10/7 Doogle PMPS 261

Status
Not open for further replies.

Donna & Doogle

Member Since 2011
Yesterday's Condo

So yesterday's numbers:

10/6 AMPS 174
+2.5 391
+4 273
+6 227
10 121
PMPS 136
+2 161
+4 60
+6 160


So I am sure he is bouncing from that quick drop to 60 early this morning. Now my question is, this is his 3rd day on Levemir (6 doses) should we go up on his dose tonight to 2 or not? Also I have the Lysine powder and I need to know is what is the measurement for 500mg. Like is it a 1/4 teaspoon or something else?

Looking forward to some advice.
 
Re: 10/7 Doogle AMPS 369+2.5 375+7 173 Dose increase?

hi donna!

"General" Guidelines:
Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 consecutive cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles).
Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).
Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.

After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

I think I'd hold the dose for a total of 10 cycles and then re-evaluate. You caught a couple of numbers under 100 already, including that 60 last night. To me, that suggests that the dose is pretty good and you might just need a little longer for the depot to build to see the cycles flatten some.

eta - unless Doogle is prone to ketones. Is he?
 
Re: 10/7 Doogle AMPS 369+2.5 375+7 173 Dose increase?

For the L-lysine, I gave half of one of those 500 mg capsules.

Julie - Doogle has been DKA before, so that is something to worry about.

A question Donna, have you changed how you feed Doogle since he switched to Levemir? With a later onset, you can rethink timing of the meals. He's been doing some big dives between +2 and +4 (which might cause bounces) so I'm wondering if a mini meal at +3 might help slow down the dive.
 
Re: 10/7 Doogle AMPS 369+2.5 375+7 173+10 282 Dose increase?

Actually he usually gets feed around +4 both AM and PM (PM especially because the herd gets fed then). I will get the DH to start feeding at +3 during the day and see how that works (when I am home I feed small mini meals throughout the day but the DH tends to forget).

As for the Lysine, I have the gallon powder so I just need to figure out how much 500mg is.
 
Re: 10/7 Doogle AMPS 369+2.5 375+7 173+10 282 Dose increase?

do you have a scale? measuring by grams is by weight, i believe, so unless someone has that exact powder i'm not sure how we would know what the volume measurement would be.

I did some with 4th grade math last year and one of the things that stuck with me was that a paper clip weighs one gram. so you want the weight of 1/2 of a regular sized paper clip. perhaps you can rig up a balance type of scale and see how much 1 paper clip is, then give 1/2 of that for a dose.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top