free, but when she said chicken pot pie flavor ... I got a little worried. Guess I just can't get that out of my mind and then with these higher numbers. Since he has been stuck in pinks and the occasional yellow for so long ... would it be ok to increase from 7 to 8 units? I don't know if that would be to much, but I kinda what to give him that jumpstart back into better numbers.
I'm sorry, if it's any consolation, Mav's doing the same thing today too :confused: ...time for the tag-team double dose increase, we've been patient with these boys ALL week :)

Yuck both in high numbers. Not cool boys. Maybe it's time for a shark sight seeing from the safety of the lagoon. Ya know for old times sake ... but now that you both are older and wiser you don't have to anything silly like visit the sharks ... just view from the edge of the lagoon.
 
I don't know that increasing by 1.0u is safe. Generally, you wait until after a kitty is at a higher dose.before increasing by a full unit. How about increasing by 0.5u?

I'd also offer a slightly different interpretation as to why numbers are hight during the PM cycle. I think Gizmo is bouncing off of lower numbers. He sees greens, bounces for a few cycles the numbers came down to blue and he bounced back up.
 
I agree with Sienne and Karen, 1u seems too big of an increase, I'd probably opt for a 0.5u dosecrease. I also think that it's possible he's bouncing of those blues just 6 cycles ago, who knows he might plan on clearing that bounce today.

The 1u dosecreases are usually done when they get to over 10u.

@Bronx's dad you can test for sugar in food, I recall doing it in chemistry class, using Benedict solution, the solution goes from blue to orange, in the presence of sugars.
:);)
https://www.sciencecompany.com/Food-Chemistry-Experiments.aspx
 
I'm afraid that is not a wise thing to do. Bring him up to 7.5 and follow the protocol. It's the safest thing to do. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thanks.
I don't know that increasing by 1.0u is safe. Generally, you wait until after a kitty is at a higher dose.before increasing by a full unit. How about increasing by 0.5u?

I'd also offer a slightly different interpretation as to why numbers are hight during the PM cycle. I think Gizmo is bouncing off of lower numbers. He sees greens, bounces for a few cycles the numbers came down to blue and he bounced back up.
Thanks. We will stick with just the 0.5 increase. I guess I just don't understand why he is bouncing again all of a sudden when he spent several days in blues and occasional greens and was doing well. I understand the bouncing from greens, but I thought he was finished bouncing from blues. Guess not. :(
I agree with Sienne and Karen, 1u seems too big of an increase, I'd probably opt for a 0.5u dosecrease. I also think that it's possible he's bouncing of those blues just 6 cycles ago, who knows he might plan on clearing that bounce today.

The 1u dosecreases are usually done when they get to over 10u.

@Bronx's dad you can test for sugar in food, I recall doing it in chemistry class, using Benedict solution, the solution goes from blue to orange, in the presence of sugars.
:);)
https://www.sciencecompany.com/Food-Chemistry-Experiments.aspx
No bounce clearing today. +9 = 348 :arghh:. That is interesting to know about testing sugar in food.
 
I guess I just don't understand why he is bouncing again all of a sudden when he spent several days in blues and occasional greens and was doing well. I understand the bouncing from greens, but I thought he was finished bouncing from blues. Guess not.
Hahahahaha!!! Gizmo's bouncing because he's a cat! The minute you think you've got him figured out, he'll prove otherwise.

The reality is that bounces occur for several reasons:

  • a drop into low numbers (e.g., below 50)
  • a drop into numbers the cat isn't used to spending much time in
  • a big and/or fast drop in numbers
It's not a matter of a kitty "getting used" to being in blues. It all depends on where the numbers started out. And when all else defies explanation, scratch your head and mumble, "He's a cat. confusing me is his job."
 
Hahahahaha!!! Gizmo's bouncing because he's a cat! The minute you think you've got him figured out, he'll prove otherwise.

The reality is that bounces occur for several reasons:

  • a drop into low numbers (e.g., below 50)
  • a drop into numbers the cat isn't used to spending much time in
  • a big and/or fast drop in numbers
It's not a matter of a kitty "getting used" to being in blues. It all depends on where the numbers started out. And when all else defies explanation, scratch your head and mumble, "He's a cat. confusing me is his job."
I forgot about big drops causing bounces. He has had his share of big drops lately.
 
+2 (279) looks promising again tonight, but who knows with Gizmo. Got out for a few hours tonight to "escape" the Gizmo drama. Went to a Halloween event at an animal park. Saw a mama kangaroo with her baby still in her pouch and my favorite the giraffe. I absolutely love feeding and petting their giraffes. They just had a baby born about a month ago but he wasn't out tonight.

Reading was +3 not a +2:confused:
 
Last edited:
That's a pretty good +2, paws crossed Gizmo is looking for a nice steady dip on down to the lagoon. Love that you had a moment to do something not FD related lol, there is a wild wolf rescue about 2 hours from me, one of these days, I'm going to go...but giraffes and kangas are a lot tamer and pet-able ;)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top