10/7 Copernicus AMPS=509

Krista & Copernicus

Member Since 2026
PP
Edit: He's 705 at +4. This seems really dangerous with his history of ketones. What should I do? Ketones were .1 this a.m

Is there a fast insulin I can buy over the counter?

Wendy is back!

I increased his dose off a high pre-shot and I am having doubts. I think I should have kept him at 18 to let his dose settle, yes? He's had a decrease, a skip, a half all at the vet school. When I increased to 20, his numbers got worse.

Remind me how I know if the dose is too high? He could be droppping and then responding with a cortisol bounce, no?
 
Last edited:
Keep testing frequently for ketones. Glad to hear they are still low for the moment. Make sure he has plenty of fluids and calories. How is his appetite?

Did he get any insulin morning of the 2nd? If so, how much.

Remind me how I know if the dose is too high? He could be droppping and then responding with a cortisol bounce, no?
We just call it a bounce. Which is what he is doing now in response to those 90's he got. Also not helped with the dose reduction. If the dose is too high, he'd be going below 6 on your AT. As long as you have the preshots plus at least one other per cycle, we could tell if he's going too low. Did the vet school tell you which cycles they thought he might be going too low? I can't see it.

If not an immediate emergency, please remove the 911.
 
Keep testing frequently for ketones. Glad to hear they are still low for the moment. Make sure he has plenty of fluids and calories. How is his appetite?

Did he get any insulin morning of the 2nd? If so, how much.


We just call it a bounce. Which is what he is doing now in response to those 90's he got. Also not helped with the dose reduction. If the dose is too high, he'd be going below 6 on your AT. As long as you have the preshots plus at least one other per cycle, we could tell if he's going too low. Did the vet school tell you which cycles they thought he might be going too low? I can't see it.

If not an immediate emergency, please remove the 911.
He never went hypo. He NEVER went too low and that is why we argued. They skipped his dose when he was 99. I couldn't believe it. I even complained to faculty and she said they have "protocols" to follow. Well he's not a protocol. I told them it would throw him all off balance. This isn't the last time he will need IV fluids so I don't know how to move forward because he is never 700 until he goes through there. All the numbers are filled out. I'm waiting for medical records for the remaining.
 
Keep testing frequently for ketones. Glad to hear they are still low for the moment. Make sure he has plenty of fluids and calories. How is his appetite?

Did he get any insulin morning of the 2nd? If so, how much.


We just call it a bounce. Which is what he is doing now in response to those 90's he got. Also not helped with the dose reduction. If the dose is too high, he'd be going below 6 on your AT. As long as you have the preshots plus at least one other per cycle, we could tell if he's going too low. Did the vet school tell you which cycles they thought he might be going too low? I can't see it.

If not an immediate emergency, please remove the 911.
Wendy, you wouldn't suggest I go back to the dose I was getting blues? His body likes slow and steady. I think it was too much insulin after the blues, no?
 
Wendy, you wouldn't suggest I go back to the dose I was getting blues? His body likes slow and steady. I think it was too much insulin after the blues, no?
Actually, no is the answer to the last question and the first. Which dose are you suggesting he had the blues? I don't see any dose where he was consistently getting blue nadirs.

I know I've mentioned before that the insulin dose can be a moving target if the acro tumour is growing. See how he had some blues when first at 20 units, then went 5 days with almost all above 300.
 
Actually, no is the answer to the last question and the first. Which dose are you suggesting he had the blues? I don't see any dose where he was consistently getting blue nadirs.

I know I've mentioned before that the insulin dose can be a moving target if the acro tumour is growing. See how he had some blues when first at 20 units, then went 5 days with almost all above 300.
Well my husband tried a flank shot tonight at 8pm on a PMPS of 700 and it all ended up coming out the back of the tent. And then he gave him 7 units at 9:30pm (because he called the vet and she told him to just give him more) so this cat doesn't have a chance at control. He has had 5 different doses in 5 days and he's been above 700 for over 12 hours. It's all a mess. I guess this is what happens when we are exhausted and just incompetent at all this. Where do we go from here? I bought fast insulin from Walmart but no idea how to use it.
 
Last edited:
Which brand/type of fast insulin did you buy? Please don't use it until someone knowledgeable can help you out.
 
Back
Top