10/7 Gandolf PMPS 314 +2 303 +4 301

Status
Not open for further replies.

cmk77

Member Since 2010
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=26800
WCR: All P's are there.

Good Morning Everyone,

Gandolf's preshot #s have been pink for past 2 days.This weekend I will try to get some "thru-the-night" readings. I'm beginning to wonder if he needs a slight dose increase since it appears his nadir is in the 200's. Will wait till we can get a few mid-PM readings this weekend to be more accurate but am just wondering? I've been having to get some sleep to avoid total exhaustion so 'm thinking those PM +5 +6
+10 readings might help discern about dose. Would like to do this, if strategy is right, way before I leave on the 20th so its established. Much easier for daughter. Will do nothing without y'alls advice.

From today I will track food in a side column as suggested.

Great ideas I am going to implement that will help daughter when I'm away for 4 nights later this month:
  • frozen food cubes
    prepare syringes for my daughter for 4 days of shooting (do you think its OK for the insulin to be in the syringes for that amount of time, kept in the fridge?)

    Our developing pattern: Poke/feed/shoot - all within the 8 -8:30 time span. Is that right?
    (I thought I needed to Poke just a couple of minutes before I give him his shot and then I would shoot while he was eating. (so ez). The last 2 mornings I've poked him about 20 - 30 min. before shooting time, fed him, then shot on time.

Also: He seems to like the bigger feedings(3/4 c), full and content, over the smaller servings and coming to me asking to be fed again. 3/4 compared to 1/4c. He seems content for a significantly longer period. That does help me if I have a few hours until I can get back. On the days I can't, I'm going to do the frozen cubes (we'll see how he does on that).

Thank you all for your oversight.

Cee & Gandolf
 
Re: 10/7 Gandolf AMPS 377 +1 359

hey guys ... gandolf, what are you doing up on the pink floor?? Don't you know everyone is moving down to the blues and green floors today? I can't really answer much about dosing, but I do believe I have read on here that lantus should not be prefilled in syringes. But wait and see what others say, cause I'm not 100% certain on that ... anyways, have a great day guys!
 
Re: 10/7 Gandolf AMPS 377 +1 359

Hi Cee...good idea about checking him over the weekend. maybe you will be advised to increase his dose since this is the 9th cycle on the present one. He could stand to get a bit more so wait to see what the others say.

I know they will advise to not prefill the syringes....can you possible fill a used syringe with colored water to the amount that you will ask DD to shoot and she can use that a a guide? I think the manufacturer recommends not prefilling syringes anyway...it is just not a good idea, okay?

BTW, the SS police might balk at the double lines on your SS so I am just suggesting that you go back to the single lines and put all notes in the notes section or make another column for that. It gets rather confusing to see the double lines when you are checking so many SSs during the day. ;-) Know what I mean jellybean?

The rest of your plan for your DD sounds good. As we get close to the day you will depart, maybe the dose should be discussed. they will want to know if your DD will be home all day to do BG checks on him. For most of us, when we leave others in charge, we do reduce the dose in case the pet sitter will not be monitoring as we do during the cycles. It is best to shoot a lowered dose in that case since no one will be around if they go really low.
I recently went away and reduced Shadow's dose. I left instructions on a number that would be the "No shoot" number and left cans of HC gravy for her to give to him if his number was low. (it kinda messed him up though...the lowered dose is not all that much fun to get back on track from, ya know?) But, that's okay and we do that to be safe.

That being said, if your DD will be able to monitor and you feel comfortable with giving him the regular dose, then that would definitely be preferable. As long as she is willing and able to test him during each cycle just as you would, then he won't loose any momentum.
 
Re: 10/7 Gandolf AMPS 377 +1 359 +6 281

Prayers to our fellow Sugarkitties and their beans who are in the thick of some serious issues. Ours seem so minor comparatively.

Gandolf and Cee send prayer power & strength for the hour, to you all. We pray you have peace in the midst of your storms - though we know how hard that is.

A question: Is it possible it is the larger feedings driving up Gandolf's BG? Like I said, minor to what some of our LL friends are experiencing today.
Also, because of what we've read, we see the need to have some supplies on hand that we don't have.

Again, lots of grace to our buddies in battle.
 
Re: 10/7 Gandolf AMPS 377 +1 359 +6 281

cmk77 said:
....prepare syringes for my daughter for 4 days of shooting (do you think its OK for the insulin to be in the syringes for that amount of time, kept in the fridge?)

...Our developing pattern: Poke/feed/shoot - all within the 8 -8:30 time span. Is that right?
(I thought I needed to Poke just a couple of minutes before I give him his shot and then I would shoot while he was eating. (so ez). The last 2 mornings I've poked him about 20 - 30 min. before shooting time, fed him, then shot on time.

....Also: He seems to like the bigger feedings(3/4 c), full and content, over the smaller servings and coming to me asking to be fed again. 3/4 compared to 1/4c. He seems content for a significantly longer period. That does help me if I have a few hours until I can get back. On the days I can't, I'm going to do the frozen cubes (we'll see how he does on that).

...A question: Is it possible it is the larger feedings driving up Gandolf's BG? Like I said, minor to what some of our LL friends are experiencing today.
Also, because of what we've read, we see the need to have some supplies on hand that we don't have.


Hi Cee, it's me again, stopping by to help answer some of your questions and agreeing with Pat :razz:

-->From the stickie up above, within this link, scroll down to the link on the section for pre-filling syringes is not recommened
Proper Handling & Storage

Agrees with Pat, The suggestion to pre-fill a syringe with water or fruit juice and clearly mark it as a "sample" is a great idea for a guideline for anyone else doing the shooting for you

-->Be prepared:
Always a good idea to print these two links out and post in your kitchen area where you keep kitty foods etc..
Jojo's Hypo Tool Kit
How To Treat Hypo

-->Test, shoot and feed all within 10 to 15 minutes of the pre-shot BG number is usually recommended.
As a newbie myself at one time, it took me that long to get all that done, but as you get more comfortable doing it, you can bring that time down to under 5 minutes.

-->Spreading out a day's total serving of food works very well, known as mini meals and can be very effective on most kitties.
When you are not home, an automated time feeder helps, or as you mentioned frozen wet food pucks will slowly melt thru the day.
The hard part is making sure kitty is not eating after the +10 hour, or it may influence your next pre-shot number. But most beans I've seen here report that all food is gone by the time they get home, unfortunately you never really know.

Newly diagnosed kitties will want to eat more, as you start to see a drop in numbers over time, you may see that (eating a lot of food) slowing down, as well as physical improvements like softer fur, less dander, less water drinking, less pee clumps in the box, plus the bonus of more playful and active.

-->Good advice from Pat on seeing if DD can learn how to home test. Maybe start today! Also, please post a daily reminder in your condo's about your upcoming trip so others can give you feedback on what to do with the dose when you are away. A good idea is to add your trip date to your spreadsheet too.
 
Re: 10/7 Gandolf AMPS 377 +1 359 +6 281

Cee & Gandolf said:
prepare syringes for my daughter for 4 days of shooting (do you think its OK for the insulin to be in the syringes for that amount of time, kept in the fridge?)

I'm glad Ronnie pointed you to the notes on how to handle Lantus. It's not recommended to pre-fill syringes even for a couple of hours. What you can do is take a used syringe and fill it with a colored liquid to Gandolf's dose. You DD can then use the mock syringe as a guide for dosing. I'd suggest using a liquid that will highlight the marks on the syring -- milk or orange juice or something like that may work well.
 
Re: 10/7 Gandolf AMPS 377 +1 359 +6 281

....... I'm not interfering.... just stopping by to say hello and welcome!
 
Re: 10/7 Gandolf AMPS 377 +1 359 +6 281

Thanks Everyone, guess I knew it wasn't really a good idea to pre-ready the syringes. DD does not live at home and will not be here during the day. The sample syringe is a great idea. So you can see why I'm a little concerned.

Gandolf is ravenous today. Keeps begging for food. And his numbers are pink. My syringes (from the vet) are marked in full units only, no 1/2 marks. These came from the vet so will look for 1/2 u marked soon,

Also, in reading about how to handle the Lantus it says not to roll or shake. My vet demonstrated to me just how to gently roll the vial between my hands to "mix" it without "destabilizing it". So, I'm assuming perhaps they are not aware or does it truly not matter? Anyway, till I get confirmation here I'm not rolling the thing anymore. I eye-ball the insulin each time to make sure its clear with no specks, but I've been rolling it. Shucks y'all, I'm not sure how I'm suppose to address my vet next time. Very gently and politely with respect and the FDMB tract and Gandolf's SS.

The info on this board should be a CEC (continuing education class) for vets, with credits!


--- After 3 consecutive days (6 cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.

We're in his 11th cycle since shooting 1.5U. If I'm reading the "Tight Regulation" protocol right, then I'd like to increase his dose by .25, from 1.50 to 1.75 - tomorrow. I'll be home most of the day. What do you think?
Yea :thumbup, or nea :-Q

( I will be cleaning up his SS a row or 2 at a as time as I post the next couple of days, thank you for your patience with me)

Gotta sleep, I-) g'd night LL Friends, thank you for everything.

Cee & Gandolf
 
Re: 10/7 Gandolf PMPS 314 +2 303

My vet showed me to roll the Lantus as well - that is wrong and is a technique for some other kind of insulin (I forget which kind) Lantus does not need to be mixed, and when I found this out, I was afraid I had ruined my vial. But it was fine and I used it for 3 months (probably could have used longer, as I replaced it because Muffin's numbers were sometimes a little higher than I wanted, but turns out she was getting sick, and that was more likely the cause of the higher BG's) My vet office has been very receptive and grateful for the information I have passed along to them that I learned here. I've taken them printouts of things like the protocol, etc, and they have even told me I am helping them manage FD and they are passing it along to their other FD patients. So hopefully, your vet will too.
 
For a newbie, your kitty is doing way better than mine.

I would think it is time for an increase by .25 unit. (but wait for more experienced people to reply)

And if it were me, going away - I'd probably feel safer dropping the dose down .25 unit during that time, depending on how her readings are going. (Such as if she's getting greens by that time)

*Walmart Pharmacy has the ReliOn syringes that have the added 1/2 unit markings.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top