10/7 Doodles AMPS 395 +2 401

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina & Doodles

Member Since 2016
Rough night last night...Today is a new day. Bought a different monitor: Bayer Contour Next EZ


Obtained BG/fed/1u Lantus insulin this am (within 5-10 minutes): AMPS 395 +2 401

Will continue to test q2h since we need to determine how he is responding. Spreadsheet is up to date.

Thank you to all who have been patient & guiding us through this new 'adventure'.
 
Great job last night, I know it wasn't easy. He's bouncing today so expect some higher numbers. Another spot check later today is good. Hope the new meter gives you less issues. If you have any questions, just ask. There are many people here who are happy to help.
 
Great job last night, I know it wasn't easy. He's bouncing today so expect some higher numbers. Another spot check later today is good. Hope the new meter gives you less issues. If you have any questions, just ask. There are many people here who are happy to help.


Thanks for the encouragement!
 
This is not easy especially in the beginning! It takes a team to help out. If you can please add the following info to your signature
- Meter you're using
- Food your feeding
- Protocol you're following (yesterday I mentioned SLGS for you at the moment. Ultimately it is your choice and you can always change. Please read both stickies)

This is going to help people help you without asking the same questions.
 
Update:

AMPS 395 +2 401 +5 401
A bounce and reduced shot, it's natural, don't be concerned. Here I a little info on bouncing which is found in the The Basics New To the Group Sticky .

Bouncing - Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles).
 
Hey there Tina, what a night you had! Things will get easier as you go along. There is so much to learn in the beginning and it can seem overwhelming but, you are doing a great job! Keep asking questions and reading the Lantus stickies as that is how we all learned . Also, read others threads too as I learned a lot that way.

We are here to help you and as Karen says, it takes a team! :cat:
 
I love this new monitor. The strips cost more, but NO errors all day. Doodles is no longer irritated & I am not stressing out about torturing him to get a read. Well worth the $$!

Our neighbor brought was 4 casseroles for the freezer knowing we have been tapped $$ lately. I cried with appreciation between her generosity & the kindness of people here in the forums.

PMPS 375 +2 379
 
Great! I'm wondering if you should just stick with the 1 unit, get your spot checks in and go up slowly from there per the SLGS protocol. This means you would stay with the 1 unit for 7 days (unless he goes below 90), get the spot checks so you can start to see where his nadir might be etc. What do you think? This way you're starting at a reasonable dose, collecting accurate data and gives you a little time to manage this "dance" as we call it. Hopefully others will stop by later too!
 
I love this new monitor. The strips cost more, but NO errors all day. Doodles is no longer irritated & I am not stressing out about torturing him to get a read. Well worth the $$!

Our neighbor brought was 4 casseroles for the freezer knowing we have been tapped $$ lately. I cried with appreciation between her generosity & the kindness of people here in the forums.

PMPS 375 +2 379
How lucky to have such a wonderful and thoughtful neighbor! And glad the new monitor is better!
 
Great! I'm wondering if you should just stick with the 1 unit, get your spot checks in and go up slowly from there per the SLGS protocol. This means you would stay with the 1 unit for 7 days (unless he goes below 90), get the spot checks so you can start to see where his nadir might be etc. What do you think? This way you're starting at a reasonable dose, collecting accurate data and gives you a little time to manage this "dance" as we call it. Hopefully others will stop by later too!


I actually like that idea. I have a BG check schedule in mind that will allow me to work, get adequate sleep and ensure Doodles gets checks appropriately.

I understand his BG is still high, but not as high as it was when diagnosed & I can see the scientific value of gradual increase/moderation. We're basically doing micro-controlled studies to evaluate results based on keeping specific variables consistent. I dig it!

Something has crossed my mind, but I will present that thought on Monday after we collect more data.

Thank you all & I will continue to post. 4 eyes are better than 2, 8 eyes are better than 4, and so on. I appreciate your assistance & experience!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top